We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run-of-the-Mill”

Herring Cove Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Welshpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Run-of-the-Mill”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a small restaurant and bar located at the Herring Cove Provincial Golf Course. The place is certainly acceptable, but there is nothing either extremely good or bad about it. Service is friendly, but can be a bit slow. I have never attempted to test the kitchen by trying their seafood dishes, but sandwiches and beers were fine. There are few dining alternatives on Campobello Island, but you can have a decent meal here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    20
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent scallops & best chicken salad sandwich!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This little place is a gem! It overlooks the golf course, and the water in the distance... has outside seating... friendly staff... and the best chicken salad sandwiches ANYWHERE! Seriously, with a sandwich, a beer, and a view of the water, on a sunny day this place can't be beat. Plus, it's one of the few places on the island to grab a meal without having to cross back over the USA... ;-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheKays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ok, but room for improvement”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This restaurant is very well located in Herring Cove Provincial Park on the golf course close to the campsites, so we decided to walk up from our tent and give it a try. It's never a good first impression to see the cook outside smoking in a very dirty T-shirt, but unfortunately that was our first impression. Still, we were hungry and needed a break from our limited camp cooking so we kept going.

There's a nice little outdoor terrace and inside it's decent, no frills, comfortable. The menu is ok, but heavy on the fried foods. Our meal arrived quickly and the food was decent for the price. We had a glass of wine and decided to just relax. For dessert we had strawberry pie and it was very good. It's nice to see places that still bother to make pies with fresh, seasonal fruit. Since I know what to expect, I'd go back on our next camping trip because it's so conveniently located. If you're camping - no need to drive, you can just walk up, take time to enjoy an extra glass of wine and relax before heading back for a lovely sleep in your campsite. The park itself is just lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mosswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

If you check my reviews, you will see that most are very favorable; some people apparently write only when they have a complaint, and I am generally on the other side of the spectrum. However, in this case, we had such a negative experience that I decided to comment.

We were on Campobello at the end of June and decided to try Herring Cove for lunch. It's not really a stand-alone restaurant; it's part of the clubhouse at the local golf course. All we wanted was a casual place where we could get a sandwich, so the small size, very informal ambience, and limited menu were all fine with us. The food, when we ultimately got it, was OK - not horrible, not noteworthy, just OK, and probably somewhere in the two or three circle range (out of five). Why did I give the restaurant one circle? Two reasons. First, it took us OVER AN HOUR to get two sandwiches (not an exaggeration - it was WELL over an hour). There was, as far as we could tell, only one woman working behind the counter. However, there aren't that many tables, the place wasn't that busy, and the menu isn't broad or complicated. I have had plenty of time to think about it, and I still can't come up with any viable explanation for how it could possibly take so long to make two sandwiches, even if she can only work on one item at a time (which, if it's true, should disqualify her from being employed as a cook).

The second reason is that the only other person working at the time, a waitress, had one of the worst attitudes of any service person I have run across. When people (including us) expressed even the slightest frustration at what was going on - this was, after all, the equivalent of being trapped on the runway when your plane has left the gate but can't take off - she actually took offense and pointed out that there was only one of her and "what did we expect her to do?" This obviously should disqualify HER from being a restaurant employee.

The only reason we didn't leave is that it was on the late side for lunch, there would have been nothing else open nearby, and we were REALLY hungry. Plus, at every point along the way, we kept thinking, "it can't POSSIBLY take any longer; the food MUST be coming out any minute." But we were mistaken.

If you are on Campobello and you want something to eat, you have two good choices: Either go to Family Fisheries or go across the bridge (which only takes a couple of minutes) and patronize one of the good establishments in Lubec. Don't go to Herring Cove.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MM7NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herring Cove Restaurant also viewed

Welshpool, Campobello Island
 
Campobello Island, New Brunswick
Welshpool, Campobello Island
 
Welshpool, Campobello Island
Eastport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Herring Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing