We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room except for the peep holes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Everglades City Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful room except for the peep holes”
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We stayed here for one night in Room #7. The room had been recently remodeled to update it - tile floors, wall hung lcd tv, marble countertops, and a beautiful bathroom. It was just as good if not better than fancy hotels like the hyatt or marriott. The room is pretty sparse with a mini fridge, desk and chair, nightstand, and two plastic chairs out front. The hotel is located in the center of town, but doesn't have any sort of view except of the parking lot. The highlight of staying there was the bathroom. The shower was huge and had great water pressure and an endless supply of hot water. The exhaust fan actually worked and cleared any steam out in no time. That was the highlight of our stay.

The rest of our experience wasn't so nice. The owners were adding on to the hotel next to our room so there was some construction going on during the day. Because of this, the cable was not working. The air conditioner never was able to cool the room to 78 degrees no matter how low you set it. That may have had something to do with the 1/2 inch gap in the wall around the air conditioner and around the door. I don't see how they do not have bug problems with these gaps that you can actually see outside through. The ice maker is located out in the parking lot which made it convenient, but allowed anyone or anything to get into it.

The last straw was when we looked underneath the sink to get some more towels that were lying there. That's when we saw two big holes in the wall were the water pipes come in to the sink. We walked out of our room to the other side of the wall where the construction was and found out that you could see into the bathroom as clear as day. So I'm sure the construction workers or who knows else got an eyeful. This was not what I wanted to be thinking about the rest of the day. I don't know if these openings were made on purpose or not, but i can't think of a good reason for something like this to be allowed to happen. As soon as we found this, we checked out.

Overall, The room was beautiful and clean, but with the air conditioner not working and the peep holes, there is no way I would recommend this place. There are just too many other options in town for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nach0mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    291
    54
    17
    8
See reviews for
140
323
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We stayed here three nights while touring the Everglades. The rooms in this old-style motel have been very nicely renovated. There was a nice kitchen area with microwave, fridge and sink. New bathroom fixtures and counters. The staff was extra-helpful.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vauxhall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2009

While we had a hard time finding out what hotels were available in Everglades city, we finally did by a phone call to one of the air boat operators. we choose this hotel as they had Internet access. the rooms were a wonderful surprise after seeing the pictures of the hotel. they are bright and roomy and the bathrooms would be a credit to a five star hotel. out only two complaints was that the girl running the desk had terrible English skills and the Internet in the room was spotty (was great sitting out in front of the rooms.)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copster Green Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Not too many options in Everglades City, we were glad we chose to stay here. Newly refurbished rooms, marble bathrooms, fridge, wifi, microwave. Helpful manager who suggested where we could eat (Camelia St bar & grill, really good), when I commented on his supper smelling good, he insisted we try it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My husband and I booked this motel for an overnight stay while we visited Everglades National Park. On the plus side it was near the park and airboat rides. The front desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful, the room was large enought for two and appeared clean. The granite bathroom was very modern and the small kitched area with microwave, sink and small fridge was handy. You could walk from the motel to some small stores, resturants and ice cream shop.

On the minus side there were no closets to hang clothes, no towel racks in the bathroom, and a high price for a small motel with no breakfast , continental or otherwise, or pool. The bed pillows were hard and should be replaced. Perhaps the renovation isn't done? We paid $89 not including tax. The other motels were high, too. We picked this one because the ratings were better for the most part.

Recommended for a night or two. We loved the Captain Doug's airpoat ride. Evidently they own this motel.

  • Liked — Near Everglades National Park
  • Disliked — Cost of room considering amenities.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joedee1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

After reading reviews I was very disappointed when we arrived at the motel. It was old and run down and very overpriced. The room had a funky smell, we were supposed to be in a non-smoking room (I have a severe allergy to smoke) I awoke the next morning with my eyes swollen shut and my face stayed swollen for the next 3 days. Obviously not non-smoking as promised. I have to admit the bathroom had been updated and was very nice and out of place with the rest of the room (I wish we could have slept in it!) I was also very upset to find out that the people staying in the next room, who arrived right after us, paid $20.00 less than we did, even though we booked 2 months in advance, when I asked the office about that they never did give me a clear answer but refused to give me the lower price. I've stayed in much nicer places for a lot less money and would'nt recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — The bathroom was very nice
  • Disliked — Received smoking when we were told it was non-smoking, difference in pricing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rawnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Not a bad place to stay in a small town, which does not have too many options.
Price is OK, and the room was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DiscoveryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.4 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.5 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.8 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ivey House
Ivey House
#1 of 5 in Everglades City
1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Captain's Table Lodge
The Captain's Table Lodge
#2 of 2 in Everglades City
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades City Motel

Property: Everglades City Motel
Address: 309 Collier Ave., Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Everglades City Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Everglades City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades City Hotel Everglades City
Everglades City Motel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing