We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everglades- and fashioned outpost”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everglades- and fashioned outpost”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here as a base for an everglades tour. Our room was in the lodge ( hostel style with shared bathroom) which was good. Room was clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were also clean with good showers. Breakfast was included which was good quality. The staff are helpful and friendly. We also did the morning kayak tour with Troy which was very pleasant- lots of bird life and alligators to be seen. Also a few good restaurants near by on the water. We would recommend this place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChickyandTheCavefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and are very appreciative of your recommendation.

Our Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    403
    85
    20
    12
See reviews for
312
566
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed in a two queen bed room for two nights. The room was spacious and plenty of places to put away and hang clothes. Bedding was fine. Beds firm but comfortable. Bathroom quite small and towels were not the best quality. Sitting poolside in the afternoon was very relaxing. Breakfast was self serve buffet style. Eggs and meat....pretty typical hotel style. Nice oatmeal, plenty of breads and cold cereal to choose. Some yogurt and fruit. Nothing very special about it, but a good selection that will get you off to a good morning start. It looked about the nicest place in a VERY little town so I guess we got what we paid for. OK place to stay. Everglades National Park. Check that off my bucket list!

Room Tip: If you are looking to see the National Park, this is a good place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are so pleased that we could help you check The Everglades off your bucket list, and that you enjoyed your stay while at The Ivey House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

(I just read the negative reviews and wonder if those folks stayed in the same place.) This was our second trip to the Ivey House. Because we try to be environmentally conscious, we value the effort made at the Ivey House to be that way also. The recycling effort is commendable. The manager is a hoot...very friendly and funny. The desk personnel were kind enough to try and find a large sized shirt that I wanted...at 8p.
My only complaint is with not having the room floor swept/mopped daily.
We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvcomposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are just thrilled that you love The Ivey House, and can't thank you enough for your continued patronage. It is true - sometimes we do not live up the expectations of our guests (despite our very best efforts), but we are proud of the traditional Old Florida experience that we offer....after all - it's about the outdoors and the unspoiled nature surrounding us.

We would be honored to welcome you back again in the very near future!


All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Although advertised as a bed & breakfast, it seemed to be a privately run motel. Our room was large and cool on a very hot day. Staff were always helpful suggesting restaurants etc, pool was small but welcome and I used the reasonably priced laundry room during our two night stay. Breakfast was good, and being included in the price made for a really good deal. If we are ever in Florida again i would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Ivey House. Because all the rooms were booked, we stayed in their small cottage. It was very clean, air conditioned, with a cute decor. We loved sitting out on the screened porch in the evening. A wonderful free breakfast was included we saved money by buying and preparing our own meals during our 2 day stay. We also bought several items to wear in their gift shop, and enjoyed chatting over breakfast with some guests from Germany. Would absolutely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redsumac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are simply thrilled that you enjoyed the cottage and your stay at The Ivey House - the cottage is such a special place on the property and offers a wonderful Everglades experience. Your recommendation is very much appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Accommodation was good and fairly priced. Breakfast good too with a good selection and nice room. Reception weary helpful Screened swimming pool. The evening kayak was a fantastic trip. Going through the tunnels in the dark seeing heaps of wildlife. Recommended to all. Also took the speedos airboat tour which was not as environmentally correct but was fun. The driver did not understand why he can't feed the Alligators marshmallows any more while another driver spoke about disturbing an alligator. That aside it was fun, but the kayaking was by far the best

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had too short of a stay but the hotel was fine with a large clean room and a nice pool right outside the door. The breakfast was good with eggs and fresh fruit. The kayak trip the hotel arranged into a mangrove area was great with a very good guide. Would return for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grover33Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your visit, your kayak trip, and the accommodations at The Ivey House. It would be a privilege to welcome you back very soon.

Our Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.7 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
636 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Property: Ivey House
Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing