We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night tour with troy”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A lifetime experiance to have a private tour with my love (and troy) into the sunset of the everglades.
Airboat is fun and adrenaline ... But exploring this unique piece on earth by canoe and finaly search for gators in the night is burned into our souls and hearts forever.
Thanks to troy and the ivy house team to make this possible

Andi and Claire from Switzerland

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. The evening kayak tours are definitely an experience like none-other! We look forward to having the honor of welcoming you back to the Ivey House and Everglades City!


All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for Ivey House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

To call this a B&B is far from the truth. The rooms are arranged around a courtyard/pool. They are clean and spacious, just like any good hotel/motel. This isn't a old house converted to a B&B, not quaint or homey.
Some of the staff was fantastic (Troy couldnt be nicer or more helpful) but some people at the front counter never smiled or looked like they were happy to see you.
The breakfast was horrible. Watery oatmeal, terrible coffee. Everything was self serve, we have had far better Comfort/Holiday Inn food.
B&B's are known for home-cooked, fantastic breakfasts (try Cedar Key, FL B&B) and this wasn't it. We have plenty of B&B experience and know the difference.
For the money and convienence it's a good value, but eat out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations - as we do not fit into the mold of what is commonly referred to as a "bed & breakfast". Troy is a wonderful team member, and we are so glad that you enjoyed his hospitality. Please accept our apologies once again.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Ivey House has great rooms, the best continental breakfast I've ever had in a hotel, a beautiful pool that is screened in from mosquitoes and a super friendly staff. I stayed here for two night to visit the glades, and couldn't have been more comfortable with one exception: the entire place is screened-in from the bugs, which is great, but there is no smoker-friendly screened-in area. It was only a minor inconvenience to smoke in the parking lot, but a small smoker zone away from the mosquitoes would have made this the perfect place. For non-smokers, I'd say its probably as close to perfect as you'll find in the glades.

Room Tip: While I visited here, the entire B&B was quiet, but I wouldn't be surprised if the rooms sur...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russellmania77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

One night stay for short everglades birding trip. Clean, comfortable, and staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about area birding spots. Handicapped accessibility was particularly good. Definitely planning to stay here again and hopefully for more than one night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for sharing such kind remarks! We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had just a stay for one night during our "two weeks Florida tour", but we ware absolutely happy!
Very friendly, clean and closest to all Everglades activities you want to join.
Coffee for breakfast could be better - but you can choose tea instead ...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faennafets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was one the nice place we just stay for one nice in the off season. Pool area is very clean a nice place to relax and the wif is better out in this area .
Customer Service Desk very friendly and making sure Your Stay Is Great

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This property surprised me by how courteous, pleasant, and how down to earth everyone was. The property was well maintained, rooms airy, comfortable with furniture situated conveniently in the room. I felt that it offered me exactly what I was looking for in a rather remote location. The front desk went out of there way to offer any assistance I needed for booking an airboat excursion, as well as suggesting restaurants in the community. I would go back to this property in the future if I'm ever down in the Everglades again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailingalbvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.7 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range: £69 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing