We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit”
Review of Ivey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivey House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Everglades City is not for every one and it can be different at different times of the year. I hear the Seafood Festival in mid February brings in more than 60 thousand people, great food and great music. Mostly, however, it is a sleepy little town reminiscent of what Florida probably was like before it became condo-ized. I couldn't find a bank or a supermarket though there might be one hidden somewhere. There is a hardware store that supposedly has a bit of everything. What I like about Everglades City is that it is by natural beauty. There are great places to kayak, canoe, fish, hikesurrounded and learn about the unique ecology of the area. It is also easy to walk to restaurants or a nice sunset water view.

Now to the the Ivey House. Its a pleasant (not fancy) inn that is conducive to meeting other people (from all over the world) as you can have a nice filling breakfast each morning in their relaxed group dining room. They are also eco-outfitters with a great selection of kayaks, canoes and guided tours. We went up the Turner River with John as our guide - he was incredibly informative and entertaining. We also went on our own into Chokoloskee Bay where we saw dolphins and manatees. How cool. The Ivey House is a great base for a winter get away when you want to do something interesting and outdoorsy. Everyone there is extremely helpful and pleasant. Prices are reasonable but not inexpensive (in the inn). We found it a good value.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pegnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2009

Room in annexe constructed similar to those found at State Parks built under the New Deal programme. Room was fairly spacious and the use of shared toilet facilities did not present a problem during our stay. Hot buffet breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the area and the excursions available..

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldtravellerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds are nice. The lobby and surrounding areas are nicely decorated. The pool looks great and felt heated, although I did not swim. We stayed one night in the Inn, where you have a private bath. (We had planned to stay two nights.) For $170 a night I would like to be more pampered. The best part of the room was the bed. The bed was very comfortable. But the bathroom left a lot to be desired. There was no bar soap, only liquid. There was no body lotion. The shower head was terrible. I like the water to come out with a steady and broad flow. The sink did not drain properly and the stopper did not work. The breakfast was just okay. There was a nice variety of foods. The eggs were cold and dry. The fresh fruit was sour. I would have liked larger napkins. The tea and coffee were delicious. We were very disappointed. The website made it all sound so nice. I would have been more satisified if the room had only cost $100 a night.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heidimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IveyHouse, Managerial Assistant at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2009

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying with us! I apologize that you had a negative experience but please rest assured that we are doing everything possible to address your concerns.

We were the first hotel in Collier County to be designated “green lodging”. We made the decision to reduce the consumption of natural resources by going to liquid soap, as opposed to individual bars of soap and shampoo/conditioner. Along the same line, we use water efficient shower heads and faucets to conserve water. Our housekeeping staff has checked the stoppers in our rooms in order to assure that they work properly. Thank you for bringing this to our attention!

We are reviewing the hot breakfast buffet in order to assure that our selections are the freshest and best available. As far as the size of breakfast napkins goes, again, this is part of our desire to be as “green” as possible and keep wastage to a minimum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

I skimmed the most recent reviews and was surprised at the differences of opinion, especially since I probably crossed paths with one of the reviewers---I stayed at the Inn over Christmas.

I'll say right away that I knew a stay in EC was going to be pricey, but did my homework and opted for the Ivey House as last year, on a one day visit during a drive across to Sanibel, I checked out accommodations. I was glad I chose the Ivey. I wanted to do some kayaking and take a boat trip and just enjoy the location, which is just what staying at the Ivey allowed me to do.

My room was fine, my decorations and furnishings were certainly not ageing (though I stayed in the newer part of the complex, not the original). Clean towels, spotless empty fridge, comfortable bed and cable tv, which I appreciated. I did brave the pool one day, it was on the chilly side but I still managed a few laps.

Breakfast was filling--a godsend if you're about to head off on a kayak trip. The staff were knowledgable about everything, especially the restaurant openings on Christmas Day. I did a kayak trip on Christmas and it was spectacular, despite the odd sun shower, the prefect way to spend the day. Our guide was wonderfully accommodating---as I had a fractured shin and needed to enter and exit my kayak carefully, but still managed thr trip with no problems at all!

I ate at the Rod and Gun Club (interesting), the Seafood Depot (great mahi mahi on Christmas) and opted for a Subway my last night after a great sunset cruise through the 10,000 islands. Havana House, down the road, does a great cafe con leche and Cuban sandwich as well.

I don't know if I will stay in the area again anytime soon (I'd like to see the eastern part of the park, which is fuerter away) but I sure had a wonderful time on this trip! But remember, you are in the Everglades. It is quiet---and beautiful---but definitely not a big city. If you're OK with that, you should have a fine stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kittygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IveyHouse, Managerial Assistant at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2009

We enjoyed having you as a guest as much as you enjoyed your stay with us! I was definitely impressed at your kayaking in spite of a broken leg.

I wanted to let you know that I looked into the temperature of our pool. We have replaced the in-pool thermometer and increased the temperature from 80° F to 82° F. Thank you for bringing this to our attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

The hotel is probably the best of a very bad selection in Everglades City. It is not cheap for what you get and the prices can only be justified by the absolute lack of competition in the town. We stayed there three days last week. The pool was cold, not heated at all (the staff claimed that it was maintained at 80 degrees, I measured 69).

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Egiteko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IveyHouse, Managerial Assistant at Ivey House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2009

I am sorry that your experience with us was not what you expected. I wanted to let you know that I have looked into your concerns and addressed them. We are a “green” lodging and because of this maintain our pool at what may be a slightly lower temperature than some other hotels. We strive to keep our use of natural resources as low as possible. We have since replaced the in-pool thermometer and increased the temperature from 80° F to 82° F. Thank you for bringing this to

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

Not a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelingRetirees60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

We were not as impressed with the Ivey House as other guests and can not understand everyone’s raving reviews about it. The staff were really friendly and helpful and gave plenty of advice on what to do and where to go but forgot to tell us how to get back into the accommodation after going out for our evening meal – they lock the main door after 9pm and we spent a good 10 mins wondering where we were actually going to spend the night.

Another funny situation was that we tried to check in 15 mins before the 4pm check in time and was told that our room was not ready. This was not a problem and we proceeded to wait by the pool, however as soon as we sat down a member of staff came over to tell us the room was ready. It felt they were being awkward as we were slightly to early to check in. When we got to the room we checked out the fridge to find a used take-away box with the remnants of a steak with garlic sauce, our room didn't smell too pleasant after opening it up.

The room itself was very basic with aged decoration and appliances. The bottom of one of the beds had stains on which could have easily being covered over with a valance. We are convinced the bites we got all over our bodies, which were covered when we went out during the day and evening, were actually from the beds. The majority of our 12 towels had been well used as they were stained and heavily bleached.

On the plus side the price is cheap and does includes breakfast, but I suppose you get what you pay for!

This hotel seems to be the best of a bad bunch in Everglades City as there are not many other places to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.7 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivey House

Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Everglades City
Price Range: £70 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing