We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Discover Buried Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manasota Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Englewood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manasota Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Englewood
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Discover Buried Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our two teenage girls fell in love with the roaming tortoises, the beach, the warmth and attention of the staff, and the unexpectedly delightful dining experience - and so did we. This was our first visit to the Manasota Beach Club, and we found we had stumbled into a treasure enjoyed by the same families for more than 50 years - and who are eager to welcome new fellow guests. Whether you are young or old, enjoy socializing or desire privacy, participate in active sports or prefer to read a book on your porch, this is the place. We were wary of the included American Plan until we realized that rather than being captive to potentially mediocre fare, the entire family would enjoy a high standard of cuisine with choices to fit every age and taste. Mix a drink in the bar with your own beverages and enjoy meeting other guests during cocktail hour, or sit on a secluded bench enjoying the sound of the surf and the calls of the sea birds. Relaxing, gracious, truly memorable. There is lots to do in this part of Florida, but we never felt the slightest temptation to leave the spacious grounds. A secret that deserves to be shared.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms with the views of the gulf. Others seemed to like the rooms in the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rhubarb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

How my husband and I missed this place is a puzzler. We are 20 year Florida residents, and I spent 4 years prior on Longboat Key. But then again, seclusion is a huge part of the allure of Manasota Beach Club.

The first thing you will notice upon arrival, is that you have just stepped back in time, before Florida's beach landscape was bulldozed in favor of rows of condos. Rather, here the accommodations are scattered among the original vegetation. And this characteristic, along with the elevation of the cabins on the shore (the thick fauna provides protection from strong winds and erosion), gives the feel of some parts of Maine, or even Hawaii. No, Dorothy, you're not in Kansas anymore!

Pair that with endangered gopher tortoises freely roaming the grounds, sea turtles nesting comfortably, and abundant fossilized shark teeth and other archaeological treasures routinely washing ashore, and you realize this is truly a pristine place to escape it all.

And..,an Epicurean's dream (if you come during season, where 3 gourmet meals a day are served, included in the price of your accommodations). This isn't a place to lose weight, just those pesky deadlines and such swimming around in your head.

Finally, I have never found a place more suited to the discriminating re: personal service and graciousness. MBC seems to have guest attentiveness as a top priority, redefining southern hospitality as a result.

In closing, there is something for any age here, including retreat opportunities. These folks have it covered for true beach lovers. And did I mention, the quaint, cute, cottages, most with views to die for, and all exquisitely clean, and well maintained? What are YOU waiting for?

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sanderling ("honeymoon suite"), located directly on the gulf, with water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dr Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
240 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Just how have we not come across this property before? Old World Florida and its hospitality, but with all modern facilities, including easy to use wifi.

Situate on the Englewood Key, with buildings largely separated by wooded areas. A few miles away from shops, if you really need them, but nicely secluded. The most noise is from the waves breaking on the shore.

Kingfisher was our particular property: ground floor had a good lounge, dining table and chairs, small kitchen and double bedroom. Upstairs, there were two more bedrooms, Kingfisher north and south, accessed by an external, but covered staircase, so it could be occupied separately. There was a large deck and you were close to the beach.

The meals, breakfast and dinner, which were included, are amazing. The filet mignon melts in your mouth like butter. Five sensibly sized courses: hot or cold starter; hot or cold soup ( I have had both ); choice of two salads; five different main meals to choose from, beef, fish, a couple of other choices and then a veg; choice of five desserts, although those do not really change each day- all the other meals do. Tea or coffee. Dinner is at 6.30pm, but people assemble at 6pm for drinks and cheese and biscuits or once there was a hot little snack.

After dinner, there is the bumper pool table, jigsaw puzzles etc: a nice clubhouse to sit in.

No wine is provided: you have to bring your own. However, having brought your wine, the waiter takes over, opens it, keeps any left for the next day.

The accommodations all seem different. The kitchens apparently do not operate from May to September: then they just let the properties as self contained.

We will wish to return.

Room Tip: They are all different: most are near the beach, but best check what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is the 12th year in a row that we have had a post-Christmas family reunion at the Manasota Beach Club. All ages (this year 6 months to 87 years old) love this spot! Beautiful beach, with water activities including kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding and of course swimming. Tennis, English style croquet, shuffleboard, bumper pool, Relaxing and low key.
But the best is the food. Absolutely phenomenal. If you are a foodie you will love this place!!!
Dinner requires a bit of dressing up, but all else is casual. Sweet little cottages broken into units of 1 room to several. Great ocean views and beach walking. Staff is super friendly and competent!
Can't recommend this place enough for a true getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTraveler49079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Buffy and the rest of the staff are always ready to help with anything you might need. The cabins are comfortable and the locale is spectacular, with armadillos and Gopher Tortoises as neighbors. Walking out of the cabin and down across the beach to go swimming in the Gulf never got old.

Thanks again to the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam_Coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Quite and desolate. Clean, spacious and rustic rooms with perfect views of The Gulf. Everyone who works here has been extremely nice and accommodating. I wish I could stay longer. Only downside is you can't cook in the kitchen due to the all inclusive meals. But then again, they let it slide for a few nights. Thank you to everyone at Manasota Beach Resort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tellbobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

If you are looking for quiet relaxation with a few activities, such as beach strolling, shell collecting, bird and tortoise watching, this is the place.
Located directly on the beach the Manasota Beach Club has charming accomadations in the form of one bed room bungelows to full size one floor homes. The central dining room is easily located and provides three meals a day.
I would feel very comfortable staying at the Manasota Beach Cub on my own..Everyone makes you feel welcome and the conversation is easy. You do not want to miss the beautiful sunsets over the Gulf.

Room Tip: ANY room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank topsailluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
4.5 mi away
Sun Life Beach Hotel
Sun Life Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Englewood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
8.6 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#6 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
0.7 mi away
Pearl Beach Inn
Pearl Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Englewood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sun Coast Inn
Sun Coast Inn
#4 of 10 in Englewood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manasota Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manasota Beach Club

Property: Manasota Beach Club
Address: 7660 Manasota Key Rd, Englewood, FL 34223-9316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Englewood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple. Natural. Untouched. Relaxed. If this is what you seek in a vacation destination, look no further than the Manasota Beach Club. Located on Manasota Key in Englewood, Florida, and surrounded by the pristine waters of Lemon Bay and Gulf of Mexico, the Manasota Beach Club is a waterfront resort like no other. During your stay, you will be sure to experience the utmost in environmentally-friendly vacations, all the while enjoying that old-Florida feel that makes our resort so unique. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manasota Beach Club Hotel Englewood
Manasota Beach Hotel
Manasota Beach Club Englewood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing