We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great way to experience the true Everglades”

Everglades Kayak Company
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: In the heart of Everglades City and directly across from Everglades National Park, this rental and tour location offers easy access to the beautiful Halfway Creek. The bottom of the Turner River is also accessible from this location.We have a total of 3 water locations plus a full service retail store. Guided Tours are also available
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great way to experience the true Everglades”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

4-star services in the back country (a 5-star rating would have required cold beer every night and a thick, soft mattress for improved sleep). I recently completed a 5-day/4-night tour with Dave as our guide. The equipment was top-notch, the food was fresh, healthy and well prepared and Dave was informative and provided just enough guidance (not over the top) to ensure our tour was safe and enjoyable. Every aspect of the tour, including the pre-tour booking, exceeded my expectations. I'm well experienced in day hikes and kayaking in the glades, and this tour rounded out my experiences. I'm looking forward to completing the Wilderness Waterway in the future. Break away from society for a few days with Naples Kayak for a truly memorable experience.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank R_Werbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great way to get up close and personal with the Everglades”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was our third trip into the everglades via Kayak. We decided this time to rent 17.5 foot single man Kayaks rather than canoes. Chris @ Naples Kayak is very experienced in picking the right boat for the task. This trip was for only two nights and we were going to camp sites we missed on the last seven day six night trip. The tsunami 17 was great at handling the waves in the gulf and really tracked well. Plenty of space for your gear. Naples Kayak in Everglade city has a nice departure point across from the Rangers station. The Wilderness water way is not for the faint of heart and requires good physically condition.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank pageport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaplesKayakCompany, Manager at Everglades Kayak Company, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thanks so much for dropping us a line. You are correct about the Tsunami 175's being great in the waves and tracking. These are very efficient rudder boats. We also have P&H Scorpio skeg boats for a different feel in the water.

-
Jay Rose
Director Of Operations
Naples Kayak Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Naples Kayak Company provides an outstanding adventure!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We just completed a 5 day, 4 night kayak adventure with Naples Kayak Company and it was EXCELLENT. Everglades Dave, our primary guide, was awesome; he did a first class job. Not only does he provide incredibly delicious meals, he provided chocolate on Day 3! How he kept it from melting I will never know but it was on my survey for food likes...how's that for customer service. Every meal was delicious and nutritious. Grouper, fried chicken, even alligator for an appetizer! I was so impressed. We were well outfitted and comfortable - Naples Kayak company provided excellent equipment from tents and sleeping bags to kayaks. At the Watson camp we used a large cooking tent to provide mosquito protection.

Mango, our asst. guide, was helpful and fun and took some really great photos he is sharing. Both guides were great. It was a wonderful trip and my only regret is that we do not live close enough to travel with them again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyP165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaplesKayakCompany, Owner at Everglades Kayak Company, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you so much for making the effort to provide your valuable feedback. It is much appreciated.
Chris Boland
Owner
Naples Kayak Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Everglades Kayak Company also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Everglades Kayak Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing