We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Englewood Lighthouse Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sun Coast Inn(Englewood)(Great Value!)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pearl Beach Inn(Englewood)
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Englewood Bay Motel & Apartments(Englewood)(Great Value!)
US$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
34
16
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
16
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice dockthe cottagesmanor houselemon bayfishnice poolwould definitely stay here againworking ordercomforts of homeold florida styleget awaymanasota keylarryclubhousebeacheskitchenvacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Cute, clean, and quaint but dated. Close to beach, shopping, restaurants.
Not alot of nightlife very quite sleepy town. Close to Venice, Sarasota.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shabchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

I just loved Englewood Lighthouse Resort. The cottages were clean and had everything that anyone could ever need. It was very quiet and it was just beautiful sitting on the dock .
It felt as if you were on a secluded island, yet just mins away is every store and restaurant you can ask for.
I am hoping to make this a yearly trip. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzwpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Although I am reluctant to share this "Hidden Gem" in Englewood, Florida.... it is the right thing to do. This is actually my 4th visit here in the past 2 months. Each time I return, it is like "coming home". This is a small group of "old Florida" cottages with all the amenities you could want. Each cottage has its own kitchen with full sized applainces and a regular sized kitchen table., a seperate bedroom, seperate bathroom, a den and most have a screened porch with nice patio furniture. The grounds are scattered with patio table and chair groupings, BBQ's, and lots of trees with spanish moss providing good shade. Among other reasons, I chose this place because it has a nice long dock with two captains chairs and a place to filet your freshly caught fish. I am here with a fisherman, and Larry and Lisa have nice fishing poles to borrow. The catfish are hungry and there seemed to be a fish on the line every few minutes.
We have enjoyed sitting on the dock with a bottle of wine, and fishing poles in the water under the moonlight. This resort is all about relaxing and spending some quiet time.
Do not expect elaborate surroundings or fancy bathrobes and room service. This is not a chain or cookie cutter experience: and that is why I love it. Lisa and Larry treat you like family, but are only around when you need them. The value is great, and the location is very good with a short drive to Englewood beach and the restaurants there. I will continue to visit, so leave me one cottage to enjoy, and we can all meet there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planandcramtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

On my 2nd day, still like it! Pool is being refurbished; working on internet to all cottages. Owners great! Central to stores, restaurants, short drive to beach, dock on premises, small beach area (wear shoes!). They have amenties for water/fishing. Very quiet, kitchen well furnished, have grills for all but 1 unit. Units are not large but more like mini houses, love that! Quaint, cute gets my vote every time! Also have terrific pictures/decorations. Definitely will return. :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Learical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

When we arrived there was no-one around (key was left under door mat which was nice), come to find out the owners werent even in the state. However as the evening progressed, there was no light for the pool for the kids to swim, there was no dock light for us to fish, there was no "beach" as it was over grown with grass. My kids were very disappointed that we would be staying here for 5 days. Later that evening, getting ready for bed, I took out a sheet for the pull out couch only to find a "fresh chocolate stain" on the sheet, GROSS. Next my inlaws had sand, dirt and a human hair on their supposedly "clean bedroom sheets". Needless to say, that night I got on the phone to find another place for us to stay, which we did. We left the next day! Think twice about staying here.
PS-the

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyfunwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLELB, Owner at Englewood Lighthouse Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

At Englewood Lighthouse Resort, we really try hard to please everyone. In all fairness, we would like our future guests to know that because this party booked several units, we waived all the extra person charges and gave them free early check-in. Also, when there was a problem with a sofa-bed in one of the cottages, we offered them free usage of another cottage for their entire stay. At their rate of $80 per night for bayfront cottages with full kitchens and free dockage, we still believe that is a real good value. In our usual way of accommodating our guests, we let them check-out after one day, even though we have a two-night minimum. We even honored their multi-day, multi-cottage rate for the one night. We continue to strive to make all of our guests happy, as best we can.
Point by point, we would be happy to address their concerns:
1. We have a staff that runs the resort in our absence. After all, we need vacations too! We have a cleaning staff that also does the check-ins and companies to do the grass and pool.
2. Our pool closes around dusk. This is for the safety of our guests and prevents louder, late-night parties. We like to provide quiet-time for our guests who like to turn in early.
3. We have a light and receptacle on our dock for our guests to use. When we returned after these guests left, the light was on. We’re not sure of why it was off during their stay. The light has a switch that can be turned off for those guests who want to enjoy our incredible night sky.
4. Our sandy beach on Lemon Bay has natural sea-grass and mangroves. These are home to our sand crabs, minnows, and even sea-horses! For people who know the area, there are very few bathers in Lemon Bay. Our beach is great for kayaking though!
5. Of course, our linens are washed and prepared for our guests’ arrivals. When there was a complaint about the linens, we had a fresh set delivered to their cottage within the hour.
We take pride in our customer ratings and would invite potential guests to read all of our reviews. It is obvious that we try hard to make all of our guests have an enjoyable experience. You’re not just staying at our resort, you’re staying at our home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews