We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Betty Davis said it best.......”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunnellon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gator Den at Angler's Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunnellon
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Betty Davis said it best.......”
Reviewed 20 October 2007

ok.... to borrow and old Betty Davis line... " what a DUMP"! we reserved here because of the boat rentals on property.. however, the boats where in such a state of disrepare it was scary to think of even going out in one.. I understand not having money to do a lot of the repairs this place needs. but it doesn't take money to clean and wipe things down...heck, get the hose out and at least rinse the boats off they looked like something out of a horror movie.. and he wanted several hundered a day!!! My wife and i refused to even send the night. We changed to another hotel not on the water, but only a few blocks away. well kept even for it's age. itg use to be old army baracks when the rail road was built. old... yes... clean and freshly painted yes, two rooms, kitchen, separate liitle living room and all for $68 per night and no train.

  • Liked — it had a nice oak tree
  • Disliked — the building and rooms....oh and the train track running mere ft behind it
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
3 Thank sillysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    5
    1
    11
See reviews for
15
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2007

The only resort amenity is the coke machine next to the bait store. The rooms are from the 50's. Rusted appliances, filthy windows and screens (perhaps to block the railroad), and old mattresses.
When we left early the management was extremely rude and offensive. Also, very scary folks wandering around at all hours.

  • Liked — Route 41 next to room for easy exit.
  • Disliked — Most everything. Very scary place!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mundanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunnellon hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 July 2006

we did not stay in the run down looking motel only came for the 4th of july fire works we rented a pontoon boat what novices. we told them we came out of town to see the fireworks from the river. they told us the boat had no lights but if we bought a spot lite we would be ok. our rental of 24hrs started at 130pm we were told to watch out for rocks on the river we never saw any their no signs to warn anyone but we did feel something several times but you could not see into the murkey water. at sunset we returned to the boat rental dock to get ready for the fireworks. the office was closed but a person came out of a back door and said we could not go out at night with out running lights the spotlite was not enough. we argued that we only used 6 hrs of our rental he said we could use it the next day but we had to go home. he also checked the prop which had some chips on it and said they would keep our 350.00deposit to replace it. so our total 6hr rental came to 750.00 other boaters also hit the rocks did it caust them the same what a scam

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2006

Resort it is not. Its a fisherman's camp on the water. There are buckets nailed to boards outside the room for cigarette buttes. It takes dogs-they could do no damage to the place. My husband and I and our dog bolted out of bed in the middle of the night when the walls started shaking and the loudness of a very close train roared by. We did not notice that train tracks run right behind the room! The only plus is they have rental boats right there to get on rainbow river.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Floridalablover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico Beach,FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2006

Well I stayed in this place for a week when my car broke down. We were on our way down to the keys and BAM
there went my car. So we were stranded in Dunnellon.
There were 2 hotels 1 with full kitchen, and the other with nothing but beds, tv's and toilets. So naturally with the kids I took the kitchenette.

Well first thing is the Railroad tracks. They are not 10 feet from the back of the motel rooms. They scared me and the kids out of bed at 2 am & 4am. The baby was shaking bad. The owner didn't even let me know,
Nice HUH!!

The people in town who have nowhere to live, live here with help from united way. There is always something happening, even at 4 am.
But I felt uneasy here. Even scared!!!!!!
The Man who owns the place is nice and means well.
The wife who cleans doesn't even Vaccum the floors.
I found drug paraphenalia in the room. under the dressers. (I always check for mice etc. with an infant in the rooms)

This place is best for fisherman wanting somewhere close to the water. I do not reccomend for families.

Helpful?
19 Thank SeaShells4Jesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnellon
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites near Rainbow Springs
0.1 mi away
Dinner Bell Motel
Dinner Bell Motel
#2 of 3 in Dunnellon
64 reviews
13.0 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
13.7 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
342 reviews
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gator Den at Angler's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gator Den at Angler's Resort

Property: Gator Den at Angler's Resort
Address: 12189 S Williams St, (Highway US 41), Dunnellon, FL 34432-6054
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Dunnellon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunnellon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gator Den Motel has 12 rooms located on the Withlacoochee River. Boat rentals, Bait Shop, Boat Tours, and full service restaurant all on premise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angler`s Hotel Dunnellon
Gator Den At Angler's Resort Dunnellon, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing