We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View of the Lake” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crazy Gator

Crazy Gator
Ranked #34 of 81 Restaurants in Eustis
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tavares, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great View of the Lake”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Crazy Gator is located in an old historic storage building directly on the shores of Lake Eustis. The old building kind of smells funny, but the food and service are pretty good. It's worth a visit. Try lunch, then take a walk along the lake and the adjacent park. If they could fix the weird smell, it would be great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    45
    27
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NIce view of the lake and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Nice variety on the menu. Food is good and the location is awesome. Right on Lake Eustis. Their Friday night fish fry is good and so are their turkey burgers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This restaurant sits next to Lake Eustis and has a very nice outdoor patio. I've been here numerous times with family whenever I travel to FL. The fish is always fresh and the portion are always large. Service is also very good. They have a nice bar inside as well. Its worth a try if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
372 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very cool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My parents had a home in Eustis that was my great uncles from the 1920s. My husband and I drove to Eustis to pack their belongings and pull their boat home.
We have always sen the Crazy Gator and never been inside. We enjoyed our fresh salads and Ken's salad dressings. The burgers were great. Enjoyed the place and hope to return one day.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, Mississippi
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Staff, View , and Food made for a great night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Directly on the Lake, this hybrid bar/restaurant (Bar in Front, Full service restaurant and menu in back) had some huge portions and great food. We were there the night of the Superbowl and although the game was on the service was incredible.

A great way to digest afterward is to take a walk along the docks that line the banks of Eustis. (They are literally out the backdoor of the Gator.)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crazy Gator also viewed

Eustis, Lake County
Eustis, Lake County
 
Eustis, Lake County
 

Been to Crazy Gator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing