We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old time Florida at it's inexpensive best !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastpoint
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sportsman's Lodge Motel & Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eastpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Tarpon Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old time Florida at it's inexpensive best !”
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We were there for 5 nights, found the Lodge to be charming and funky, in a good way. (the photo at the top of the page is an error, there is no pool or highrise.) The buildings appear to be built over a period of time, as all are different. The grounds have an overgrown tropical look. We had an efficiency with a great bay view, through huge oak trees. Roaming peacocks provide entertainment. The room was very clean, and the kitchen even had a cast iron skillet! Guests were friendly and an interesting mix, many come back each year. The negatives, if you are looking for a Holiday Inn, do not come here. No phone, no pool, but they do allow pets. Overall, a unique Florida experience of 30 years ago.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank mooseybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
37
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moultrie, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

my husband and i along with my son found this place by chance, needless to say it has captured us, we will go back as long as it is around, we long for the quite days as well as nights, it is very affordable, especially if you have kids....and in todays economy you cannot find another place like it, we plan to revisit it this year with my womens group as well as our family get a way with 4 families...never have i felt so at home with the world and wish i didn't have to return to the real world, this will always be our touch of paridise, i can only imagine how it was back in the 90's

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rose9785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We found the Sportsman's Lodge by accident! having travelled from Atlanta to the coast on Memorial day weekend in 2005. It has to be one of the quaintest places in Florida. If you want old school this is the place to stay.
A Holiday Inn it is not, it is rustic, with old wooden huts, and a charm hard to replicate. Peacocks are abundant, the view over the bay is fantastic, pet friendly, cheap and very cheerful :-)

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gavin_bowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Where you dock your boats needs to be fixed, it,s dangerous as is. The fish cleaning area needs some work also. The birds are noisy.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmhcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I grew up in this area....I have been going to St. George for 30 years....I had never stayed here. We have moved away and decided to go down to St. George while visiting family in Tallahassee. There really isn't anywhere to stay on St. George so we decided to try the Sportsman's Lodge. In hindsight I should have brought my tent and slept on the beach :) This place is OLD and creepy. Yes it is on the bay....and yes the owner is SUPER nice and accomodating...but....OMG....never again. When we got there to check in the maid was in our room cleaning . The mop that she was using to mop our floor was black...dirty...The bathtub had cigarette burns all over it...The walls were made from old trailer/mobile home siding...The worst part was the smell...Kind of like pine sol and funk! If you do decide to stay here...make sure you drink LOTS of alcohol while you are on the beach so you pass out really fast when you get in bed...and zip up your suitcase so your clothes don't smell like funky pine sol :) Or...better yet...drive across the bridge to Appalach and stay at one of those nice new condos on the bay....

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank relaxnstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senioa Ga.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

After going down in that area for 30 plus years we finally tried the Sportsman's Lodge.
The rooms were clean The beds were nice,and the view of the bay was outstanding.
They really made our stay relaxing. We will definitley be back.
Thanks Edda!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr-Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

My Husband and I lucked up on the Sportsman's Lodge about ten years ago and we go back about two to three times a year. If You are looking for Condo's or room service, go on over the bridge to apachacicola to the INN, But this place is so private, clean and cool, The sunsets and sunrises are in many of my pictures, The ladies that own it are so sweet and yet Professional and they do not charge a high price for the rooms and what they do charge is worth ever penny. There is also a huge seafood/Steak Resturant on the water, in the Bay in front of the Lodge that is so delisious and you keep wanting to eat there the entire ime you are there. I Only have good things to say about the Lodge and we will continue to go there at least three times a year or more. Once you go there, You are hooked and yes, We always bring our dog, Streak, He loves it there as well.

Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsRuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastpoint
5.7 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
178 reviews
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
538 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
371 reviews
23.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
250 reviews
24.8 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman's Lodge Motel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman's Lodge Motel & Marina

Property: Sportsman's Lodge Motel & Marina
Address: 99 N Bayshore Dr, Eastpoint, FL 32328-3358
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Eastpoint
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eastpoint
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Sportsman`s Lodge Motel And Marina
Sportsman`s Lodge Motel & Marina Hotel Eastpoint
Sportsmans Hotel Eastpoint
Sportsman's Lodge Motel & Marina Eastpoint, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing