We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Tim Dorsey promised1”
Review of Rod and Gun Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rod and Gun Club
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My sister and I were duplicating the Fugitive Tour of Serge in Tim Dorsey's "Electric Barracuda." The Rod and Gun Club were exactly as he described down to the fog and cabins on the river. It was marvelous. If you like Tim Dorsey or Florida history it is a "not to be missed" experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ndavis52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly; the accommodations clean and comfortable. This is not the Ritz and should not be confused with a high end Naples 5 star hotel. Rather it is a fishing lodge which dates back to the mid 1800s. If you enjoy history and learning about the people and times of Florida in the early 19th and 20th centuries, this is a great place to visit. We dinned on the fish we caught that day. Captain Brian Richardson was our fishing guide and he was excellent. We will return often to fish and relax in old Florida.

Room Tip: Ask for a private porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband and I love coming to the Rod and Gun Club. The Old Florida feel of the place makes it inviting and relaxing. We enjoy having drinks before dinner while sitting on the screened-in porches that each room has. Dinner at the hotel on the veranda looking out on the Barron River is one of our favorite things to do. Early in the morning, we launch our boat from their boat ramp and spend the day fishing the beautiful thousands of islands nearby. We come from Miami whenever we can to decompress and enjoy the tranquil experience that Rod and Gun Club offers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This has to be a 1* review, and i'm still waiting for the owner to contact me with regards to compensation.
We turned up a little late at 9.02pm (reception meant to close at 9pm) to find nobody around and everything locked up -totally our fault for not informing the hotel first, but did eventually manage to check-in to our room via 'Barbara': all the rooms are in external buildings.

The room was shocking to say the least: Bedding DIRTY, Air-con V NOISY, Plug BLOCKED, Shower COLD and DIRTY. We would always contact somebody first rather than writing a bad review but there is nobody around! If the place burned down you'd be screwed!
Breakfast NOT included, which wasn't clear on check-in, and even though it was supposed to open at 7AM the next day, at 9AM there was still nobody around to cook it anyway!!!

We tried contacting the owners next day but to no avail, we've left a note on reception but no contact to say that paying $95 for this room is unacceptable and we'd like a refund. For $95 i don't expect a 5* hotel, but i do expect a clean room where I can use the sink and shower!

Never return, and if the owner reads this, please contact me!!!
See photos attached

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank topturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The place reminded us of a down on its luck old English stately home...oak panelling stuffed animals on the walls and the rooms in the main house aren't used any more.
The receptionist was amazing with the customer focus of a bored teenager although she was much older. She seemed amazed when we said we would take the room after viewing it. We were amazed to be told it was cash only-(luckily we had enough as its not cheap and I'm not sure wherre the nearest cash point would be)...and would we like dinner too! We ate elsewhere with a credit card but the views were lovely. The actual room we had was perfectly fine although we sensed the "old charm" /lack of credit rubbing off on the place.

Room Tip: River view. Avoid air conditioner from adjacent units pumping out onto your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CandA_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I recently traveled with some friends to the Everglades and thought it would be wonderful to experience the history and charm of the historic Rod and Gun. Well, historic it is. The rooms were rustic, the linens were worn too much for my taste and the bathroom was dirty. Which for me is a real big issue. The shower was cold and the restaurant was not appealing at all. The porch seating seemed like a nice surprise until our waitress came to us for our drink order and told me to hurry up, she was going to have an order coming up. There were three tables with people dining at the time. We did not need to know that management only put her on by herself or that she was limited at to how many sweet potatos they had left. Just really a disappointing experience all around. Would not recommend even as an experience of a time long ago. Even long ago, things were clean and friendly.

Room Tip: Don't know what to tell you. Not sure there would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Montana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is a place with great potential, but it needs a bit of work. It did not appear that sufficient attention was paid to cleaning and maintenance. There was litter outside the building where our room was located, and the screen door to the porch that served our 3 units did not close, letting in mosquitoes (my wife fixed it). Our room was a bit sticky and dirty, especially the bathroom. While we had an excellent dinner there, the table where we were seated had not been wiped off, and there was food on the floor. We went for the 7 a.m. breakfast and found the lights off and door locked - nothing prepared. One person was serving as cook, waitress, and check-in clerk. She was delightful, but service was slow and the food mediocre. The place lacks TLC - this goes further than rustic "character." The charm of the bar, lobby and dining room show this could be a really cool place to stay.

Room Tip: No Internet - we went to the Cafe Habana a few miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dstring13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.4 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.3 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Ivey House
Ivey House
#1 of 5 in Everglades City
1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rod and Gun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rod and Gun Club

Address: 200 Riverside Dr, Everglades City, FL 34139-0190
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Everglades City
Price Range: £87 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rod and Gun Club 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rod and Gun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rod And Gun Club Hotel Everglades City
Rod And Gun Hotel
Rod And Gun Club Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing