We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation we had in New Brunswick!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Horton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's Lookout Cottages
Marmora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best accomodation we had in New Brunswick!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Captain's Lookout Cottages for 3 days with our grandsons. We were travelling from Ontario and wanted them to see the Bay of Fundy. The cottage was well placed between Alma and Hopewell Rocks. The boys rappelled at Cape Enrage, we kayaked the Hopewell rocks and were able to cook our own fresh seafood (from Alma) dinner each night at the cottage. The boys explored and discovered a freshwater lake within a 15 minute hike from the cottage. The secluded Bay of Fundy beach and caves were an easy hike from the cottage as well. Tracey gave us all the information we needed to see it all. The cottage was clean and she supplied everything we needed for cooking. The wifi worked well consistently. The towels were thick and soft...not the usual threadbare type. Fresh flowers on the table to greet us....I could go on and on. Thanks Tracie for a memorable vacation. We will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CMM547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Definitely recommend staying at Captain's Lookout Cottages. It has everything in a tidy package--clean, cozy, and comfortable--and our hostess and her children were congenial and accommodating. Particularly appreciated the hiking information on the Two Rivers site across the road from the cottages and the cottages' location near Cape Enrage and Hopewell Rocks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Recently returned from visiting these lovely cottages overlooking the Bay of Fundy. We were staying with friends from Fredericton, New Brunswick, and a party of seven (four adults, 3 youngsters) shared two cottages for 3 nights. The weather was mixed, with some rain and some sun, but we managed to use the BBQ on the one very warm night, but not the firepit. Everything you could want is here from starter tea, coffee, spices, washing up liquid, and tea towels to thick towels, a king-sized bed, TV, wi-fi, DVDs, hair dryer etc. All spotlessly clean. We had a a great time, using the frizzbies to get the girls away from their tablets and into the fresh air.. We visited Hopewell Rocks and Cape Enrage, and went into Alma to eat twice, once at Sapranos Pizza, and once at The Tides Restaurant. Tracey, who runs the cottages, couldn't have been more helpful during the booking and reception process, but left us to our own devices. Lots of bird wildlife, peace and lovely views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our family stayed at the cottages late summer 2013. We enjoy exploring, and this was a fantastic location to do so. The Conservation area across the street gave almost private waterfront access. It is only a short drive to Hopewell Rocks, to Fundy National Park, and within a few hours drive you can explore the entire Fundy shoreline, all the way to St. Andrews and on the ferry to Grand Manan island. The cottages are well appointed and very clean. And the view across to Nova Scotia is … "priceless". A worthy vacation for any family. Thank you for the memories.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The very best overall cottages I've ever stayed. It's impossible to think of what could be missing. Very affordable, spotless, lovely decor, fresh flowers on the table, fully equipped kitchen, big fluffy towels, linens on bed like silk, best sleep even than some of the best hotels, walking trails to beaches and around the Bay, cabins surrounded by greenery and wildflowers, 15 minutes from Alma, Cape Enrage, lovely view of the Bay from the cottages (on a hill). The owners checked each day to see to our comfort...they even piled kindling and wood for our bonfire site! The very best .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yum95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed 5 days here this past summer with our children and their families. Our family isn't always able to visit at the same time every year because there are 14 of us and our children all live away from NB, so this was a great place to meet and 3 cottages accommodated us all. Many extra touches were included to make our stay special. We found the cabins very clean, comfortable and fully equipped with all we needed to prepare our meals etc.The grandchildren enjoyed the playground and the guys set up our croquet game to play. We enjoyed exploring the trails and beach close at hand.The owners were very personable and helpful both before we came and during our stay. We look upon our week here as a wonderful memory of our family time together this year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue Nickerson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde River, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The cottages are located in a small village of New Horton and have beautiful views of the Bay of Fundy. They are located on the hill, with woods and a small lake right behind them. There is a huge grass area in front, which includes kids playground and a firepit, and in addition to this, every cottage has a fire pit behind it.
The cottages themselves are lovely and super cute, I could just move in and stay forever :) They are super clean, and everything looks brand new. The decor is nice, I loved everything. The kitchen is tiny, but has everything you need. Everything in the kitchen is also new looking, and I loved the big red mugs :)
The bedroom has lot of space for your things, if you have lots of luggage (we did), a dresser and hangers. I also appreciated that you get extra blankets and a quilt, in case you get cold at night. There are many towels available and the owners always make sure you have clean ones all the time.
Speaking of owners, they are amazing. So nice and friendly. Always stopped by to say hi and made sure we had everything we need, gave us advice as to which places to visit or what is going on nearby, or which walks to take. They are just very nice people.
Coming to the cottage was the best part, we were welcomed in such way, I felt like I was coming home to my family. There were our names on the cottage doors, so we know it is the right place. When we walked in, there was a hand written note from Sheri and beautiful fresh flowers in vases, one on the kitchen table, one in the living room area. This was so nice and welcoming.
There were also other small things that made this extra great, such as many brochures about local attractions and maps of the area. The cottage also had small TV and many DVDs to watch in case it is rainy, or when you just feel like doing nothing. There is also Internet connection available if you want to stay connected to the outside world.
The place was pet friendly, which our dog loved. The owners also left an extra comforter for our dog to sleep on, which was very thoughtful.
Overall, this is lovely, lovely place with beautiful surroundings, views and good people. If you are visiting Bay of Fundy area, I would not look anywhere else. All the places we have seen on our drives don't compare to this one.
This was my first trip to New Brunswick but I fell in love with the area, and given the opportunity, I would love to stay here forever.

PS. There is also barbeque and big table with benches available in front of the cottage, as well as patio chairs on a patio.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addie76h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Horton
23.9 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
87 reviews
24.2 mi away
Tantramar Motel
Tantramar Motel
#2 of 2 in Sackville
40 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Parkland Village Inn
14.6 mi away
The Artisan Suites
The Artisan Suites
#2 of 5 in Hopewell Cape
66 reviews
11.4 mi away
Alpine Motor Inn
Alpine Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Alma
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Lookout Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Lookout Cottages

Property: Captain's Lookout Cottages
Address: 1190 Highway 915, New Horton, New Brunswick E4H 1W4, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Albert County > New Horton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in New Horton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain's Lookout Cottages offers 6 rustic pine cottages high on a hilltop overlooking the Bay of Fundy. We have one, two and three bedroom cottages, offering full kitchen amenities, linens, towels, BBQ's, Firepits, Highspeed WIFI, Satellite TV, etc... A very private setting with access to a very private coastline with miles of beaches to discover. A lovely lake sits a short hike from your back door. Fantastic walking trails, biking, beachcombing... all right here. We are only 15 minutes from Alma and Fundy National Park and 25 minutes to our famous Hopewell Rocks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing