We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip to the Beach”
Review of Beach Croft Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Englewood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beach Croft Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Englewood
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Trip to the Beach”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Small, intimate, shady and on the beach. Came down for the annual Super Boat International race for four nights. Enjoyed being able to go out and take photos of the boats and races and then return to the shade.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    15
    7
    6
    32
See reviews for
17
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

If you are looking for a big box hotel- This is NOT it. However- if you are looking for a quaint, lovely, beach hotel- This is IT!

My husband and I will be frequenting this establishment as our getaway!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Therealmrshamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Never met the owner but my husbands first words were "not very friendly" . We thought the room was awesome as far as location and comfortable. Only stayed one night. Very funky on the outside with all kinds of plants that could use some grooming. Reminded us a lot of somewhere we would stay in Asia.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdual911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My sister and I have stayed at the Beach Croft Motel 2 years in a row..... we love this little spot in the sun! The rooms aren't "fancy", but they are really clean and neat. We loved having a full fridge and toaster too. They are steps from the beach and many fun places to eat, drink and enjoy some music. You can walk everywhere and not worry about drinking and driving! We know they have rules about "quests", but we actually like the fact that they don't want wild "party time" going on there! They have chairs, bikes and other items to use. We will be back! Thanks for the fun! Dodie and Susie

Room Tip: We like the room upstairs with the private balcony, but have stayed downstairs too and loved the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stay here if you're an exhibitionist!!

We stayed at the Beach Croft for a week. It could be called "rustic" but what we experienced greatly outweighed any charm the facility might have had. The owners have tried to make this a charming little "garden" paradise near the beach. This is great upon initial observation but in doing so they have provided a habitat for many Florida Bark Scorpions! They have also built a raised wooden loft to provide a view. This shabby structure was so poorly constructed that 2 of us (about 350 lbs. together) made it wobble so badly that we feared it was going to fall over. This was typical of the motel. It was all crudely remodeled; a completely jimmy-rigged, honey-do makeover. Our bathroom door couldn't close completely because it was so poorly installed. I had to correct the cable connection to get any television stations. I also had to fix the toilet seat so that important body parts didn't get crushed. Needed repairs for this one room would be a long list. I don't think the owner cares!

The final insult came on our last day. I was loading our luggage into our car at 10am (their only check-out time) when the male owner walked right into the room despite my protestations. My wife was getting out of the shower in the bathroom with the non-closing door. I raced back into the room and asked the owner to please wait, we would be gone in 5 minutes. He refused to wait 5 minutes and continued scurrying around the room "cleaning"! He continued to refuse to leave the room until I offered to call the police. There is no doubt in my mind he was attempting to get his own little peep show starring my wife. When I told him I intended to write this review of his motel and his perverted actions, he told me that I was not smart enough to write a review. Well, what do you think now, you pervert. I would not recommend this place to anyone for any reason.

Room Tip: For a good room, keep looking for another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank hillgoatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Englewood hotels

Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay for a few nights and came across this motel. It looked cute from the outside but when we tried to find the office we had to walk through a jungle of a garden .

We asked to see a room - the room was dated and didn't seem clean - it had a horrible smell.

The owner was surly and unfriendly .

We left and found something cleaner & cheaper just 1/2 mile up the road .

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank Dinerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I am writing on behalf of my friends who just recently stayed here for three nights. When you sign in he lets you sign a paper that said if you had any visitors to your room, he would charge you for an extra room. He did let me park in one of his parking spaces when I went to the beach with my friend, which I was very surprised about, but I would not go anywhere near the room. They also thought he entered the room when they were not there. She said there was no dish washing soap there and then there was. They were actually scared.
Sounds like what he does is actually illegal! He is paranoid and should not be in business, especially that type of business.
If you want to enjoy your vacation without being paranoid, I'd suggest not staying here.

Room Tip: Do not choose Beach Croft Motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
1.3 mi away
Sun Life Beach Hotel
Sun Life Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Englewood
104 reviews
13.4 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,211 reviews
15.3 mi away
A Beach Retreat
A Beach Retreat
#2 of 12 in Nokomis
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Pearl Beach Inn
Pearl Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Englewood
446 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sun Coast Inn
Sun Coast Inn
#4 of 10 in Englewood
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Weston's WannaB Inn
Weston's WannaB Inn
#2 of 13 in Englewood
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Croft Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Croft Motel

Property: Beach Croft Motel
Address: 2230 N Beach Rd, Englewood, FL 34223-5716
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Englewood
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Beach Croft Hotel Englewood
Beach Croft Motel Englewood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing