We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot? Not on the river, enjoy the sights, and good food.”

Swampy's Bar & Grille
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Dunnellon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Swampy’s Bar & Grille in Dunnellon, Florida! Looking over the beautiful Rainbow River from our restaurant deck, you can enjoy and understand the inspiration which created Swampy’s. It is the raw beauty of the Florida river swamp with a few extra conveniences added – Swampy’s great food and drink. If you arrive early enough, you may observe the family of otters that swim, eat, and live right here at Swampy’s river bank. As early afternoon arrives, you view local residents and tourists lazily floating down the river in tubes, kayaks, canoes, and a few boats. As the day ends, and the sun sets, you may again observe the family of otters venture out to enjoy their river dinner, as you enjoy yours.
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
843 reviews
654 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Hot? Not on the river, enjoy the sights, and good food.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Visited with out-of-town friends who have never been there - of course, we held our breath (you just never know) but were not disappointed at all. The clam chowder was fantastic, I enjoyed a Rueben sandwich - with pickles and slaw - while the others had a burger (OMG! Huge!) cold drinks, and a chance to relax, and watch the floaters cruise down the river. The tubers were very plentiful today, one could say in the hundreds.

Very enjoyable day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    148
    47
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great River Front Venue. So-So food”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

At the end of your tubing trip on the Rainbow River nothing is better than to have an adult beverage here and reflect on your day.
Typical bar food choices. Wings here are very food. Skip the Jambalaya; taste like it came out of a box kit with chewy uninspiring chicken and sausage. I would go so far as to say terrible. Onion rings good.
Food service can be slow so be patient. They have a small kitchen and can seat a lot of hungry people.
Bar prices ok too.
Overall it's an ok place to be and go.

Helpful?
1 Thank TrueToLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is Nice, Forget The Food & Drinks!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have been here 3 time and two things are always the same! One, The Atmosphere/view is amazing, absolutely Love it! But....That's about all to love! Second, Let me start by saying, the drinks are WAY to EXPENSIVE! I am not a prude, we eat out a lot and we drink but the prices for draft & bottled beer are ridiculous. We ordered two draft beers and it came to $10! What! We are in Dunnellon FL, not Tampa or St. Pete! Come on! We have mixed feelings on the food. The first time, it was lunch and it was pretty good, nice portions and decent taste. The second time for dinner, not so great! The portions have seemed to get smaller in the past year and pricier. The food was average that time. The 3rd time, we sat at the bar and ordered the ceviche. The shrimp was rubbery and smelled really bad. I took one bite and the next day, I could feel the rath of that! We love the water, the deck and the service is ok. But we probably won't go there again, we will just stick with the Blue Gator.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank GTGT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irondequoit, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had kayaked higher up the Rainbow River that morning, so it was cool to sit on the deck later, have lunch and see others tubing by. I think it helped that I was there with locals, as our service was excellent. I had crab cakes with a great remoulade sauce. I could have sat there longer watching the people as the atmosphere was just great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was a little hesitant to try Swampy's because of some mixed reviews, but all four of us had a great experience. Overlooking the Rainbow River is the best, and so was my shrimp po' boy. Shrimp was fresh and lightly breaded with a little kick in the remoulade sauce.The sweet potato fries were the best I've had anywhere. And the mojito hit the spot. Our server was very attentive and our meal was as good as the view.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swampy's Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Swampy's Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing