We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place ”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place ”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel for a 2 star. Large rooms with bathrooms right in the middle of the park. Very helpful staff as well, happy to advise on what to do.
Parking right in front, the drive from Miami is about two to three hours

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 963BStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    403
    85
    20
    12
See reviews for
312
566
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

A quick turn down 29south led to a neat home like place where you didn't feel like a tourist. Great breakfast...wonderful staff..clean clean rooms..and lots to do...for me the airboat through the everglades was a hoot!
An overnight turned into a mini 2 day adventure...

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Sometimes the tiniest exploration brings the most unexpected surprises. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Ivey House and the western Everglades. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Our Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ivey House and would easily go back. The room was clean and comfortable, albeit a bit small. They had a really nice gift shop in the lobby, and good breakfast every morning. The pool was right outside our door, and really liked that even with kids playing, our room stayed quiet. Also with only one floor there was no one above us to make a bunch of noise on the ceiling. A tiny bit expensive for what we got, but it was high season.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I knew that our Lodge room would not have a private bathroom and I was AOK with that. What I was expecting was two large communal bathrooms like in a college dorm. When I arrived I found that 12 rooms share - for the women - two communal sinks and two stalls that each contain a shower and toilet. So, if two women are showering, you don't even have an available toilet! I think the men's facilities may have been larger but when we were at the Ivey House, the majority of the guests were women - and accommodations were full! The rooms are tiny and very basic - you would probably find better in a Motel 6 (and I'm not talking about lack of TV, which was fine with us). Also, the walls are paper-thin (fortunately, we had a 'white-noise' app on our phone to drown out our neighbors' conversations - the only hope of getting to sleep). Breakfast was cold eggs and cold oatmeal (in addition to some continental breakfast items). We paid extra for the kayak trip and our group included 12 people - causing long waits for so many kayaks to get through the very narrow mangrove tunnels. There MUST be a better accommodations and tours for that portion of the Everglades - which we absolutely loved (except for the Ivey House, obviously).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are so very sorry that we left you disappointed with your recent experience at The Ivey House. The Lodge is a historic building that does offer a rustic lodging experience, but after reviewing your comments, we will be reworking the website to more appropriately describe this facility. Please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectations.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the Everglades - it is a very special habitat, and even though you did not enjoy The Ivey House, we hope you might visit the Everglades again.


Our Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This place is a gem. If you can, it's well worth paying the extra few dollars to stay here, conveniently placed in the Everglades City and within walking distance of several good eating places. We wished we had booked up for more nights but it was full, so book we'll ahead!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseygym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We truly feel that we have a little gem here in the Everglades and are so pleased that you enjoyed it as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

You can find Iveys house in the middle of the Everglades. And yes, that is a plus. For this plus you have to pay some more Dollars for a night. Sleep comfort of the beds is good, rooms are clean and staff is friendly, but somehow paying 100 Dollars for a room with a few beds in there and common showers feel a bit expensive. Then again, you are in the middle of the Glades. On a very positive note, this was one hotel that offered a good breakfast with the stay. You will enjoy that. Excursions can be booked from the hotel, but again the price in such a touristic spot is quite high. Knowledge of the area and options are extensive.
As an alternative it is possible to hop down to a camp site to really have the Everglades feeling. If you want to have more comfort and a breakfast in the morning that is already prepared for you, this hotel might be your spot.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a wonderful place to 'chill out', of which we did, wholeheartedly! Great room, great and friendly service. Anything you want or need, they are there to help out. It was a great find and we enjoyed our 4 days there with side trips around the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englandswings123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.7 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
636 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Property: Ivey House
Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing