We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, accomodation not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glades Haven Cozy Cabins
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location, accomodation not great”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a good, easy and cheap place to stay if you are passing through the Everglades. We stayed in a stilt home which was directly on the water, the decor is really old fashioned and the cutlery wasn't cleaned properly at all, but it was cosy and the beds were comfy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotteahoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    15
    16
    18
    19
See reviews for
21
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have been staying at Glades Haven Cozy Cabins at least a couple times a year for the past 5 years. This IS the place to stay in Everglades City because the cabins are clean with plenty of space and convenient with onsite grocery store, boat launch/docks, restaurant (that will cook your daily catch) and friendly staff. The bottom line is that it has gotten better every year. This is a must stay in Everglades City.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed one night in one of the small one room cabins with a porch. It was clean and big enough for a couple and two children (in a bunk bed). Staff was helpful and the location excellent.

Room Tip: The porch was a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanrr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed two nights in one of the cabins at Glades Haven and had a nice time. We had reserved one of the smaller effeciency units along the canal but when we checked in none were available so they gave us a one bedroom with loft unit for the same price, right across from their boat ramp. Nice bonus since it had a fully equipped kitchen and way more space than we needed for two of us. The cabins are rustic, but look to have been built recently and are very well built, decently furnished, sunny and clean, not the usual musty, buggy places you would expect. My only criticism would be that the one we got was furnished with 4 twin bunks and a futon couch. In order to sleep together we had to use the pulled out couch which was kind of uncomfortable since there was a crease in the middle and it did not quite fold down flat. It was a little better the second night once we laid one of our camping mats over the middle of it. Also there is nothing but a wooden bench in the large screened in porch. Some cheap camp chairs would have been nice so we could have sat out there. The main room of the cottage had a dining table and corner bench so there were no chairs to move out there. I suppose we could have asked for such items from the proprietors, but we were not bothered enough by the lack of them to make a fuss. Lots of hot water for showers and the full sized fridge were nice plusses.

The complex along the road in front of the Haven has a small store with groceries, liquor and various travel needs. You also pay to rent the bikes and boats there. Beside that is a bare bones little bar, the Rock Bottom (we enjoyed a good local guitarist/singer there the first night) and beyond that the Oyster House restaurant with very good and quite reasonable food. The fried clams and sweet potato shoestring fries as well as the Key lime pie, were delicious. There are some other places to eat nearby -- got a good breakfast 1 mile north at the Everglades Cafe and Camillia's, open for lunch and dinner only, 5 minutes south on Chocolasee Island, has unique and tasty dishes.

This is a good spot for a base camp for outdoor activities. They rent nice bikes, newer good brand mountain bikes, that you can take on trails or the paved bike path that runs along the main road. Their boat livery is outstanding and has good brands and models of seaworthy canoes and kayaks, not the usual clunky cheap junk many rental outfitters tend to have. We rented a very new looking Mad River Adventure 16 canoe and a pair of Aquabound fiberglass kayak paddles for a tour up the Halfway River into the Everglades. We also could have rented Necky or Wilderness Systems touring kayaks with rudders to explore the coastal seaways on the Thousand Islands side of the town. They also offer guided trips via boat or bike. It's great to just walk 50 feet and put in the boat right at the canal with access to inland or coastal paddling.

This would be a super place for a family with kids -- we enjoyed it as a couple who likes outdoor recreation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brickpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Cabin #16 was super clean, well equipped and towels and sheets were top quality. Nice large outdoor screened lanai with table/chairs and bbq grill. Pack earplugs. Saturday night entertainment in the nearby Rock Bottom Bar plays nearly until 2am. Seems each cabin is privately owned/equipped, so expect inconsistencies. The check-in area is part grocery store/deli/wine/liquor store -- handy for snacks, ice, to-go items. The west entrance to Everglades National Park is directy across the street, but other than a couple of boat rides and an informative NPS staff -- not much to do here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Venetian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I reserved at this location based on Fodor's recommendation and it was a huge disappointemment. They assigned us unit 4A with no view, a double bed, 1 cup, 1 glass (and there were 2 of us) and the lawn furniture on the screened porch was filthy. The website led us to believe it was on the water. The only positive was the proximity to the park boat rides.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agave43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Everglades City hotels

New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed in one of the Glades Haven Resort rentals in mid-January 2012, when I spent a weekend in the Everglades with my husband, my brother and his girlfriend. Our rental didn't look like any of the cabins in the pictures; what we got was actually a three bedroom manufactured home on stilts. We all liked it a lot. It was incredibly clean and comfortable, with a full kitchen and big flat screen tv. The best part of it were the mattresses - they were shockingly comfortable! The location was perfect - smack dab in the middle of the Everglades - with easy access to hiking, fishing and birding.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTBeeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
2.5 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
11.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
22.0 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
1.1 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
635 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ivey House
Ivey House
#1 of 5 in Everglades City
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glades Haven Cozy Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glades Haven Cozy Cabins

Property: Glades Haven Cozy Cabins
Address: 801 South Copeland Ave, Everglades City, FL 34139 (Formerly Miller’s World)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Glades Haven Cozy Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in adventurous comfort! Known world-wide for great fishing, Glades Haven in Everglades City sits nestled on the western edge of Everglades National Park. With accommodations ranging from 1 bedroom duplex cabins, full cabins with kitchenettes to waterfront rental homes, there is something for all ages and every budget. The on-site marina gives instant access to the Gulf and the Bay, and is the only place in the county where you can rent state-of-the-art Sundance boats including a flats boat. we offer a Full service property which includes a restaurant and bar, deli, store, live bait and kayak tours and rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Glades Haven Cozy Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glades Haven Cozy Cabins Hotel Everglades City
Glades Haven Cozy Cabins Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing