We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Trip to Cherish”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Englewood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manasota Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Englewood
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This is the fourth year in a row staying at Manasota. If you are looking for a place to relax with your family, hang out at the beach, fish, snorkel and watch beautiful sunsets without a crowd, then this is your place. The staff is accomodating and the houses are charming. We have stayed in the lovebird, the Sanderling, the Royal Turn and the IBIS (the best). All are great but the Ibis is the best for the money as it is a 2/2 with a screen porch and a private swimming pool overlooking the ocean. You can get a place for 12 or a place for two. We have never had seen more than ten people on the property in four years during summer. It has oak canopy trails, swimming pool, basketball court, tennis court and great fishing all with no crowds. It's a throw back to old Florida. I would highly recommend it for couple or families with any age children. Some cottages/ houses have cable but most don't. The snook fishing on the beach can be great depending on when you go. There are plenty of restaurants within driving distance. It can be a bit pricey after you add the resort taxes, etc.. but that is how they all are. You get what you pay for on this one!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bekntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Manasota Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2009

This is my third time spending my spring vacation at the Manasota Beach Club, and I can't get enough of it. The food, service, hospitality and overall welcoming "homey" feel of the Club is unmatched by any other hotel or inn I have visited (which says a lot).
Whether you are on a vacation with your spouse, alone, or with rowdy children, Manasota Beach Club can accommodate you and make your stay relaxing.
Really can't beat it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FoleyFrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

The Manasota Beach Club is not a "spa retreat" or luxury resort but it exudes class, environmental awareness and it is fancy in its own way.

We stayed for two nights. We were in the Upper Owl Cottage and it was during the Modified American Plan time period meaning that breakfast and dinner were included. We had a full kitchen in our cottage and we prepared lunch there.

This is not an ordinary getaway. You will see Florida as it was decades ago. There is no manicured landscaping just enormous oaks with limbs reaching in every direction, climbing banyans, hibiscus with the biggest and most colorful blooms, sea grapes and an assortment of bromeliads and orchids in the most unexpected places. The owners are serious about keeping the landscaping indigenous.

The cottages range in style from a wood two story structure to typical 1950s beach-front ranches. We were in the upstairs Owl and we kept the sliding glass doors open all night and we were lulled to sleep by the soft waves.

The sunsets were amazing and the moon lit up the beach and water at night. We saw dolphins right off shore, all kinds of birds, turtles, fish and very few humans.

The dining room is appointed in an old Florida fashion. The food and service were excellent. We had a five course meal for dinner for both nights and while there was a breakfast menu, we just ordered what we were in the mood for.

We had our two and a half year old with us and he enjoyed the kids program (although he was the only one there at the time). He had dinner at the kids table which was right off the kitchen and I think he enjoyed watching all the cooks and waiters running around. Afterward, he went to the kids room in the library and/or watched movies. We dropped him off right before dinner and then we picked him up right after dinner. Dinner took about an hour to an hour and a half. He enjoyed the kids program which cost about $8/hour and we enjoyed a quiet and romantic dinner.

During the day, we went between the playground, the beach and our cottage. Being from Florida, we thought the water was a little too cold to swim. We didn't leave for the two days we were there. I couldn't believe how my high energy family just sat on the beach and watched the birds and other wildlife, looked for shells and just enjoyed each other's company. It was such a nice way to relax.

Speaking of shells, sharks' teeth were everywhere - we must have found over a hundred. We also found many other beautiful shells.

If I had to say something negative, I would say that the old Florida cottages could be considered run-down as opposed to charming. You really have to appreciate and understand where you are going and what you're getting into. It's not cheap and certainly you could go to the spa luxury resort for not much more. I don't think it would be as memorable or relaxing, however.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank enikla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

My family spent an extended weekend at the Manasota Beach Club, after finding it by internet. We are always seeking "Old Florida" (the way it was 50 years ago) and found it here.

The innkeepers have preserved a substantial piece of property bordered by the Gulf of Mexico and the Intercoastal Waterway. There are no commercial buildings allowed on this portion of the barrier island, so all accommodations are single family dwellings. This means when you are standing on the beach, you see almost nothing but nature up and down the beach...no highrises!

My small children were delighted by the wildlife on the property which included gopher turtles, armadillos, and many birds...not to mention the honey bee hives across the street. The beach had much evidence of sea turtles laying eggs at night as well. The best were the occasional manatees that would swim by us in the Gulf.

The Beach Club had a nice pool. Some houses on the property even had their own private pool. The tennis courts were in top shape, and my son enjoyed the basketball court. There are kayaks and bicycles to borrow for NO additional cost. Nothing is at an additional cost, but a 15% gratuity is added to your bill at the end of your stay.

The feel of the place is a bit rustic. Shell pathways lead you through the oak hammock with many tropical plants. There is a nice playground for the kids, and many games for them to play in the pool house. It's a flip flop and t-shirt casual atmosphere, like you're at your own beach neighborhood.

Our home was immaculate and extremely roomy, with a kitchen stocked with any utinsil we would ever need. Coffee and filters are provided to brew as well. There are beach chairs, beach towels, umbrellas, beach toys, and a grill to use as well. It nice not to have to haul this from home or purchase it somewhere.

Our home, the Spoonbill, had two bedrooms, two baths, two living areas, a dining area and full kitchen. We had a pretty good view of the Gulf, although I saw other homes that would have a less obstructed view, but looking through the beautiful mangroves isn't so bad.

Be aware that the dining room that everyone raves about is only open through the winter. The clubhouse is open, and there is a library (with internet access), a billiard table, and many books about the birds, fish, shells and fossils that you will find at the beach. You are best to grab some groceries and wine on the mainland.

We had fun renting a pontoon boat at the bridge to Englewood and see the area via boat. There are several state parks along the waterway to explore.

Be warned that the mid-day sun makes the sand on this beach terribly hot. Wear sandles when walking at that time of day! Inland is okay as there is almost always a canopy of trees overhead on the property. Also pack mosquito spray...anywhere you go in this part of Florida in the summer!

The innkeepers are a warm, congenial family. It is our hope that the island keeps it's integrity and the Manasota Beach Club lives on for another 100 years.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MySheWasYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Club. Our room was spotless and comfortable, though not elegant. At night we opened the sliding glass door and were lulled to sleep by the sound of waves breaking on the beach. The grounds are filled with 100 year old oaks, palms and hibiscus flowers. One day a great blue heron graced the front lawn and we spied two large turtles. Activities included tennis, pool aerobics, croquet and lawn bowling. Many of the other guests have been returning year after year, and warmly welcomed us even though we were first timers. And the food...wow, it was nothing short of fantastic. The atmosphere is very low key allowing for complete relaxation. We are planning to become regulars!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank theath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2008

A friend recommended that I take my family to Manasota Beach Club. While we had been drawn to larger chain hotels we decided to try something different and were not the least bit disappointed. The club provides a throw-back atmosphere where time seems to slow down providing its visitors a sense of relaxation you cannot find anywhere else. The beaches are extensive and provide the opportunity for endless walks and fun with the kids. The food was fantastic and separate children’s dinners provided my wife and I time alone in a romantic setting. Not only is this a great place for families but also for couples looking for a romantic vacation and an opportunity to truly get away from it all.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank buffest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2007

This is my sixth year at this amazing place. Every year it seems to get more fun, and I get a more relaxed vacation. Everything here is A-1 from the location right on the Gulf, to Five Star meals three times a day to a staff who spoil at every turn and guests who are delightful, attractive and most interesting from around the U.S. Included in your "one price covers it all" is shuffleboard, varied playground, basketball court, three times a week water aerobics in the beautiful pool, croquet, kyacks and a hobie cat and a marvelous tennis program of men and women round robins, clinics and mixed doubles every week...as well as a tennis program for kids with their long time tennis pro Kevin Hunt who is also available for private lessons. Anyone who goes once is an automatic repeater. And if you have a young family, there is no more fabulous place for a family vacation with wonderful "kids club" programs that will have your kids calling for more. They provide experienced baby sitters so you never have to worry about their care and you can spend time just relaxing over a quiet dinner with your spouse. Check out the website and treat yourself with the best vacation you will ever have.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank MorrisonWilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
8.5 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,266 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sun Life Beach Hotel
Sun Life Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Englewood
105 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
A Beach Retreat on Casey Key
0.6 mi away
Pearl Beach Inn
Pearl Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Englewood
456 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sun Coast Inn
Sun Coast Inn
#4 of 10 in Englewood
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manasota Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manasota Beach Club

Address: 7660 Manasota Key Rd, Englewood, FL 34223-9316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Englewood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range: £185 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple. Natural. Untouched. Relaxed. If this is what you seek in a vacation destination, look no further than the Manasota Beach Club. Located on Manasota Key in Englewood, Florida, and surrounded by the pristine waters of Lemon Bay and Gulf of Mexico, the Manasota Beach Club is a waterfront resort like no other. During your stay, you will be sure to experience the utmost in environmentally-friendly vacations, all the while enjoying that old-Florida feel that makes our resort so unique. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manasota Beach Club Hotel Englewood
Manasota Beach Hotel
Manasota Beach Club Englewood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing