We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room better than the food”
Review of The View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The View
Certificate of Excellence
Califronia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room better than the food”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at The View for 2 nights in one of the "pods" overlooking the valley below. The view was great, but the room was just average. Our room has a very nice bathroom but the bedroom was just average: plan walls, sloppy finish. This place is managed and staffed by Indians and the food served was mostly Indian food. Nothing spectacular. The service was just average.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    161
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
98
210
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We only stayed in The View for one night after two nights in Muscat and we thought it was exceptional! Yes it had a few teething problems as it has been newly renovated but the staff and manager were excellent at trying to make our stay as relaxing and comfortable. We arrived and went for an afternoon dip in the marvelous horizon pool; then we went to a neighbouring village to explore; after that we enjoyed an evening dip in the pool followed by a relaxing meal. We watched both sunset and sunrise from our balcony which was stunning! We want to thank all the staff at The View for such a lovely stay :)

Room Tip: - book a premier room at the front to avoid being over looked. - if you find it difficult to walk u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TabbyRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

After a very long, self-drive journey from the desert to Al Hamra, the stunning (and relatively easy assuming you have a 4x4) drive to the top of the hill where the hotel is located really made our day.

The new bungalows are very comfortable and air conditioned and, as you might expect, have one of the most amazing views of any hotel.

It is much cooler on the mountain that in Al Hamra, but Nizwa, Bahla, Jabreen, and Jebel Shams are still a very easy journey.

The food is good, and the staff are lovely and really attentive.

Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GilesDobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British living in Oman
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent Friday night at The View. We had rooms 3 and 4 which were double rooms and an extra bed was placed in each for the children. The price included breakfast and evening meal and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The infinity pool is now open and it is just bliss. I would thoroughly recommend it as a retreat or just a night away. Richard, the manager, was welcoming and courteous. Perfect! Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at the front with the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snorkeller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Renovations are in progress and this place may one day be wondrous. But during our visit it was apparent that it has a long way to go.

Our “king” bed was two twins pushed together with no joining piece. Each bed had its own twin-size bottom sheet. Two somewhat overlapping duvets were spread across both beds to make them appear as one king bed. Weird.

Our “premier” room had only 4 hangers and no luggage racks, phone, or hair dryer. A limited number of hair dryers are available if you go to the front desk and fetch.

The individual hot water tanks for each room were inadequate for a proper shower. We were told that they would be replaced “soon” with higher capacity tanks.

There was one key per room, which we were told to leave at the front desk each morning so housekeeping could get in. We returned our first evening to find that housekeeping had left our room unlocked all day (!). The manager told us changes would be made.

During our stay there were more guests than seating in the dining room. We were turned away our first night and had to wait until after 9 pm to be seated. By our third night the manager, who had been ill and off-duty our first two nights, had instituted two seatings -- by reservation only.

The View is not for children or the physically impaired: The many steps (to the rooms and to the parking lot and even from the outdoor dining area up to the indoor food service area) are poorly lit and most have no handrails. We called those steps “invisible”, because all are made of irregular but same color stone pieces and have no safety strips or other markings on the edge of each step. Railings edging the outdoor dining area, walkways, and room balconies are adequate for steady adults of short-to-medium stature, but could be hazardous for those with higher centers of gravity. For toddlers and young children, those railings pose grave danger. Perhaps some risk-managing upgrades are planned. Meanwhile, if you have safety concerns, consider requesting a room in the back tier.

The “view”, which won’t change, includes a town, just below, of 18,000. Its lights can be pretty, but their glow obscures the night sky.

General ambience of the rooms, which all have functional sliding glass doors and pleasant balconies, is a sort of fresh-feeling “mountain minimalist” and very soothing. The cabins are free-standing, but the balconies are parallel and so provide no privacy.

Room Tip: Avoid room #1. It is in full view of the dining area and right next to the very noisy kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalltrekkerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The website of that resort was enticing enough for us to decide to stay there a night. Next time we visit the area, we will try to stay longer and use it as a base to explore the area including Nizwa. It is a new resort which actually re opened last December 18th. It had operated before for a couple of years as tented accomodations but they have now replaced those as bungalows. The amenities are first class with a very good bathroom with rain shower. The best though has to be THE VIEW! It is perched high above the village of Al Hamra and offers spectacular views including for sunrise and sunset. They are still finishing some constructions including a restaurant next to the infiniti pool and I bet that this place, if properly marketed and managed, will be successful. If you can try to get room 19 or 20 at the far end for unobstructed sunset views. We will stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Visited The View with family who live in Muscat, who had been to the resort previously and all of us were sorely disappointed. There are no longer tents with unspoiled views, shared balconies and fire pits. Instead there are ugly concrete 'pods' (they say pod, I say portacabin), and be warned, not all of these have unspoiled views. Only those at the very front. The decor inside the pods is modern, as if they have attempted to make it a 'luxury' stay. However, the finish was terrible, paint and marks everywhere, the doors didn't close properly and not enough hot water. The lights from the path outside our cabin were so bright they kept me awake. On a positive note, they were spacious and the beds were large and comfortable.

The place was still under construction when we were there which probably didn't help. Bits of pipe everywhere. They were building a pool which looked like it might be nice when finished. The food was average, and the dining area rather dark and gloomy. Unfortunately we had stormy weather when there (which obviously cannot be helped), but didn't help any with our overall experience as we were forced to be indoors most of our stay, plus we had no power on our second day so were unable to shower.

The staff were lovely and obliging but it is definitely lacking that special something, even with an amazing view. Don't expect what you see on the website.....



Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank flea246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Al Hamra
16.8 mi away
Alila Jabal Akhdar
Alila Jabal Akhdar
#1 of 2 in Jabal Akhdar
793 reviews
22.8 mi away
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
#8 of 9 in Nizwa
34 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jebel Shams Resort
Jebel Shams Resort
#3 of 5 in Al Hamra
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Misfah Old House
Misfah Old House
#2 of 5 in Al Hamra
149 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sama Heights Resort - Jebel Shams
9.2 mi away
Shorfet Al-Alamin Hotel
Shorfet Al-Alamin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Al Hamra
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View

Property: The View
Address: Hail Al Shas | Al Hamra. Ad Dakhaliyah., Al Hamra 112, Oman
Region: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Al Hamra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Al Hamra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View is located at 1,400 meters above sea level, driving through 8 kms of winding off road from Al Hamra to Hail Al Shas in a 4WD vehicle. We are just 2 1/2 hrs drive from Muscat, 45 minutes from Nizwa and 15 minutes from Al Hamra, it is a perfect getaway with 30 exclusive rooms for a truly relaxed and comfortable stay. It isn't just an 'Eco Luxe' retreat, but an experience where nature holds pride of place. Where service and hospitality is at its finest. It's an ideal port of call for visitors wanting to start adventurous trekking expeditions and excursions towards the peak of Jabal Shams Mountains. The View provides stylish accommodations apart from enjoying a relaxed time by the campfire or taking a dip in the infinity pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The View Hotel Hail Al Shas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing