We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida at it's Best”
Review of Rod and Gun Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rod and Gun Club
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you want to experience true Old Florida; before the developers ruined our state, The Rod and Gun Club is the place to stay. From the time I walked in the door, Taylor greeted us with a big welcoming smile and made us feel like we were with family. The entire staff, Marilyn, Estell, were just amazing. They treated our dogs like they were there own. Taylor had brought mangos from home and Marliyn made the best margaritas we could have asked for. Lunch was fantastic. We love the out islands of The Bahamas and when you experience the classic Old Florida pool you absolutely felt you were in The Bahamas. The pictures you see on line of the interior speak for themselves, just beautiful. These bad reviews, well, shame on them..."sheets were not ironed", give me a break. If you want the cookie cutter hotels, go to South Beach, if you really want to experience Old Florida, quiet, beautiful and wonderful people that treat you like family (including your pets!) go to The Rod and Gun Club. Thank you again Taylor, you are lovely! Big hug to Marilyn and Estell

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for one night with friends. I have visited before about 15 years ago and found it quirky. Absolutely nothing has changed. The main hotel is firmly stuck in the fifties and has a lot a
of character to offer. The accommodation has both times been in detached chalets bedside the hotel. The beds were mega comfortable and the room and shower were spotless. Outside each room is a screened patio which looks inviting, beware, the floor is not screened and the beasties can get in! We had dinner which was good but the presentation and service leave room for improvement. Checking out was impossible, every door to the main building was locked with no signs of life, good thing we didn't require breakfast! If you want an authentic taste of the everglades this is the area to be in but the hotel needs to get into the21st century by allowing online booking and accepting credit cards then perhaps their bookings would improve and also their facilities.

Room Tip: It is possible to get rooms overlooking the river but there isn't much activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Golfman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of June 2014. The room was ok despite a noisy AC unit. The sheets were not ironed and were unconvincingly clean. We decided to support the establishment by having dinner in the hotel, there was just one other table of guests. The food was ok.
Upon arrival when I paid for the room (in cash) I asked if breakfast was included, the receptionist / barman /server replied that a continental breakfast was included in the rate. The next morning we crossed from our room to the main building to find that all the doors were locked. After managing to enter via the rear entrance a cleaning lady told me that they don't didn't do breakfast. We couldn't even place a complaint as no one was there!

The highlight to our stay was an airboat tour around the mangroves which was a lot of fun. We were coming from Venice and would have done a lot better to stay in Naples rather than Everglades (Aka Mosquito) City.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Cheap rate and was only room left at a hotel, nice people that worked there and looks nice inside the room but the room was roach infested! It was 8am and no one on office to check out with or to answer phone call.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank melanie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed there for three nights with great friends. The rooms were ok for the amount of time we were in them. The porch that joined the two rooms we had was my favorite. The staff and restaurant was a little odd. We met at the bar for drinks but they didn't have much of a selection the lady Maryland that was working was very nice but a little rough. We went to dinner the next night I had the seafood pasta dish which was fantastic. It kinda seemed like no one wanted to wait on us and we kinda over heard them arguing about it. Debi finally took our table and did a great job. There were several of the wait staff that were bashing other wait staff about drug problems, personal life ect. I found that very weird and unprofessional. We were asked several times to come to the restaurant for breakfast so we did just that around 830, there was no one there and no food being served. That to was a disappointment. We really liked the location we could hear the church bells when we sat on our porch and it was a very unique old Florida feel. If they had more of a professional staff this place would be off of the charts. I will go back but spend less time at the restaurant/bar. I will go elsewhere within the town.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tassey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay tremendously! Loved the peace and quiet. The rooms are immaculate and the pool area is a quiet oasis from the sweltering heat of June in Florida.

I loved the architecture….you can't find Dade Pine and Pecky Cypress used in buildings nowadays. I understand that the building is very old, yet it is well - maintained. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This place is a gold mine! Recently stayed 4 nights with my husband for our anniversary, The service was great! Our waitress Ashley truly had southern hospitality & was very sweet, Our room was very clean and cozy, the pool was gorgeous and we had the best mango margaritas! We had a very nice steak dinner and cannot wait to come back next year, This place is defiantly worth enjoying for a vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.4 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.3 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.3 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
640 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ivey House
Ivey House
#1 of 5 in Everglades City
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rod and Gun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rod and Gun Club

Address: 200 Riverside Dr, Everglades City, FL 34139-0190
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Everglades City
Price Range: £88 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rod and Gun Club 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Rod and Gun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rod And Gun Club Hotel Everglades City
Rod And Gun Hotel
Rod And Gun Club Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing