We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To see you need to go on a boat tour”

Gulf Coast Visitor Center
St Petersburg
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“To see you need to go on a boat tour”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We did not realize until we got there that the Everglades national park is only accessible by water in that area. So we took the smaller boat tour. It was 1:45 minutes of beautiful nature. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and were only disappointed that we did not have time for the larger boat tour. We'll definitely return and do that one next.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    72
    29
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent, peaceful, beautiful tour of 10,000 islands.”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Definitely worth the time and price! Our guide, Captain Tom, was a delight and was informative and engaging. Our kids asked many questions and they were answered patiently and pleasantly. We saw a lot wildlife including dolphins. We heard stories of the people and history of the area. The evening was cold, windy but beautiful! I wish we would have really seen the sunset being that it was advertised as a sunset cruise. That was the only disappointment. Would recommend still. Nice end to a full day.

Helpful?
1 Thank 5PAGES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Take the Boat Tours”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We took both boat tours, the one into the mangroves and the one on open water. WE loved them both. The guides were very knowledgeable and friendly and made it really interesting. The trips are not actually that different, but we were happy we did both. If I had to choose, I would take the one into the mangroves because it incorporated the open water, too. We saw dolphins on both trips. The cost was not bad, I think it was $30 - $40/each.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rude customer service”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We were inquiring at the desk about the boat tours. After giving us a shpeal, we talked it over and decided to buy a few post cards. When we returned to pay for our post cards, the lady asked, "so, are you ready to book??" we replied no, deciding to come back the next day. She rudely replied, "oh I guess you don't want to see the Everglades then.". As if her boat tours were the only way to see them. As if our kayak tour earlier hadn't been the Everglades. Here is my advice THIS IS NOT A PARt OF THE NATIONAL PARK SERVICE. Find other tours that care less about the bottom dollar.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank SusanT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“shame about the guide”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The centre does boat trips out around the islands which we would highly recommend. Its lovely to get in amongst the islands in the small boat and we saw lots of birds and dolphins - the captain did brilliantly to entice them to come and play in our wake. But a ranger accompanies the trips and ours was new and inexperienced and young - wish she had let the captain speak more as when he did he was full of interesting information and often whispered things into her ear which she then told us! they recommend you book but we just walked up even in peak season and there were only about 8 people on our boat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank merionvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gulf Coast Visitor Center also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gulf Coast Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing