We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not book - Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Captain's Table Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not book - Terrible”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Arrived to find the car park empty, place looked deserted, receptionist arrived just as we did and opened up, sounded very sharp and unfriendly. She booked us in and gave us the keys and a white towel that was old and discolored We went to our room and were very disappointed, it was old, dated and very musty with an old archaic noisy air conditioner. Another couple arrived and then drove off, one other couple arrived next door. We took a walk around and found one other guest using the pool, went to look at the restaurant, at the side which faces the hotel there is a bin area where all the feral cats seemed to be hanging around, looked run down and was not open. We had driven from key west and this was going to be a stop over before we continued up country but we decided we couldn't sleep there so carried on our way which was another 4hrs driving at night. Also the hotel reception area is not open from 11pm until 8.30am the next day we were told if we needed anything outside of these hours to ring the number on the door. The most annoying thing we thought was the complete lack of friendliness from the receptionist, we felt like we were intruding and everything was too much trouble for her. Do not book go on up to Naples. Didn't get any money refunded.

Room Tip: All rooms looked the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    61
    64
    30
    18
See reviews for
50
87
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Good value to stay and it is very close to the airboat pier so you don't have to wake up early. It's also next to the seafood restaurant. We arrived late night and the staff was waiting for us. The only disappointment is that there was no wifi signal in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamwarnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel was good, predominantly because it was so clean. It was nice to find a relatively cheap hotel that was also charming. Had wifi available in the lobby/tv/lounge area as well as offering 10% off discounts to two local restaurants. It is minutes from Everglades National Park! I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aspen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I have nothing but great things to say about this place! I have been coming here for the past few years and it has consistently been exactly what I was looking for: Old Florida, clean, comfortable, relaxing and peaceful. It is like a home away from home for me when I visit The Everglades. I have stayed in both the regular hotel rooms as well as the one bedroom apartments. Both were fantastic. The edge of the Everglades where it is located is very serene and it is in walking distance (across the driveway) to the main restaurant in town. The staff are always friendly and welcoming especially after the long drive I take to get there. I highly recommend this simple and economical getaway to anyone looking for a break from the big city, crowds and tourists.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushnell, Florida
Level Contributor
390 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Clean hotel for a fair price with a fridge, microwave, and even a pool -- it's all good. Note about shampoo in a previous review was good: this is not an all-inclusive, luxury resort, so know what you are buying. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VespagirL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

In a small place like everglades this hotel is good. You can't expect rooms like a 5 star hotel in such a place. Its good for that small place. Its also nearby and walkable distance to most attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, South Yorkhire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stopped for one night and went on an Everglades tour. The hotel was clean and basic so fine. WiFi only available in the reception area. The pool was the best bit, lovely area next to the lake. We spent a happy few hours there. It's next to a restaurant, so you don't have to take the car out if you don't want to.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.6 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.2 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.8 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.3 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Table Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Table Lodge

Property: The Captain's Table Lodge
Address: 102 E Broadway, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Table Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Captain's Table Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain`s Table Lodge And Villas Hotel Everglades City
The Captains Table Hotel
The Captains Table Motel
The Captain's Table Lodge Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing