We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY COOL!!!!”

Capt Mitch's - Everglades Private Airboat Tours
Ranked #10 of 33 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Captain Mitch's Thrilling Everglades airboat tours. The only all grassland airboat tour in the Everglades city area. Owned and operated by one of the oldest families in Everglades city Florida.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“REALLY COOL!!!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

3 of us - including a 14 who doesn't get impressed easily, we're a "walk on" and despite a yucky rainy day within 15 mins we were on a boat and exploring the beautiful scenery with Captain James.
James did a great job teaching us about the ecosystem and wildlife and upon arrival another employee/captain had called an 8 ft male gator over to the dock so we could get an up close look at this awesome creature.
Definitely WORTH IT!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    120
    34
    10
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Thomas, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The driver was very knowledgable about everything we saw. Saw a girl gator guarding her nest. Very neat! Also we saw a gator right by their dock that they said stays under their place to keep cool. Very fun and worth the money!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Eight of us - including a 5 year old and 3 year old - went on this tour on July 2nd. Although it rained, we still had a memorable experience! Our guide was very knowledgeable about the swampland and its inhabitants and we were able to see up close a female alligator guarding her nest and an alligator with a tooth stuck in his snout from a previous fight! Our guide was thoughtful in trying to drive us around the rain, but in the end it was unavoidable. We didn't care, however, and felt it only added to the experience! Holding a baby gator at the end was the cherry on top of an amazing experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I brought my Grandson and friends today on the airboat tour. Our Captain, Sanford, did a great job assuring that we had a wonderful time. It was definitely a learning experience and so enjoyable. We were fortunate to be able to see a female alligator guarding her nest and later saw a large male with an extra tooth jutting from his "snout". The scenery was beautiful, the weather cooperated, and our Captain provided a great narrative and ride through the Everglades. All employees were friendly and welcoming. Would definitely do it again! Well worth every penny spent!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The family had a great time”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The guide was skilled with the boat. He had an interesting knowledge of the environment, and he knew how to get us close up looks at the gators. Never knew there was a marsh rabbit, but we saw that too. He made us feel safe the entire time. And then holding the baby gator at the end was a nice way to end the time. This is one of the highlights of our week.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyBfromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capt Mitch's - Everglades Private Airboat Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Capt Mitch's - Everglades Private Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing