We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor dining down by the river”

Swampy's Bar & Grille
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Dunnellon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Swampy’s Bar & Grille in Dunnellon, Florida! Looking over the beautiful Rainbow River from our restaurant deck, you can enjoy and understand the inspiration which created Swampy’s. It is the raw beauty of the Florida river swamp with a few extra conveniences added – Swampy’s great food and drink. If you arrive early enough, you may observe the family of otters that swim, eat, and live right here at Swampy’s river bank. As early afternoon arrives, you view local residents and tourists lazily floating down the river in tubes, kayaks, canoes, and a few boats. As the day ends, and the sun sets, you may again observe the family of otters venture out to enjoy their river dinner, as you enjoy yours.
Holderness, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Outdoor dining down by the river”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Swampy' s is casual dining alongside the River where you can watch kayakers and tubers while enjoying cold drinks and good southern food. We started with their fried pickles...great! Then, three of us enjoyed the gator wrap while I chose the turkey wrap. Slightly Cajun style, which was just the right amount of spice for me. Each sandwich came with a side, and my corn casserole was a very nice compliment to the turkey wrap. Sweet potato fries looked amazing! Service was attentive, but not intrusive. Good experience on a sunny, warm Florida day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Busyinnkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    162
    54
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food and great place to watch the river”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stopped by on a Saturday afternoon at 3pm for a late lunch and apparently a lot of others had the same idea as it was pretty packed. Indoor, covered outdoor, and open deck outdoor seating with a view of the tubes, canoes, and kayaks going by on the river. I had the wings which were good. They also had a special of the day called "Black and Blue" which was blackened steak cubes with salad and blu cheese dressing. Very popular. Service was slow, but then they were busy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jd50005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal River, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food- not good for ya!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

we 'discovered' this place after a tube float down the river. its changes its name a few times these last years. This time, they just might have it right. Sports bar type food- with a little twist. seafood was good, alligator was excellent. we came on a weekend with a big group and waited 10 mins for a table. drinks came out quick, but apps were a little slow (and you are might hungry after tubing) rest of the meal delivered on time. had live karaoke and he didn't suck.price was good.
Nothing on the plate fit any dietary rules. this is a calorie splurge,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cattegatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never got past the door!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had our dog with us and called to make sure dogs were allowed. We had been boating all day and were starving! We got there and some little punk who said he was the manager said we couldn't bring our dog because a server had just been bitten. I told him we just called and drove 30 minutes but he didn't offer anything in the way of an apology. Not very professional! However, we went down the road to Blue Gator's and had a blast and great food so all was not lost!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Management”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We are getting married in Rainbow River this year and had been making plans with Swampy's management for months. They called us to confirm that our space had been held even called to tell us about the new band that they hired, as well as emailed us a menu to confirm. When I called to confirm choices, the manager said the space can never be held on the weekends and that they had another party booked that had been on the calendar for some time. He offered us nothing but excuses. It is a real shame. Food is good at this place but management is a huge disappointment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank donvicente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swampy's Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Swampy's Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing