We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but pricey”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice stay but pricey”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent just one night in this hotel and everything went fine, but the is definitely overpriced for what we had.
Indeed the room are clean and comfy, but old
you do have the breakfast included but the scrambled eggs were overcooked and the rest was just ok
there is free wifi ... in the pool area, not in the room.

Anyway our stay was very good and the staff is helpful. The surroundings are wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricca72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    404
    85
    20
    12
See reviews for
313
566
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We booked the basic cabin and it was very good value for money. The rooms (lowest rate) are basic but very nice and clean! Also the shared bathroom, pool and living area are in very good and clean condition. Only downside: the aircon was pretty loud. I would definitely book it again!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveHolidays2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We (two adults and boys aged 13 and11) stayed in the cottage at The Ivey - detached building just behind inn with two bedrooms, bathroom , kitchen and screened in porch. Very small but cute and comfortable. Maid service daily as in the main hotel and buffet breakfast included which was fine but not that exciting. The staff are pleasant and helpful and it's a good base for exploring in the Everglades. Quite pricey though but most of the lodgings seem to be. Restaurants mixed bag and some also expensive for what they are. Kayaking trip through sister company fantastic. Bicycling at Shark Valley ditto plus boys loved the airboat ride. Whole place has very laid back vibe. Saw many gators and birds. Plenty of outdoor opportunities for the adventurous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliW058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lovely room, helpful staff, great location (for Everglades!).

Didn't know what would get here but had high expectations given the previous reviews. They still managed to exceed them.

We aren't the sort of people to go out into the wilderness every weekend but the kayak trip arranged with the hotel was outstanding and gives you such a unique view of the Everglades.

Although later in the trip we stayed in a 5 star top hotel, I genuinely enjoyed staying here the most.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boombang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so very much for sharing your very warm review! Lovely room, helpful staff, great location.....this is exactly what we strive to be while maintaining the authenticity of our old Florida roots. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself and your stay in the Everglades. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.


All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This review would have gotten 5 stars if not for the price. My daughter and I stayed in a room with a private bathroom which was very pricey. We do understand this because there are limited choices in Everglades City, but it was just a little too much. Otherwise, we love Ivey House!!! It really feels like home. The service was amazing and we even got a map of Everglades City with restaurants and attractions. The woman who checked us in even remembered my daughter's birthday, which was the next day, and wished her a happy one when she saw her at breakfast the next morning. The room was incredibly clean and came with a lovely heart made of towels. The rooms around an indoor pool was a great idea. It increases the thought that you are right at home. I also highly recommended the kayak tours. They are an once in a lifetime experience. The Ivey House is by far the best choice in Everglades City.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MellerFeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I would rate it 5 star but it is very misleading to call it a BnB.

The breakfast reminded me of a typical free breakfast you get at a chain off the interstate otherwise the place was nice.

Very nice room/

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jonpfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our three day stay the first week of April, 2014 at the Ivey House was pleasant, but it wasn't quite what we expected. The beds were clean for the most part, excluding the stained mattress pad on one of them. The double bed room was smaller than we expected, as well as the bathroom, especially for a family of (3) adults. The breakfast was a nice touch each day, but they could offer a little more variety (e.g grits, turkey meat products, better variety of fresh fruit, pineapples, apples, bananas., etc).

The complete package with the excursions and box lunch was a good deal.

KC Family

Room Tip: If you are not concerned about cost, then ask for a larger room it you have more than two adults, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonitasolana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.7 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
638 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Property: Ivey House
Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing