We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Everglades Historical Bed & Breakfast with Spa
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Everglades City
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Captain's Table Resort(Everglades City)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Everglades City Motel(Everglades City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Marriott's Crystal Shores(Marco Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
22
0
10
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
0
10
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

When my girlfriend and I arrived we were informed that breakfast would be extra and it would only consist of bagels and cereals. We had reserved the Mortgage room. It was very spacious and that's where the positive review ends. The bathroom was small and there was no hair dryer for use. The bed could use a can of WD40, each time you rolled over squeaked like the little red wagon. The most positive thing I can say about this hotel is the location. It was near some great restaurants including Comelia's Street Grill and Island Cafe where we had breakfast. It was also near the meeting point of Everglade Area Tours.

Room Tip: Comelia's street grill for dinner Island Cafe for breakfast Everglades Area Tour if kayaking
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonyfrombklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

It was a wonderful surprise to find such a gem. We stayed in a very clean and beautifully decorated Victorian room: the Mortgage Department, with all the modern comfort of a king size bed, air conditioning, cable and Wi-Fi, all blending well with the Victorian décor. We were particularly pleased with the easiness and welcoming we received from the owner. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaLuisa_and_Alin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is the most beautiful and romantic place we've ever stayed. And the restoration is perfect. Since the building is converted from the old bank, the rooms all have "Department" names: Finance, Mortgage, Savings, Loan, Security, etc. All are opulently appointed with beautiful Victorian furnishings. Everglades City is a lovely town and we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: If travelling with a roomie, let them know as some rooms have 2 single or double beds. All are beautiful and comfy.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I can imagine someone like Barron Collier or Henry Flagler stopping out front in their Model T to make a deposit at this building. This was our second visit and we enjoyed it even more than the first time.

The building has been restored and even has air conditioning, cable, and Wi Fi. This is an incredible transformation from bank to bed and breakfast.

The rooms were immaculate and we were comfortable stepping back into history, where you can enjoy fresh air, fish off a nearby dock, and have access to a variety of activities with the Everglades National Park very close by. I've stayed in several 5 Star Resorts and still prefer the hometown atmosphere of a B and B. It feels like you're staying at "gramma's house" like we did as a child.

We rented kayaks and paddled up and down the River where we saw a manatee, several osprey, and a bald eagle. I was able to see first hand, why they refer to this area as one of the last "Old Florida" communities. What fun to watch the pelicans feast on the refuse that fishing guides tossed out to them while preparing their "catch" for the people that had chartered their services for the day. Next time, we're hiring a guide to take us out fishing, for sure.

Thank you for allowing us a peaceful location to relax and "smell the flowers."

Room Tip: If you enjoy stepping back in time to a less hectic, more relaxing experience……you'll love this B and B. You won't find a personal trainer or a yoga class within 25 miles. There's no graffiti on the sides of buildings or people yelling for a taxi. Just relax and enjoy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed at the Bed and Breakfast for my anniversary with my husband and it was such a great experience! They had Godiva choclate, Red roses and champagne in our room when we arrived..The Owner was very pleasant and showed us the whole building and explained its history, Rooms were VERY clean and so cute and cozy...lets just say we will be returning and with family members next time!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews