We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good getaway”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Sorry I couldn't spend more time in the area. These folks were super nice and I was very comfortable. I will stay again if in the area. By the way I they were tied in with a canoe outfitter so they can set up trips into the Everglades. It was also walking distance to a couple places to eat.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms around the pool area with tables outside the door. Great for reading and the am cu...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your review! We hope you do get the opportunity to visit Everglades City again in the future, and that we have the distinct honor of welcoming you back!

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for Ivey House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Overall, our stay here was wonderful with just a couple of negatives. We decided to stay at the Ivey House after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We made the reservation for the room on line because you could get a small discount on the room. Then we phoned to reserve a spot on the morning kayak tour the following morning. The room appeared to be clean, but it had a very odd odor. It was like a mix of a heavy cleaning solution with the odor of mold. We opened the window to try to air it out, and then decided that maybe we should run the a.c. instead. It didn't go away, so we asked the front desk people to check it out. they said it was the odor of cleaning solution. We got used to the odor, but I did wake up with a headacke which is extremely rare for me and a slight sore throat. The towels smelled of mildew. No staff was there until 6:30 a.m. so it wasn't possible to try to get clean towels with our need to have breakfast and be ready for the tour.
There was free Wi-Fi which was nice.
The breakfast offerings were perfect - oatmeal (not watery as noted by another reviewer), fresh melon and oranges cut up, different types of breads and bagles, cereals, juices, cheeses, sliced tomatoes, yogurt, coffee, tea, milk. It was all fresh and the eating area was very clean.
We took the 7:30 a.m. tour with Dillon. He was very attentive, accomodating and was very familiar with the ecosystem of the Everglades. It was clear that he enjoys his work.
Overall, it was a really great 24 hour getaway that we enjoyed and will remember for many years.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge which has a private bathroom in each room. The rooms surround a small swimmi...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rward2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Please allow us to apologize for the condition of the room - of course we always want to offer the most clean guestrooms, but never at the expense of our guest's comfort.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay regardless - in particular, your kayak tour! We hope you look back on your memories fondly for many years to come. Should your travels bring you back to the western Everglades, we would be honored to welcome you back.

Our Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband, 12-year old daughter, and myself spent two nights at Ivey House, Thanksgiving weekend. The motel offers a clean place to stay, convenient location and continental breakfast in the morning. Having stayed at other venues in the area, I can definitely say you aren't going to get any better than the Ivey House. It's not the Ritz-Carlton, but for Everglades City, it's best in class!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHM819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We liked this place. Would stay here again. The staff was very responsive to our every need. Great location to get around town and out into the parks. Good continental breakfast in the morning. Room was big enough for us to spread out all of our gear. The best part of Ivey House--for those of you who want to kayak--is that you can book everything right at the front desk in the lobby and meet your courier or guide there to go out. Boat rentals and guided tours are discounted for guests.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

The highest of compliments in the hotel business is to have a guest say that they would come back! We feel pretty lucky to have such great accessibility to the wonderful nature of the Everglades. We would be honored to welcome you back as return guests very soon.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I purely booked this as it seemed that the location was right and the reviews were good but I was slightly apprehensive that it was only a 2 star - however definitely worried for nothing! I don't know what I could have missed but I cannot for the life of me work out why this isn't a 3 star as it easily has all the usual requirements, location, service, facilities etc.

There was nothing you could fault with the service or the room and the breakfast was really nice with plenty of choice. They also have a well designed pool area that was sort of outdoors with the rooms surrounding it but seemed to be completely protected with a mosquito net.

Also very importantly they ran all the tours from here and the tour guide we had was great.

If I really had to find a fault - I suppose a bar would have made it perfect!

Room Tip: I remember when booking there are some rooms without a private bathroom so definitely check that.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We couldn't be more pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Our Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Heading west from Florida's east coast to Everglades City is like traveling to a different country. In fact the pace is so slow that watching the grass grow is almost an Olympic event & the Ivey House is indicative of that. I don't know if their police department is really necessary but they actually stop to say good morning to you! The front desk is very knowledgeable on local activities. There are two separate buildings of rooms. The one we stayed in is the original lodge house where workers that built the Tamiami Trail stayed. More spartan than the inn but comfortable. Nice indoor pool to cool off in after an air boat ride in 100 degree temps & 100% humidity. Very nice gift shop that offers camping items. A free breakfast is included but I suggest having a cup of coffee & a glass of OJ then driving three miles south to Chokoloskee Island & enjoy a real breakfast @ the Havana Cafe. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodge house but be prepared to share male/female communal facilities. This also saves y...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoLoRaDoSkY1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This inn is very nice, clean and well maintained. It was nice and quiet and Speedys air boat tours next door is great. We would recommend this as a place to stop when you are in the everglades for a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your recommendation! We truly feel that we have a great little place to call 'home' here in the Everglades! We hope to welcome you back soon.


All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.7 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range: £68 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing