We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, dorm-like experience”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2008

The lodge is intimate (11 rooms) with a shared living room and porch, which encouraged us to mingle with the other guests, who were visiting from as far away as Germany. There are also shared bathrooms, which were cleaned and restocked with towels multiple times during the day. Very "old Florida", comfortable vibe. Can't beat it for the money, and we were able to go over to the more expensive Ivey Bed & Breakfast to use their pool, wifi, laundry facilities, and breakfast. Loved the discounts on kayak trip. The mangrove eco-tour is spooky but fun.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BBE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for Ivey House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2008

We stayed three nights at the end of February 2008 and couldn't have been happier. The place was spotless, pool was beautiful. Full breakfast each morning too! We took the Everglades Mangrove Tunnel eco-adventure and it was awesome. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

First let me say that I gave a four star rating to the Ivey house because their staff was always so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. If that had not been the case, they would have received an average rating. We just felt that the owners of Ivey House could put more effort into room details that would set the Inn above its competition. The rooms are very spartan...dated furniture and virtually no wall decoration. The mold on the shower curtain should have been cleaned off and the toilet paper holder looked like it had been stolen out of a public shower. It's disappointing to walk into that after seeing the lovely pool area and inviting lobby. These are not fixes that require a great investment. Of course, we realize that there are few places to stay in the Everglades, so, no need to put much effort into details. Other than that the location is great and it's very convenient to rent kayaks from them. Be sure to take a walk at night and marvel at the stars since there's no light pollution.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee-you08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

As soon as we arrived at the reception desk, we were made to feel welcome. The staff were all pleasant, helpful and polite. Our room was well furnished and faced the pool, which is a real oasis with plants and a waterfall - and even had air jets. It was a little too shallow for taller people but was warm enough. Beds were comfortable, there was a fridge in the room and free wi-fi. Everglades City is lovely - smaller than we expected but really sweet, and people were so friendly. We found loads to do, and the boat trips from the State Park were wonderful. We saw so many birds, alligators, turtles, and dolphins - it was magical. We would certainly stay here again, and recommend it to everyone. It was the best hotel we stayed in out of the four on our two week trip - and the second cheapest!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sussexstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2008

We had a great stay at Ivey House. Our room opened right off the indoor pool area which is beautiful. The breakfast wasn't as good as it should have been. They have a large breakfast and large choice, it just wasn't very tasteful. They do tours right from the lobby. We went on the kayak tour into the Everglades. It was probably the highlight of our trip. Our room was large and clean. The people at the front desk are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2008

We used the Ivey House as a base for a kayak trip into the Everglades and found it had everything we needed. Large comfortable room, good A/C, refrig, tv. It was too cool to enjoy the pool, but it looked very inviting nonetheless. The gift shop was a surprise--no rip-off prices as you so often find at resort locations. Breakfast was great--a good variety of dishes, ample enough for any appetite. The hotel is "green," another plus, especially in an area like the Everglades, which relies so heavily on the natural environment. The staff was friendly, eager to help out with recommendations on what to do and where to go.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

Our family of 4 booked two rooms at the Ivey House during the peak holiday season. To be honest, we booked the rooms first because we wanted to take the Mangrove Tunnel Eco Adventure tour. I figured we'd benefit from the expertise of a guide....and we did. Our kayak trip was one of the highlights of our Fla. vacation. We arrived in Everglades City very early in the morning to catch our kayak full day adventure. Guests receive 20% discount on the tours. When we returned in the late afternoon our rooms were ready for us. We booked our rooms in the original Lodge section of the Ivey House. I knew they were going to be rather spartan from the info. on the website. Their website accurately depicts the property. They were very simple, but they were fine for our one night stay. As long as you don't mind going down the hall to the bathrooms you'll be o.k. There is a very nice lounge area with TV, etc. available for the guests in this part of the house. We took advantage of the pool in the late afternoon. Pool is great. Front desk staff recommended a great dinner restaurant for us. Everglades City is pretty remote. You're not coming here for luxury, but we had a wonderful time exploring this area of the Everglades. Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate: scrambled eggs, potatoes, cereal, juices, fresh fruits, etc. In short: a full hot and cold spread. I think this full buffet is only offered during the winter season. We did have beautiful weather. I would definitely recommend the Ivey House to anyone who enjoys the natural beauty of the Everglades or to those who wish to explore it for the first time. The front desk staff is very informative.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.7 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range: £69 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing