We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value on the Gulf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Englewood Bay Motel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
Williston, VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value on the Gulf”
Reviewed 15 April 2008

We needed a break from Vermont’s endless winter and its worst flu season ever, and so we decided last-minute to book an economical and restful week on the Gulf Coast. If you’re looking for low-key, high-value respite, you can’t beat Englewood. Nestled between Venice and Boca Grande, Englewood has a small town, real Florida feel. The beaches of Manasota Key are terrific, and Dearborn Street boasts a nice selection of local area businesses. We stayed at Englewood Bay Motel and Apartments, with host Joe Grippi, who provided a wealth of useful tips regarding area activities and resources. Our accommodations were spacious, comfortable, and clean. You’ll want a car to get to and from the beaches, but we loved our stay and found everything we could want or need in the local environs. For a wonderful jewel hidden amongst its glitzier neighbors, try the town of Englewood, and specifically, the Englewood Bay Motel and Apts and Mangos Bistro.
Dee Steffan/Catriona McHardy
Williston, VT

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeWilliston_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    24
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
44
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2008

We stayed in the 2 bedroom condo style apartment for a week at Christmas time 2007. Very clean, comfortable, nicely furnished and the kitchen had everything for cooking. Such friendly and accomodating owners made the stay even more enjoyable. This is located on a quite street you can walk across to watch the sunset and we even saw dolphins in the channel one evening. I will definitely return when I have the opportunity and possibly bring the whole family. Regards, Lynn from Michigan

  • Liked — Comfortable-move right in and everything is there
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2008

I happen to stumble across this place on a recent trip to the Florida area. Everything was clean and up-to-date. The kitchen had almost everything one could need. If there was anything I wanted, all I needed to do was ask. The owner was more than accommodating and such a charm. In addition to the amenities, the location was optimal. The beaches and/or shopping are very close by. I could even walk over to a waterway to see the sun set. I have nothing but positive memories of this place and my stay there.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MidMichigan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

Englewood Bay Motel and Apartments is a place you can stay and be assured you will find your accommodations to FAR exceed your cost. I
stayed there a week in October of ’07 and was very pleasantly surprised with how neat, clean and comfortably furnished I found my efficiency to be. there is a laundry, large gas grill for use on site
and did I mention there is even free wi fi. I am a single lady who likes to travel and felt safe the entire time. The areas beautiful gulf beaches, parks, variety of grocery stores and wal-mart are all within easy access. The owner is so very nice and helpful; making you
feel as though you were a returning guest and not a “first timer”. By
the way, I also stayed a week recently at his other location close by on Manasota Key—called Turtle Bay [--] —condo with pool, beach, and private dock access on Lemon Bay. A little more costly than Englewood, but sooo very worth it! ask the owner of Englewood about this location if you want a little piece of heaven right here; you won’t go wrong at either place!

happy travels---Anna from Georgia

  • Liked — comfortable clean efficiency with very friendly owner
  • Disliked — can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gulfwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

I have been visiting the Englewood area for several years for several weeks and months at a time for the last 10 years, this is by far the best place I have stayed as of YET!!! Very clean, completely bug free, convenient location, wonderful owners/ managers!!! After having stayed in several well known hotel chains, as well as condos in the area, I will NEVER stay anywhere else. Very friendy atmosphere, all conveniences of your home, laundry facilities on premesis, bbq grill, patio area, any questions or concerns addressed by owners with the pick up of a phone which calls them directly!! Am looking forward to returning as soon as possible!!!

  • Liked — Owners and managment
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank travelrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2007

We only had the opportunity to stay at the Englewood Bay Motel for one night. We were vacationing in the Orlando area and planned a fishing trip for Boca Grande some 3 hrs away. So we needed a hotel close by for the night before.
When I first contacted Joe about being able to book just one night at his hotel he responded very quickly and was very accommodating. We booked an efficiency and he waved the housekeeping charge since we wouldn't be using the kitchen. And he let me know as soon as my check had arrived.
When we got to the Englewood Bay Motel we were happy to find it not only very close to the beach, but extremely clean and well kept. Everything had been recently redone on the inside and the property, although in the process of getting a sprinkler system was also very well kept. Joe even upgraded us to a one bedroom that happened to be available, at no extra charge. He was very informative on the location of things in the area and even suggested a great seafood restaurant across from the beach...which we ate at and loved. It not only had great food, but a great view of the sunset with a nice breeze coming off the ocean. Joe even went as far as to accommodate us by letting us take showers after our fishing trip before heading back to Orlando (a true life saver).
When we do make it back that way again we will definitely stay at the Englewood Bay Motel.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank asloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2007

I am a traveling nurse and usually stay at one location from three to four months. I lucked out on the Englewood Bay Motel - convenient location, newly remodeled units, immaculate, and terrific owners. I'm hoping to be sent back to the hospital because I know just where to stay!

  • Liked — Clean, immaculate units
  • Disliked — I missed my home!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank sonomaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
0.8 mi away
Sun Life Beach Hotel
Sun Life Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Englewood
101 reviews
12.2 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,168 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#5 of 13 in Venice
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
147 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun Coast Inn
Sun Coast Inn
#4 of 10 in Englewood
101 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pearl Beach Inn
Pearl Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Englewood
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Englewood Bay Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Englewood Bay Motel & Apartments

Property: Englewood Bay Motel & Apartments
Address: 69 W Bay St, Englewood, FL 34223-3713
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Englewood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Englewood Bay Motel & Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small motel and condo complex of 13 units located along the east side of Lemon Bay situated 2 miles from Englewood Beach and one mile from historic Englewood Village. All units have fully equipped kitchens. The unit mix is 7 one bedroom efficiency units, 2 cottage style one bedroom units and 4 two bedroom condo units, together with a courtyard ringed with coconut palms and a barbecue / social area. Currently closed for major renovation. Grand opening November 2015...We do take your reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Englewood Bay Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Englewood Bay Motel & Apartments Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing