We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Jebel Shams Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jebel Shams Resort
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location being at the top of the Jebel Shams mountain range, views are spectacular from the 'sunset chalet'. Swimming pool was great to relax by at the end of a long day travelling (although would be good to have a few more chairs by the pool as we were sitting on the floor- but that is just being picky) Rooms were of good quality and in a great setting, perfect to sit and watch the sunset over the mountains! Breakfast and dinner were both great. Overall a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nic_p7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location is good if you want to visit the canyon, but should you decide to sleep in a tent, then it should better be in summer, because in winter you will freeze!! Nothing very romantic about sleeping in a tent and not be able to sleep due to the cold (even though we put on all the clothes we had). As they had overbooking one of us was sent to a staff room to sleep, which was quite strange too, as his stuff was still lying around the room... (and it was cold there too).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilliMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Perfectly acceptable quality. Large rooms with en suite. Individual water heaters means wait between showers or rationing. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable with basic amenities ie tea making/tv and a heater. Last necessary as the rooms were cold when we were there. On a clear day the walking and views from here would be great. On a rainy day there is little point in staying here as views obscured by cloud and the walks would be too dangerous. They are not for the faint hearted even in good weather but the views are wonderful The hotel is part accessed by an unmade road so in bad weather 4 x4 essential as road is steep, gets churned up, very wet with rock falls. In thnder storm sleep quality is poor but what do you expect! The food we had was buffet style. Plenty of it and well cooked. Bottled water is provided at all meals but powdered orange juice at breakfast disgusting. Staff helpful and manager very safety conscious in bad weather. Definitely worth staying there for views and walking.

Room Tip: No particular location stood out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packyderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Location is great as its just a short distance to the canyon. Took a 'Sunset' chalet. Go for the one on the extreme left. Its clearly the best in terms of luxury (whatever the resort offers) and space. Food was decent. On Fri night it was limited buffet while on Sat night it was a set menu. They seem to have a swimming pool which though functional, had murky water. Avoid tents as they are very basic and you need to share the loo. Commom toilets appeared to be clean though. Service is non existent. The guy manning the small snack shop was a Filipino and he was rude.

OVerall, this place is basic but is the only decent place around. Hot showers, comfy beds and clean toilets make this place a good base to explore the charms of Jebel Shams.

Did the trek with my kid and wife and it was amazing (though we came back halfway thru). Views on the trek are FANTASTIC.

Keep your expectations low. Hunt for a deal at this place (anything below 40-45 OMR for a night with BF and dinner is a good deal) and you wont be dissappointed!

Jebel Shams is a must visit place in Oman and you shouldnt miss it for anything in the world.

Room Tip: Sunset chalet - one on the extreme left
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indian2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Sublime position. Great location to explore the villages around. Bought some gorgeous handmade rugs from the locals. To avoid disappointment, please remember that the whole experience is about sharing with the locals their simple way of life. If you are looking for a bar and a 5 star experience stay in Muscat!!! The hotel staff and the manager were extremely nice and obliging. I was impressed with their hospitality and gentleness.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ferial M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel after having read the LP guidebook which writes quote " this camp is so close to the Canyon rim that you will have to be strapped down if you are a sleepwalker" unquote. Well I do wonder if the writer ever stayed there! You would need to walk a good 10 minutes before reaching the rim! Apart from that, this was the worst hotel we stayed at. It is simply run down and the food is just about edible. I guess that given the location, the owner can be complacent until competition arrives. When we checked in, the Omani staff was courteous whereas the caucasian "manager" was boardering politeness.
To be avoided if you can.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This tented camp/bungalow ´resort´ is not a resort and 3 stars either. Probably still better than Jabal Shams Heights resort, some 4 kms before you reach JSR. JSHR looks rather spartan, more an exercise plaza for the army.
Of course, one does not expect something grand here, but a minimum of service is helpful. The rooms are not made up, the bathroom has a shower that makes a nice pool of the bathroom itself, the WiFi is slow, if any. The food is straightforward Omani curry, but the restaurant opens only at 7:00pm sharp with a limited buffet. No other place to stay than in your own room. They say there is a bar, but we thought it rather a soda vending shop with no entrance. Breakfast is a choice out of three.
Be aware, it can be cold here and a fleece is absolutely necessary. Fortunately we did not book a tent, temperatures go down to 5 degrees and the heating was working well.
Beautiful sunset is the upside, like the drive to the camp itself. Don´t forget to go into Wadi Guhl. Really spectacular, although the entrance is not easy to find and not signposted.
Would we come again? Yes, but with lower expectations.

Room Tip: Book a bungalow at the ´ridge´ not a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PieterdeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Al Hamra
21.8 mi away
Alila Jabal Akhdar
Alila Jabal Akhdar
#1 of 2 in Jabal Akhdar
1,043 reviews
5.7 mi away
The View
The View
#1 of 5 in Al Hamra
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sama Heights Resort - Jebel Shams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#2 of 8 in Nizwa
51 reviews
14 mi away
Shorfet Al-Alamin Hotel
Shorfet Al-Alamin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Al Hamra
31 reviews
8.7 mi away
Misfah Old House
Misfah Old House
#2 of 5 in Al Hamra
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jebel Shams Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jebel Shams Resort

Address: Jebel Shams, Al Hamra, Oman
Region: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Al Hamra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Al Hamra
Price Range: £77 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jebel Shams Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jebel Shams Resort is located in the Wilayat of Al Hamra which is part of the Ancient city of NIZWA. The Resort is built atop of the highest peak in Oman. Jebel Shams is known as "The Mountain of The Sun" and rises to an altitude of 3000 metres. The most amazing sunsets can be experienced from here. A 4 x 4 vehicle is the recommended form of transport to reach our location and takes approximately 40 minutes to ascend from the nearest town of AL-Hamra. The area is home to weavers of heavy woolen rugs in distinctive colours and geometric designs. The views of the Grand Canyon from Jebel Shams Resort are amazing, ideally situated just minutes walk away from the Canyon and some fabulous Trekking and Mountain Biking, just some activities available to our guests. The temperature in Summer is ideal, usually around 30 degrees Celcius, which makes it an ideal place for a weekend break from the heat of the city's of Muscat and elsewhere for weekend breaks or a great place to explore for visitors around the Globe. Please come and visit us at our retreat and enjoy a wonderful welcome from our staff and take in the fascinating view of the Grand Canyon and the entire plateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Jebel Shams Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jabal Shams Hotel Nizwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing