We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful a little gem”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful a little gem”
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We only stayed here 1 night and wished it had been 2 then we could have taken a little more advantage of the facilities and area.

The rooms were large and clean with comfortable beds. The pool was perfect to relax in after a day of travelling.

The staff were helpful and recomended the Camelia Street Grill for dinner. Took their recomendation headed down and had a fantastic evening eating drinking and soaking up the atmosphere. The ribs that my husband had were very scrummy. I opted for grouper which was fab too.

Breakfast was plentiful although I had hoped for a cooked one, as we went 'off season' it'c continental.

Tempted to go back and take in one of their canoe tours, again not running 'off season' due to midges.

  • Liked — Location and pool
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettlesaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    396
    85
    20
    12
See reviews for
307
559
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We spend 2 nice nights in this hotel.
When we went, the B and B part was closed, only remained open the Inn.
The room was nice and included a fridge.
Breakfast was also nice, including toasts fruits, yogurt as well as eggs, and hot/cold beverages.
The only thing we did not appreciate was the fountain inside the pool: this fountain made a big noise, even when the pool is closed, so prefer a room in the B&B when opened rather than the Inn.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Valeriegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We booked here over the Memorial Day weekend after reading great reviews at TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed! Our room was big and clean, with refrigerator, cable tv, and free WiFi. Despite all rooms facing the pool, we were not disturbed at all by noise. I've scanned the room # floorplan, so check out my photos.

We traveled with our 6 and 9 year old, and they loved the pool, which is screened and about 4 feet at the deepest. A wonderful respite for all of us after muggy buggy days exploring the surrounding parks.

Breakfast is included and was continental this time of year (winter is high season), but offered cereals, toasts, oatmeal, fresh fruit and a variety of items.

This seems to clearly be the best place to stay in town. Everglades City is adorable and small. Right next door is Speedy Johnson's Airboat rides. What a thrill! I'm a Florida native and thought this was better than a trip to Disney just for this experience. We saw Manatees and flew through the mangrove forests. Awesome!

The staff at the hotel was helpful and nice. The gift shop is nice, but check out the State Park ranger station for better prices on books.

Overall a great experience. It's Old Florida at it's truest!

  • Liked — Nice rooms, friendly staff, free WiFi
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MySheWasYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STUART
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

We booked two nights at the Ivey House for our 30th anniversary. We had never been to Everglades city before. The Ivey House was fantastic. The room we had had 2 queen beds a small refrigerator and was extremely clean. As we had never been there before we weren't sure where to start but the employees of the Ivey House went above and beyond to find out our likes and steered us in the right direction. They answered all of our many questions and offered us many suggestions. They also serve a continental breakfast of bagels, bread for toasting, english muffins, coffee, juice, milk, tea, cold cereal, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs and different fruits. We really enjoyed our stay and will definately return and recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Liked — freindly, clean, close to everything
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaFlatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We spent two nights at the Ivey House in March. We were very satisfied with the stay and highly recommend it to other people visiting Everglades City, a small, peaceful town. The women at check-in could not have been more helpful. They gave us a map and described all the area restaurants and interesting things to do. There was lots of information available about local attractions, showcases of natural materials, and games in the lobby. We had booked a sunset kayak trip and it turned out that we were the only two people. The set-in spot was a short drive in a van with trailer for the kayaks. The guide was excellent- very friendly and knowledgeable about what we were seeing. We paddled through mangrove tunnels and across several small lakes. It was not physically very difficult, but lots of fun. At sunset we watched many birds fly in to roost on a large tree. On the paddle back, headlamps were provided and we could see the glowing eyes of the alligators! Really cool.
Our room was large, with two queen beds, ceramic tile floor, ceiling fan, refrigerator, etc. It was very clean. One of the towels was torn, but there were others to use. The pool area was screened in and had a small water fall. Very pleasant. They did close it up prior to the posted closing of 10:00. The breakfast was great, there were some differences between the two days- but lots cut up fruit, bagels, eggs, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, etc. All of the guests were friendly and talked about things to do in the area.

  • Liked — Staff was very friendly
  • Disliked — pool closed early, towels should be replaced
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cindywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

After finding the Ivey House on Tripadvisor, booked and emailed back and forth with them on booking tours.

Stayed two nights Mar 28-30, the Ivey House is a great base, large for a B&B (about 30 rooms), but very friendly staff and great care and attention to detail.

Everglades City was full of warm and friendly folk, as "un-city" at you could imagine given you are only 80 minutes or so from Miami.

The Mangrove tunnel kayak tour was great, fantastic to see both North and South of US41 (one side fresh water, the other brackish, with mangroves.

Speedy Johnson tours (and Captain Shannon) highly recommended.

Camellia Grill had great food, fantastic salad vegetables....service very slow, but hey, be ready for it and soak up the atmosphere.

Will definitey return, likely next winter for a multi day kayak excursion.

  • Liked — Very well maintained and up to date buildings, excellent service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TomCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

The lodge is intimate (11 rooms) with a shared living room and porch, which encouraged us to mingle with the other guests, who were visiting from as far away as Germany. There are also shared bathrooms, which were cleaned and restocked with towels multiple times during the day. Very "old Florida", comfortable vibe. Can't beat it for the money, and we were able to go over to the more expensive Ivey Bed & Breakfast to use their pool, wifi, laundry facilities, and breakfast. Loved the discounts on kayak trip. The mangrove eco-tour is spooky but fun.

  • Liked — Simplicity, cleanliness, "Old Florida" atmosphere, pool, and location
  • Disliked — WiFi was only in the B&B, not the lodge
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BBE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.8 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
625 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Property: Ivey House
Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing