We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT EAT HERE!!!!”
Review of Susie's Station - CLOSED

Susie's Station
Restaurant details
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
“DO NOT EAT HERE!!!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had just purchased a home in Everglades City. While patronizing many establishments that were fine (Island Cafe, Seafood Depot, Camelia Street, Oyster House), this "restaurant" was quite terrible. We arrived at noontime and they quickly set up a table as none were set up at the time. We ordered 3 grouper sandwiches, 2 beers, a coke, and an order of fries. The grouper sandwich wasn't anything special and were quite pricey ($12.95 for a sandwich, small bag of Lays, and a pickle that tasted oddly like Mt. Olive). This brought our total to $64. Upon trying to pay with a credit card, we were informed that the "bank closed" and that they were not able to accept credit cards anymore and that we would have to go to an ATM at the Marathon down the road. We were never handed our bill and were told that the gratuity and supposed 15% off for lunch were added in. The 15% off was a lie and the adding of a gratuity for a party of 3 was ridiculous. We left Susie's feeling quite distraught that such a place is in business in a great little town like Everglades City. We will never be going back and recommend that nobody else give these people their business. There are much better dining options.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    3
    4
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“No Improvement-Stay Away”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Unfortunately ate lunch here on April12th. No improvements at this establishment.
- Amazing how the bathroom still wasn't working. We were told we could use a local service station restroom a few blocks away.
- Very small servings of food for the inflated prices
- Asked for water and were charged for bottles of water
- Glad I travel with cash. When I attempted to pay with Visa the waitress informed me that the menu stipulated No credit cards
-Had to ask for cutlery and tartar sauce
-Was not offered an option to eat inside.
I truly don't know how a place like this continues to remain open........the ongoing restroom problem should be enough to close it down.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonLethbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never, Never Again (Never)!”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

2 couples from England touring Florida together made the mistake of stopping here for Lunch.
The warning signs were all there but we missed them....
Cant come inside aircon broke......
Cant use restroom, broke, plumber called.
$66 for 3 coffees, 1 can coke, 2 burgers, an inedible"BBQ" sandwich, and a miniscule portion of crocodile tail all on polystyrene plates and plastic forks.
Thought about consequences of actually eating the food but did so, and thankfully we did not catch an infection.
Rude waitress, Scary "owner"?
Dont do it.... drive away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dbal187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Keep driving”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stopped here for a late lunch with extended family. What a waste of time and money. I've always said that you can't judge a book by its cover but this is one of those times when you should. Bathroom was out of order. Waitress was not very happy that we were there and the food was not the best. STAY AWAY!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leep6802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Save Your Money - Keep Driving!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

After a fun afternoon at Shark Valley, we decided to stop at Everglades City for an ice cream cone. We pulled up to Suzie's Station and the sign read ice cream cones. We walked up the VERY poorly maintained porch and into a room where the ice cream was. The room looked like a storage room of booths and they were pretty much unusable. The sign showed 5 kinds of ice cream but the waitress, with sweat poring down her face, announced that two flavors were out. We ordered 5 cones and were given our scoop of ice cream in a styrofoam cup. I asked about the cones and she said they were out. Could she not have told us that BEFORE we ordered? We paid $3 for 1/2 cup of ice cream in a styrofoam cup. Then my daughter decided she would like to try the "world famous key lime pie". After waiting quite some time for her pie, a miniscule slice was placed in front of her and I will bet money that it was a frozen Sara Lee key lime pie. Way too much money for something we can buy back in MN. DO NOT waste your time or money stopping there. Prices are high and cleanliness is not a high priority.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank minnesotaupnorthmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Susie's Station also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing