We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of the Everglades

Museum of the Everglades
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Escape Naples' dazzling pace of development for a day and spend a lazy afternoon exploring the history of nearby Everglades City. Once accessible only by boat, this remote frontier trading town took an ambitious new turn in 1923 as the hub of Barron Collier's personal Southwest Florida real estate empire - with a population of fewer than twelve families. First opened in 1927 as a commercial laundry, today's Museum of the Everglades dates back to a time when construction of the famous Tamiami Trail was well underway and the tiny settlement of Everglades served as the first County seat. The museum's permanent and rotating exhibits provide visitors with an in-depth look at over 2,000 years of human history in the area and tell the story of those adventurous enough - and stubborn enough - to settle Southwest Florida's lush "River of Grass." Faithfully restored to its original, 1920s Collier-era appearance, the museum is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is located 35 miles east of downtown Naples.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Very nice little museum in Everglades City. Also walked up the
observation tower. Both are small but a big part of the history
of the city. We enjoyed our day very much and would not miss
either attraction while in town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom - Carla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    89
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
373 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
“Cute and Quaint.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

The previous review is captioned "sad museum." Far from it. It's quaint, cute and full of old stuff. For crying out loud, this is the Everglades museum, not the British Museum! Yes, some of it is corny, but that is part of the "kitzch" of this type of place. And it's free! (Donations) And then go across the street to the Rod and Gun Club lobby and look at more cool old stuff! And don't miss the Everglades Tower!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sad little museum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

We weren't expecting much and that's what we got. Friendly staff, just nothing there to see. The few donated items that were given to the museum left a lot to be desired. A spoon? It wasn't even that old.
The old laundry equipment and still were about the best things there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DogFriendlyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

very intresting i learned alot from the guides. I think we willl com back someday soon. it was fun. we were just traveling thruogh and thought that we would just go and see what ae could see.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kelley12132003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Stop For Learning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Great displays and a small gift shop. You'll learn about the everglades habitat and improvements being made. It's worth a stop also to view the waterfront area. Boat rides are also available.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jetbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of the Everglades also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Museum of the Everglades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing