We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Tour!”

Captain Jack's Airboat Tours
Ranked #7 of 34 Tours in Everglades City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Go on a thrilling adventure through twisting mangrove tunnels on our signature Everglades airboat tour in Everglades City! Use a coupon on our website to visit our animal sanctuary for free, which includes a live alligator show and alligator hugs. Upgrade to a combo ticket to see more of the Everglades with a grassland airboat tour and swamp buggy forest tour.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Exciting ride through the Mangrove on the airboat. Captain Gary was knowledgeable and entertaining. He was able to get a pelican to land right on the front of our boat several times. Highly recommend taking a tour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeyBelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,498
    369
    84
    33
    36
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Captain jerry.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Jerry was awesome with his mad airboat skills. Had a great time. Will visit soon again and recommend to everyone for sure.

Helpful?
Thank NisargD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You go really fast.. And get splashed ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

So we booked a 10 am ride for 7 of us. We had to drive 2.5 hours to get there. Well worth it.

So we got the the ticket office got our tickets, were given a map to where the boats were. Just down the road. The cashier advised to watch out on what you take with you as you may get wet.

We drove down the road to were our tour was going to take place. My wife, 4 year old daughter and my self were with captain Wesley, and our friends that came with us were with Captain Bobbie.

So the captains gave us our instructions that we will be going really fast, that they do a 360/180 turn that is really fun. Wesley advised that he will try it once, if we like it to look back at him and give a thumbs up. So we got in the boat, they took us to a part to go see some gators. We went under the bridge and came a cross a family of manatees swimming in the bay. Very cool to see. We went up the river to go and find some gators. We found a small one on the side if the river bank.

We left that area and drove to the Everglades tunnel parts. Now this is the cool part. You drive through natural vegetation of the Everglades. The trees on both side Join over top to create a tunnel like atmosphere. So our captain took us through these tunnel like through ways. We would come to a open area and he would do a 360 spin. My family loved it, well I think they did cause they had huge smiles on there faces and were laughing. Every time we did one of these turns i was throwing my thumb up to keep doing more.

So he took us to some more areas and we found a couple more gators. One baby one and one mother who was about 13-15 feet long.

After that we drove us to another open area were we did some more turns and waits for the other boat to come, which had our friends on it. The two drivers like e the boats up and we races backed to the end part were we went back to the docks to finish our tour. Our boat won of course.

I would go on the tour again, if I was to return to florida for another vacation. Captain jacks is a definite tour you want to take. If your there to just see gators, wait for after the air boats as you have free access to a gator farm up the road. If you want a thrill ride to go fast ask for Wesley. I'm sure he will take you on a same tour as my family.

Helpful?
2 Thank SDG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great tour. Captain Mo was knowledgeable and a lot of fun. The tour was a great mix of nature and simply having fun on the boat. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, OH
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ride!! Lauren”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Having never been on an airboat before, we didn't know what to expect. It was a lot more exciting than I thought it would be. We watched the people feed the racoons in the trees. we came up close and personal with an alligator or two. The fast ride through the narrow passages was exciting, especially when we had little room to manuver the turns. The ride was fun and informative. Dwayne, our captain, took pictures of us for our memories. Thank you, Dwayne, for a fun afternoon. It was the highlight of our trip to southern Florida.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank o15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Jack's Airboat Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captain Jack's Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing