We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont waste your money”

Everglades National Park Boat Tours
Ranked #12 of 33 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
Ga.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dont waste your money”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

You can see the exact same Birds dolphins etc. by standing on the docks or shore line, this tour is very short and goes a short distance along the same shoreline you can walk along, it's not worth the price or time. Walk along the shore and skip the employee's bad attitudes on the boat. It's time the park service changes vendors, if your visitors to the park are not happy with what your vendors are providing, then get rid of the vendor!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingmanGa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    120
    42
    27
    27
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fun tour of the Islands”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We went on theI boat tour into the 10,000 islands and had a really fun and informative tour. In addition to many birds and beautiful water scenes, we experienced dolphins surfing our boat's wake. Boat staff were helpful and the tour narrator was informative and interesting. Great way to spend a couple of hours in this area. Price seemed competitive with similar attractions in the area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TriRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Everything I wanted”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I had researched extensively for a suitable tour through real mangrove swamps from Kissimee to the Keys. All the others I found were airboat tours with the big noisy fan on the back. I decided on this one eventually because the airboat tours seemed to be more about fair ground ride thrill than getting into and seeing this remarkable natural environment. The tour boats in the national parks were 6 seater basic fully open boats with an out board motor for the mangrove tour and larger boats for the 10,000 island tour. Seeing an airboat across the water after setting off on one of the tours I instantly knew I had made the right choice with the much quiter option. I took both tours because the rates for them were much cheaper than the airboat tours and much longer in duration, the two together were just a few dollars less than for an airboat with only 1/4 the duration.

The 10,000 island tour was more a nice winding cruise out to the edge of the Gulf of Mexico with an interaction with dolphins. Not a great deal to see but pleasent enough. Excellent way to enjoy your pack lunch!

The mangrove tour was the high point. There were plenty of full speed thrills but without the noise of the fans on the air boats along with slow and serene sections. Ospreys galore, American Bald Eagles, alligators and the highest point in the journey, a fantastic ride through a mangrove tunnel with the canopy extending all the way over. Nice guide, informative.

Everything I was looking for I got and for a very reasonable price compared to the wham bam thank you mam airboat tours. It may look like a bit of a drive off the beaten track but I stayed in Fort Myers and it only took 1 1/2 hours to drive down. Also the tour is in the national park where the airboats are not allowed. So you can hear as well as see what is around you. Loved it and definatley recommend. Only 6 seat boats and not many of them so recommend booking in advance for the mangrove tour.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank dwhitebsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46761
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“As frequent boat tour travelers, this is the worst one we've ever taken.”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The tour left the dock late. The captain/guide narrated about 5% of the time and spent the remainder of the time chatting with his buddy (which didn't really matter because the PA system was very poor). We traveled out to the white pelican island (lovely to see). Other than pointing out a few birds early in the trip and 2-3 dolphin sightings, we saw water and mangrove islands.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the 10K island tour”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Given the poor review on this site re pre-booking, we decided to just turn up. No probs as there is every 30 min a tour. We were only 11 people on the boat and the boat could have easily taken double or more people. The tour lasted 90 min and was at $ 26.50 ok priced. The tour took us thru the island to the beginning of the gulf and back. We saw some birds and (the highlight) dolphins. The guide made sure we stayed around the dolphins for a long time.

We were happy with the tour: time (much longer would have been probably too long), price (compared to other outfits) and wildlife viewing (after all it is nature and not a zoo). Would recommend it. Guide were nice.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Wolrdwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Everglades National Park Boat Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Everglades National Park Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing