We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prime Time Steak & Spirits

Prime Time Steak & Spirits
Ranked #38 of 105 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Pub, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Prime Time Steaks & Spirits is a classic American steakhouse in Englewood, FL. Our menu features award winning steaks,ribs,prime rib, fresh seafood, southwestern cuisine and world famous margaritas.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Visited last week. We were not given complimentary chips and salsa. We did not ask for them as our soups came out very quickly. Soup was good. The meal that followed unfortunately was very disappointing. The steaks were not tender, the fish was bland and none of the meals were pleasing to the eye. This is the second time we went away disappointed and for that reason we will not return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gatwick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Prime Time Steak & Spirits, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed. It sounds like we dropped the ball on the food for you, but it's helpful to know so that we can look for areas of improvement. As a small business owner, every guest's review is appreciated, and I hope you'll consider returning to give us another try in the future.

Best wishes,
Mike Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    95
    23
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good seafood, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I wanted to go to johnny leverocks on my trip to Florida passing through Englewood. Unfortunately they shut at 9pm, when I arrived so I was pointed toward prime time.

The food we had was very good. I had the fisherman's platter and asked if I could add a crab cake which was no problem. My girlfriend had the mahimahi fish tacos.

I was advised to try the house salad dressing which was very nice.

We both enjoyed all the food we had and the service was very good. Very attentive waitress. Good place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodIsMyDrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Prime Time Steak & Spirits, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Great to hear you and your girlfriend enjoyed your visit! Thanks for leaving such detail in your review. It sounds like you made some great choices from our menu, and I'm glad you were impressed with the service, too. I hope you'll be able to visit whenever in the area again -- there's a lot more of our menu to explore!

Take care,
Mike Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotonda
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just like every other sports bar you've ever been to.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you like sports bars you'll probably like this place. If not, then you won't. Nothing really special about it to get me to go back there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Prime Time Steak & Spirits, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you weren't wowed on your visit, Peter. Yes we have a sports bar theme in our bar area but our award winning menu, entrees and service make us much more. Since you are in Rotonda on our doorstep, I would welcome your feed back as to how we might further minimize the "Sports Baar" imiage .It's helpful to know what guests think, and we'll certainly look into ways to give you an even better experience on your next visit. Wishing you the best, and I appreciate your business.

Take care,
Mike Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisville, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Joanne took care of us well from start to finish. Steamed clams, prime rib. A fine dinner. We hadn't been to Prime Time, but had a fine meal and will be back.
The house wasn't full and that was fine with us. They had steamers as a starter and they were great. Tender, flavorful and a lot of them, not over or undercooked - just right. Served with drawn butter, lemon, and broth, the clams were an unexpected treat. The chips and salsa that came out with our drinks were crispy, thin and just right as well. The prime rib, the 10 oz serving, was delicious, served exactly as ordered. The meat was well marbled and my cut, rare, was perfectly seasoned and cooked. The medium cooked serving my wife had was just as good.
In a town where it seems every restaurant serves a lot of fish and seafood, it was nice to find a place that leans its menu toward meat eaters.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Prime Time Steak & Spirits, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thanks so much for visiting while in town, Bill! It sounds like you and your wife made some great choices from the menu, and I'm glad that you enjoyed Joanne's service, too. She'll be pleased to hear your comments! I appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit, and I look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town.

All the best,
Mike Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Want a steak?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have been in Florida since December, and we wanted a steak for dinner. We see lots of cars in the parking lot every time we go by, so we stopped in last evening about 7:30. We were seated right away, had great service, and we both ordered the NY strip steak, baked potato, salad with "house" dressing (peppercorn ranch), and drinks. The meal arrived "hot", and the steak was tender....
The furnishings were dated, decorated somewhat Mexican style, and the 12 oz NY steak was $22, did not include any other vegetables or even bread with the meal....the steak choices were a 6 oz filet, or the 6 oz NY or 12 oz NY. Other steak variations had sauce or blue cheese added. First time, we wanted to order "basic", and the dinners tasted good. The waitress said bbq ribs were specialty of the house, saw some being served as well as Mexican dinner items.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bogladymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Prime Time Steak & Spirits, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thanks for reaching out about your visit with us. However you leave me with the impression that you did not get complemantary chips & salsa, a soup or salad & potato or other side all of which come with our entrees and you were over charged for your New York steak which is $20.00. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed everything and hope I don't have a problem server who is working for themselves rather than the customer. We pride ourselves on offering quality at reasonable prices with fast, frendly service. If we have a problem please reach out and give us a call. We would like your next visit to be a 5 star one.
Thank You for taking the time to help make us better.

Sincerely,
Mike Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prime Time Steak & Spirits also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Prime Time Steak & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing