We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
“Great place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and we really appreciated it. The staff is friendly and professional. We feel they want us to enjoy our stay. The breakfast was very good. We took the Adventure package and enjoyed all the activities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Nathalie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    389
    83
    20
    12
See reviews for
301
547
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broomall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Went in the summer when most id closed by still got to explore the environment. The accommodations were modern (so many lights!) and comfortable. Outside the room was an inside pool open to the air by netted for mosquitoes. The continental breakfast was good as well. Didn't have much interaction with the staff but they were responsive to questions and recommendations. Food around town was less than horrible. Best place seemed to be back on US 41 east a few miles. Ivey House is convenient to three entrances to Everglades National Park. Take a boat ride out into the 10,000 islands, walk a boardwalk across the Big Cypress Swamp, take a canoe up river into the glades. It's all there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Accountable4All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ivey House, for visiting the Everglades and our little "oasis". We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself and the many eco-adventures throughout the Everglades. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.


Our Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Rooms are older, but clean. The pool is small, but our family enjoyed it. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially planning our sight-seeing of the Everglades. The breakfast is just okay. The oatmeal was terrible...someone needs to tell the cook how to make oatmeal. How can you mess it up? Apparently you can. But over-all we had a pleasant stay and would recommend the Ivey House as a place to stay. Quiet and peaceful, but it was the off-season.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldiva1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Excellent all round. Andy and Scott made a great effort to help us plan our short trip to the Everglades, and gave us a very positive experience. Russell, the kayak guide was superb: knowledgable, helpful and friendly...an excellent introduction to one of America's few remaining wildernesses.Please preserve it, it's a wonderful and very special place.

Room Tip: All good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrF808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts of your recent stay. To put it simply, your feedback encompasses exactly what we strive to offer - a fantastic stay in one of the world's forgotten beauties - the Everglades. We will absolutely do everything we can to continue to preserve this treasure we call Everglades City, and look forward to welcoming you back.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel is beautiful and perfect for our stay in Everglades City. I am so glad we picked The Ivey House! It is beautifully decorated and the location is adjacent to everything we needed. The waterfalls and plants around the pool were so beautiful and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasLee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We are both thrilled and flattered! Thank you for your kind words. We strive to always give our guests an amazing experience while visiting Everglades City.
We hope to have you back!

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We are a family of 4, with teenage boys. We had booked the Ivey House in Everglades City as part of our road trip around Florida - the Everglades for us was on the bucket list.
From the moment we contacted the Ivey House to minute we left they couldn't have been more helpful.
We wanted to get in amongst nature whilst there & they organised our Eco Tour for us. A 4 hour kayak paddle with an experienced guide & an hours thrilling air boat ride - Perfect. We even booked our packed lunches at the same time!
The hotel is lovely & once inside you feel safe in the mosquito free zone ! Even the swimming pool area is protected. I loved the attention to detail. Inside was clean cool & a little quirky which we loved.
Everglades is a v quiet "city" & the restaurants close by 9pm. Coming from Europe we were still trying to get our heads around how early the American's eat dinner. So don't get caught out. The hotel again is very helpful & there is a book which visitors complete about the local restauarants. Worth reading that before choosing where you are going.
We were up early the next morning for our kayaking excursion (v excited !) & were pleasantly surprised that they had laid on a continetal breakfast for us, so we started our day pleasantly full.
As we were on the tour we didnt have to vacate our rooms so early which allowed us to come back & shower before we headed off - a throughful & much appreciated gesture.
The Eco tour was fantastic as everyone else has said. Its a MUST if you visit this sleepy little city.
If we ever visit Everglades City again there is no where else I would want to stay. It's highly recommended by us :)

Room Tip: We had a room within the hotel & near to the pool, it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xhe1d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We couldn't be more pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Ivey House. If your travels ever bring you back to southern Florida, we would be honored to welcome you back.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a great place to spend few days... Everyone was welcoming, the owner himself came and met all the guests at breakfast. Even though we came quite late with no reservation, the front desk clerk was very helpful, even provided roll-up beds...
Rooms are pleasant and comfortable, the pool is small, but OK for a short swim. Breakfast is more or less continental, but with selection of salamis, cheeses, cereal and juices.. And the coffee is good (by European standards :)).
The hotel is located near the place, where all the boats for Everglades start, next to a gas station, which is open till 11 p.m.
Be aware - Everglades City is a small town, most of the restaurants close by 9 p.m.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
The Captain's Table Lodge
The Captain's Table Lodge
#2 of 2 in Everglades City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glades Haven Cozy Cabins
Glades Haven Cozy Cabins
#5 of 5 in Everglades City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Property: Ivey House
Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing