We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Spot, Perfect for the Out-of-Season Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Constant Traveller
Level Contributor
412 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“A Lovely Spot, Perfect for the Out-of-Season Getaway”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Any place on the ocean can be lovely when the sun is hot and the waves are pretty, but I was at the Elizabeth Pointe Lodge on a grey and gloomy day in February 2013. This is such a charming facility, it didn't matter. The building itself is relatively new, but it's built in an old-fashioned style. The rooms are smallish and cozy. The public areas encourage "hellos" and conversations. The staff was painfully cordial and helpful and friendly. The beach is spectacular. The porch, overlooking the beach, was the perfect hideway. Breakfast was perfect; just the right size and variety without being pretentious. I easily could have stayed a week. Or a month.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    93
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
52
468
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just spent 2 wonderful days in the Ocean Front King Deluxe room at the Breezes and did not want to leave. It is the perfect setting for relaxation and renewal. The Inn keepers (David and Susan ) could not have been nicer. Breakfast is great and a limited menu is available 24 hours a day. The staff will take extraordinary measures to make your stay a memorable one. Shortly after we left, I got a call that I had left an ipod behind. They did not hesitate to make arrangements to mail it to me. Can not remember the last time a conventional hotel took that approach. The beach is right at your doorstep, the town is close by, and there is a restaurant for every taste and budget. We are already looking forward to returning for another visit. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front rooms if you can, they are well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkrmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is amazing! Beachfront lodging in an intimate setting.Location, service, quality, all perfect. My husband and I spent the weekend celebrating our 9th wedding anniversary. Our oceanside room was impeccable. The sound of the ocean waves crashing put us to sleep each night. Melanie, at the front desk, helped us plan our activities, made our dining reservations and gave us a tour of the property. All staff from the owner, Mr. Caples, Melanie and Jamie were especially attentive. We enjoyed our stay so much we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajes666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Just got home after a wonderful road trip up the east coast and had the pleasure of staying at this fabulous inn. The Tradewinds room was AMAZING! The best room by far, take my word for it. We walked to downtown & to the fort, great experience and very we'll situated being directly on the beach and close to town, Advice: Rent a bike, will make the trip around town & to the fort more comfortable, although the walk would be a good workout for most :) the buffet breakfast was wonderful and the wonderful ladies in the kitchen were able to accommodate my husbands dietary needs (made him the best egg white omelet he's ever had) When we arrived, we were welcomed by the wonderful Shirley, she explained everything perfectly and showed us to our heavenly suite. Then we were able to grab some delicious crackers with some lovely crab dip, some lovely quiches, and ohhhh boyyyy the WINE!!! So many to choose from, I had to try them all! Just had a great experience at Elizabeth Point and we will be back soon. Thank you for making my husband's birthday so memorable!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariStefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

It's been a long time. 14 years between visits. Same wonderful place, but a new small building next door has some additional larger suites. Stayed in the top notch tradewinds which is second floor (via steps) ocean facing (great view) with its own private balcony. The room is HUGE, spotless, tastefully decorated, and a great bathroom with jacuzzi tub. Only thing lacking was a refrigerator ( a bit surprised).
Services is tops and at 6 ea. night they have a 'social hour' with free wine, beer, and hors doeuvres. At all times there's free coffee, tea, lemonade too.
The Amelia beach front properties vary and many looked a bit worse for wear, but the Elizabeth Pointe Lodge is spectacular and meticulously kept.
Breakfast is great and then and social hour is a good time to get to know others there in the intimate setting.
If you want to unwind in class, this is the place!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitkahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed three nights at the Elizabeth Pointe in January and I'm still thinking about how wonderful it was. The hotel dates from 1980-ish but has been built to resemble an old fashioned Nantucket-style hotel. In addition, there is a two-story annex next door which has four rooms, two on top, two on the bottom. We booked the top ocean front room ["tradewinds"] which is the best of the four [the two in the back have garden views, not ocean views and the one beneath us probably had a slightly less glorious ocean view than our room]. And what a view! We could see and hear the ocean from the bed and nothing beats seeing an almost full moon rise over the ocean. The room is beautifully decorated, quite sophisticated and spacious; in addition, it has a deck with comfortable lounge chairs and a table and chairs [the room beneath us had a patio/deck]. Care has been taken with the plantings all around the annex - it's quite lush with tropical plants and large "cabbage" palms. The beach is a short walk away on a wooden walkway through the dunes and the beach stretches for miles with hardly a soul to be seen [well this is January, but it couldn't possibly ever be crowded because there are no large hotels or condominiums in sight. And no car parking close by so it's mostly people who can walk to the beach. Bliss!
WIFI is available, the NYT digest is delivered daily as is USA today. I did not see the rooms in the main hotel, but I imagine they are also tastefully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast is included and is a buffet served in the main hotel - a generous one with anything you can imagine. They also serve lunch [but not dinner]. There is a pleasant lobby/sitting area with a big stone fireplace and a wrap-around porch with rockers where you could also eat breakfast. Staff is outstanding and the owner a delight, very helpful.

We plan to return as often as possible as we are truly smitten by this part of Florida - an area that had the foresight to control development decades ago so it has retained its charm and beauty.

My only suggestion to make this a perfect getaway would be to put coffee makers in the rooms, or at least in the annex rooms for those of us who need a cup first thing...

Room Tip: If you can,book ocean front; I HIGHLY recommend "Tradewinds"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My husband and I planned our wedding in less than four months, which left us with little time to plan a honeymoon. We decided to wait to plan our trip until after our wedding. But as our wedding day approached, we decided we wanted to at least get away for just a couple of days to unwind. We live in Orlando so we asked a friend who's a travel blogger for recommendations in Amelia Island (a three hour drive from us). Elizabeth Pointe Lodge was one of her recommendations. I booked our stay the same day we drove up.

We arrived Sunday night exhausted from our wedding the day before and a day spent welcoming out of town guests into our home. It was late (around 11 PM), but the ladies at the front desk had smiles on their faces and made us feel super welcome. We were given a tour of the lodge and brought up to our room (309). This room faces the ocean, has a queen-sized bed and great tub for soaking your stresses away!

We also loved that the manager had arranged for our room to have some champagne. We were exhausted, but made sure to toast our many blessings before falling asleep.

For two mornings we woke up to the sound of the waves crashing and it was wonderful. Breakfast downstairs exceeded all expectations and eating it on the wrap around porch while watching the dolphins in the distance made it all that much better!

We ran out of time, but you can rent bicycles for a really low rate and ride to the nearby state park or to the historic town. We will definitely rent bikes next time!

For dinner Monday night we ate at Arte Pizza in the historic district and it was amazing. We also loved the two bookstores in town and both picked up books to read while we relaxed on the beach. Tuesday's lunch was from Lulu's at the Thompson House... the crab cakes were amazing!

On a side note, there were a lot of snowbirds staying here during our time here and we were the youngest guests by far. But for us, this was perfect as it was a great reminder of how we want to grow old together. It's peaceful here and the type of place you come to get away and relax.

My only complaint is that we didn't stay long enough. We will certainly return for another romantic getaway. I can see this becoming a lovely tradition!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hey_Yo_Hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
7.7 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Pointe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Pointe Lodge

Property: Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Address: 98 S Fletcher Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elizabeth Pointe Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elizabeth Pointe offers oceanfront relaxation with refined Southern hospitality. Wrap-around porches, beautifully decorated rooms, seaside dining at The Pointe Restaurant, 24/7 room service and staff to exceed your expectations will all be a part of your stay at Elizabeth Pointe. Relax in a rocking chair with a glass of sweet tea and ocean views from the broad porch and you will see why this Inn received the 2017 Conde Nast Best Service Award and is featured as one of Southern Living Magazine's Great Inns of the South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elizabeth Pointe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Pointe Hotel Fernandina Beach
Elizabeth Pointe Amelia Island
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing