We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Capt Mitch's - Everglades Private Airboat Tours
Ranked #9 of 35 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Captain Mitch's Thrilling Everglades airboat tours. The only all grassland airboat tour in the Everglades city area. Owned and operated by one of the oldest families in Everglades city Florida.
Hartwick Iowa
1 review
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We are from Iowa and wanted to see the Everglades....and of course alligators and we got to see both!! Capt.Standford was amazing! He spent ample time with us answering all of our questions. And we got to see 3 up close alligators. Had a great experience!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dozer1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    112
    30
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We had a great tour and our captain was fun and knowledgeable. Our kids are 9 and 11 and they enjoyed it too. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
169 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting, once”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

To be upfront about it, this was a bucket list thing. We picked this firm based on the Trip Advisor reviews, and they were spot on. The boats were clean, the guide was friendly and knowledgeable about the area, and we weren't buried in a mangrove forest for the entire trip. It was interesting to see the differences between the mangrove areas and the grassland areas. There were tons of birds, but we didn't see too many alligators (and understand that's like "fishing" versus "catching"). The kids had a great time checking out the baby gator at the end of the trip and enjoyed the opportunity to hold it for photo opportunities. As this was a bucket list thing, we wouldn't go back, but also wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to someone else.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Swimfins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Maine
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had a great time during our visit to Captain Mitch's private airboat tour!! The ride was super fun, gliding over the water & doing some sliding turns! We saw 6 or 7 alligators, lots of beautiful birds & beautiful mangroves trees. Our captain was able to draw one of the gators very close to our boat by tapping the water with an earplug, it was very exciting! He was extremely informative, friendly, humorous, and entertaining! He explained that we came at a good time of year to see the gators as the waters are getting cooler and they come up to sun during the day, late fall and winter are the best times to see the gators. After the ride we went into the office & held a baby gator, that was exciting as well! There are chips, candy bars, and soda or water available for purchase in the office. I would definitely recommend a visit if you are in the area, especially during the winter - even if you don't see any gators the ride is great & the scenery is beautiful & it was a great experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stadj913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun Everglades Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Riding on the fan boat with Captain Bill through the Everglades was an awesome experience. His knowledge and personality provided for a wonderful trip. We saw only one alligator while on the tour, but after the tour you could hold a three year old gator. We also saw a very large 25 year old gator in the water near their building. We enjoyed learning some history and ecological facts while on the tour. Bring your camera to capture some of the animals in their natural habitat and the scenery. Captain Bill was very considerate and slowed down many times for the guests to take pictures. We recommend that you purchase ear plugs at their office when you pay for your trip. Also check online to see if they are offering any discounts. Tim and Barb

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capt Mitch's - Everglades Private Airboat Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Capt Mitch's - Everglades Private Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing