We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No !!! Italian food what happen ?”
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Ciao Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
“No !!! Italian food what happen ?”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We went to the restaurant first we order the calamari , no flavor... the tomatoes sauces no fresh sodas came from the bottle good so far , the bread came, one small role per person the oil was good taste but is no olive oil , the pizza wow they said is thing wow!!! They forgot to said really thing like a x-ray no taste and more of the same oil from the bread , the tomato sauces from the calamari still sweet the mozzarella no taste... Sorry
Excusa molto male , que cosa a fatto en la cuccina,,,,is no Italian
Italian is just the name

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yellowcorazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    205
    102
    22
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot!!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This place was recommended by a concierge at the Omni Amelia Island Plantation and we were not disappointed. We went with my 8 year old and we loved it. A must try if you're in town looking for some great Italian food. Very welcoming and exceptional service. I only wish I could remember her name to give her credit.

Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
145 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Busy place hard to hear”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I went there as part of a group. They gave us a special menu ahead of time to make thing faster. The appetizers were delivered very fast. Appetizers were all good. The main meal came out and I was a little surprised at the small portion for the veal picatta. The veal was tasty, but a little on the tough side. My wife ordered a thin crust pizza and it was very good. The service was very good for as busy as they were. If I went with just my wife we would probably request to sit outside, because the main dinning room was very loud. Don't get the connoli, $7 and not very exciting in my book.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_guns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place for Italian”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I dined at Ciao for an early dinner. We both thought the food was very good. The atmosphere is great (we dined on the patio). Very good choice for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DandLBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
165 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Not Veal(ly) Good”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Maybe they had an off night. We had heard many good things and decided to leave the Omni Resort for an Italian meal. The service was friendly and we were quickly seated. The other reviews that point out the issue with the acoustics are absolutely correct. We sat in the main dining room area and it was loud. It began to emply out a bit and the noise got better around 830.

The main issue was the meal. We both decided to order the Veal Picatta. We expected the tradition delicious Italaian version: thin, tender, with a light sauce, maybe a few mushrooms etc. First, the veal was loaded with garlic, as was the spaghetti. A little garlic is a good thing - when you drown what should be a delicate dish with it you are doing something wrong. Next, the veal with not thin and had several pieces between our two dishes that were actually tough and grizzled. Given the price of veal and the $22+ cost of the dish, this was a major negative.

The house Chianti was good and reasonably priced and out waiter was attentive. We looked around at what others were having and the dishes looked attractive enough. Maybe an off night for the Veal, but given that it is a typical Italian signature dish - disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing