We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent boat ride, poor customer experience”

Jungle Erv's Everglades Airboat Tours
Ranked #9 of 34 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Airboat tour located in the fla everglades in everglades city. One hour wildernes airboat tour and one hour airboat tour through the mangrove tunnels and ten thousaand islands. Jungle Erv's airboat tours is one of the first airboat companies in Everglades city. His ancestors tamed the Everglades in the 1800's. Visit our boardwalk and alligator exhibit(several live alligators).
Brockville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent boat ride, poor customer experience”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Despite being promised a voucher discount when we'd called ahead by phone, the person we dealt with on arrival had no interest in this. In fact she was so grumpy I really had to wonder why she had a job dealing with customers. The boardwalk exhibit was reasonably interesting as was the boat ride itself. Kent was a very personable pilot. Given how many other companies do the exact same thing in Everglades City it's amazing how complacent and jaded their staff seemed. Oh - be ready to trip the pilot (15%) as he claims to only get paid in tips. Really?!

Helpful?
1 Thank i_fergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    141
    35
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Putnam Heights, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The one hour tour is plenty.”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great fan boat tour through the Everglades. Picking up some speed over the open water and some great manouvers through the mangroves. We were able to see alligators and various other wildlife. One hour is enough time, anymore and it would be redundant. We did the board walk which personally, I would not do again. We did not even get a chance to hold an alligator because we had to get to our fan boat. Even though the lady selling us the tour said we would have enough time to do both, we did not. We had to leave the boardwalk and then go to another location off 41 for the fan boat. It was my first fan boat tour so I have nothing to compare my experience to, but I did have a VERY good time and glad I went!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun, Informative but Expensive”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Be prepared to spend $75-80 per couple for a 1/2 hour airboat ride but man is it fun! There are a bunch of channels that the boats drive through between the mangroves. They go very fast and turn on a dime. The best part was doing a bunch of donuts during low tide in a big expanse of mud. We had the rare opportunity to see a mother and baby dolphin in the river where they normally do not travel. We also saw manatee and lots of raccoons (in mangroves). The raccoons come right up to the boat and eat out of the guide's hands. Speaking of the guide, he was very personable, knowledgeable and made our time fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect mix of leisurely cruising & adrenaline pumping speed”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

I went on Jungle Erv's Wilderness Ride; a couple of the employees suggested this was the better of the two options (although I'm sure I would of have had fun on either one). The boat Captain was entertaining & the office staff were very friendly & enjoyable to talk with. The ride was the perfect mix of leisurely cruising & adrenaline pumping speed with banking turns; I would definitely recommend this trip to tourists of any age.

Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Totally worth it!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We decided to hit up an airboat tour, and looked up quite a few different companies. We settled on Jungle Erv's and it was great! The airboat captain was funny and even let us out of the boat to take pictures by a docile gator. Saw lots of cool birds and gators. The tour we chose also gave us access to the boardwalk which was beautiful, and we got to hold an alligator! Would love to come back and do it again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jungle Erv's Everglades Airboat Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Jungle Erv's Everglades Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing