We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Thank you, Ivey House, for providing us with a home away from home from which to have a spectacular up close and personal visit to the Everglades! The staff, the accommodations, the breakfast variety, and our mangrove kayak tour guide, Troy, were all excellent! Highly recommended on all counts!
Robie & Lynn, Tallahassee

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyvisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
The pleasure was certainly all ours! We are just thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are flattered to be recommended so highly.
We hope we have the privilege of welcoming you back again very soon.


All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    389
    83
    20
    12
See reviews for
301
547
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We fish in the 10,000 islands 2-3 times / year. We have stayed at the Ivy House 5-6 times in the past. At the end of a hot day we want hotel staff that are friendly, and more than willing to accommodate. There is a washer / dryer on site. Eating out can be pricy....so we brought food and they willingly warmed in kitchen. Room service was good, timely, and trustworthy. The pool area is well kept. We have our reservations for July already made - Great experience. MT

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed two nights in a king bed room in the Inn. After several nights in smaller rooms it was great to have all the space offered at the Ivey House. Pricewise it was in line with some of the other places we stayed and was one of the nicest. Everyone we encountered at the reception desk were friendly and helpful. We did book a canoe trip with I'll review separately and do highly recommend. Location wise it its great for visiting the Gulf Coast VC of the National Park and for Big Cypress. They do have a pool although we did not use it. They also have guest laundry facility which came in very handy after my husband took an unexpected dip into the waters of the Everglades. There is a TV in the room and the wireless internet worked best just outside the room by the pool. They conveniently have tables and chairs set up all around the pool area. Breakfast is nothing to write home about but that is pretty standard for the buffet style offerings. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windycitytraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent just one night in this hotel and everything went fine, but the is definitely overpriced for what we had.
Indeed the room are clean and comfy, but old
you do have the breakfast included but the scrambled eggs were overcooked and the rest was just ok
there is free wifi ... in the pool area, not in the room.

Anyway our stay was very good and the staff is helpful. The surroundings are wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricca72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We booked the basic cabin and it was very good value for money. The rooms (lowest rate) are basic but very nice and clean! Also the shared bathroom, pool and living area are in very good and clean condition. Only downside: the aircon was pretty loud. I would definitely book it again!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveHolidays2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We (two adults and boys aged 13 and11) stayed in the cottage at The Ivey - detached building just behind inn with two bedrooms, bathroom , kitchen and screened in porch. Very small but cute and comfortable. Maid service daily as in the main hotel and buffet breakfast included which was fine but not that exciting. The staff are pleasant and helpful and it's a good base for exploring in the Everglades. Quite pricey though but most of the lodgings seem to be. Restaurants mixed bag and some also expensive for what they are. Kayaking trip through sister company fantastic. Bicycling at Shark Valley ditto plus boys loved the airboat ride. Whole place has very laid back vibe. Saw many gators and birds. Plenty of outdoor opportunities for the adventurous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliW058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lovely room, helpful staff, great location (for Everglades!).

Didn't know what would get here but had high expectations given the previous reviews. They still managed to exceed them.

We aren't the sort of people to go out into the wilderness every weekend but the kayak trip arranged with the hotel was outstanding and gives you such a unique view of the Everglades.

Although later in the trip we stayed in a 5 star top hotel, I genuinely enjoyed staying here the most.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boombang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Ivey House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so very much for sharing your very warm review! Lovely room, helpful staff, great location.....this is exactly what we strive to be while maintaining the authenticity of our old Florida roots. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself and your stay in the Everglades. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.


All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
The Captain's Table Lodge
The Captain's Table Lodge
#2 of 2 in Everglades City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glades Haven Cozy Cabins
Glades Haven Cozy Cabins
#5 of 5 in Everglades City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Property: Ivey House
Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing