We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay for short stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Everglades City Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
1 review
“Okay for short stay.”
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My husband and I booked this motel for an overnight stay while we visited Everglades National Park. On the plus side it was near the park and airboat rides. The front desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful, the room was large enought for two and appeared clean. The granite bathroom was very modern and the small kitched area with microwave, sink and small fridge was handy. You could walk from the motel to some small stores, resturants and ice cream shop.

On the minus side there were no closets to hang clothes, no towel racks in the bathroom, and a high price for a small motel with no breakfast , continental or otherwise, or pool. The bed pillows were hard and should be replaced. Perhaps the renovation isn't done? We paid $89 not including tax. The other motels were high, too. We picked this one because the ratings were better for the most part.

Recommended for a night or two. We loved the Captain Doug's airpoat ride. Evidently they own this motel.

  • Liked — Near Everglades National Park
  • Disliked — Cost of room considering amenities.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joedee1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    295
    55
    17
    8
See reviews for
143
329
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

After reading reviews I was very disappointed when we arrived at the motel. It was old and run down and very overpriced. The room had a funky smell, we were supposed to be in a non-smoking room (I have a severe allergy to smoke) I awoke the next morning with my eyes swollen shut and my face stayed swollen for the next 3 days. Obviously not non-smoking as promised. I have to admit the bathroom had been updated and was very nice and out of place with the rest of the room (I wish we could have slept in it!) I was also very upset to find out that the people staying in the next room, who arrived right after us, paid $20.00 less than we did, even though we booked 2 months in advance, when I asked the office about that they never did give me a clear answer but refused to give me the lower price. I've stayed in much nicer places for a lot less money and would'nt recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — The bathroom was very nice
  • Disliked — Received smoking when we were told it was non-smoking, difference in pricing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rawnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Not a bad place to stay in a small town, which does not have too many options.
Price is OK, and the room was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DiscoveryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade City, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

After our disappointing stay at the Ivey House we needed a place to stay. A local told us to try the Everglades City Motel. We are glad we did. The motel is old but it is being renovated. The rooms are updated with modern facilities. The granite bathroom is beautiful. You can see they took the effort to have high-quality work performed on the restoration. Unfortunately, the double beds were uncomfortable. They only have one room with a king bed. There is no closet. We liked the back door to our room. It made our walk to the restaurant easy. The Backcountry Cafe was delicious!! The staff at the motel was very helpful.

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

This place was surprisingly nice for a roadside motel in a small rural Florida town. The rooms were nicely renovated, although the lighting was a bit dark and the mattresses were a uncomfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean and the kitchen area was nice. The wireless internet service required a password which was not provided at check in, so I am not sure if this really a free internet access.

We were supposed to have a stove in the room, but the room we were given did not have one and all the other rooms were booked. However, the staff brought a hot plate, dishes and utensils in short order. They provided a rollaway bed a no charge. The hotel is probably family owned and the staff were all very friendly and prompt.

The motel is very close to the Everglades welcome center and not far from the few local restaurants. One down side is that the back of the motel is a bit junky and really needs to be cleaned up. There could be a nice picnic area if it was not for the junk stren across the grass.

Nonetheless, I would suggest this place to others traveling through this area.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank MGE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.4 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.5 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.8 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Captain's Table Lodge
The Captain's Table Lodge
#2 of 2 in Everglades City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ivey House
Ivey House
#1 of 5 in Everglades City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades City Motel

Property: Everglades City Motel
Address: 309 Collier Ave., Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Everglades City Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Everglades City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades City Hotel Everglades City
Everglades City Motel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing