We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite What I Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is unquestionably a lovely property. The rooms are comfortable, and the inn sits right in front of a lovely beach. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because I didn't think it lived up to its reputation (and price) as one of the best inns in America. My principal reservation is over the breakfast, which was served buffet style and wasn't at all the gourmet dining experience I expected. Self-serve trays of bacon, scrambled eggs, and potatoes just wasn't in keeping with my idea of a first class B&B. Maybe that's just me.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the premium for an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

It's all about the details. We splurged and spent two nights in the "Tradewinds" suite. Our stay was absolutely lovely from the welcoming staff at check in to the helpful desk clerk at check out. The room was well appointed and comfortable. (If I had one suggestion, it would be to put a mini-fridge in the room. We always travel with food, and it's a nice to have a fridge. Good for keeping white wine chilled, too.) Loved our personal deck and the view. Breakfast was delicious. Every detail of the room, public spaces, food.... Perfect. Hope to return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilovebirdsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Our second visit to this great beach front inn included a stay in Tradewind Suite - Ocean House.
What a treat to wake up to sun rise over the ocean! Located on a quiet beach, this New England
style Inn is a perfect haven for a night or a week! The experienced, knowledgeable staff knows
where to go in the area. Great morning breakfasts with later lunch/dinner at local great
restaurants makes for a very enjoyable stay. Look for rooms or a suite up high to enjoy
beach views.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corkdork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

If you are looking for somewhere that you can really unwind and detach this is a great place for you. I had the pleasure of staying at the the Elizabeth Pointe Lodge in early December for a week. The staff was extremely friendly & attentive throughout my stay. By the end of the week they knew me by name. The lodge is right on the beach so you can sit on the porch or take a stroll right out your door to take in a beautiful sunrise. It is also pretty close to the small main strip which has some nice restaurants. There are not too many dining options within walking distance, however, so if you want to venture out you will definitely need to take the car. One of the things that I really liked is that they offer a 'social hour' in the evening in which all guests are invited to sit in the common area and mingle over wine and snacks. Overall, I would recommend the Elizabeth Pointe Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennylynn0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a great time here for a couple days in May, 2013 --- an anniversary trip. Only criticism I can remember was that we thought the bed a tad hard/rustic for $XXX/night. The staff was one of the best I've ever experienced (though my experience doesn't include large numbers of 5-star hostelry). The breakfast was wonderful, and the cookie jar stayed full. The desserts were scrumptious - a marvelous addon to our package. (We ate 2x/diem and just had dessert in the evenings). (Who expects white-liveried cooks and room service at a B&B, by the way?)

It is rather expensive, but for this occasion, with a beach location and this level of service I didn't have a problem with that. The room was nicely put together and the bathroom was elegant. Everything seemed very clean.

The beach was beautiful and we appreciated the complimentary lounges and umbrellas provided by the lodge.

For a romantic dinner the host recommended David's in nearby Fernandina Beach ... another great find. I can't rave enough about our service there either, or David's great rice pilaf and steaks.

In short, these folks took great care of us and we had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are ocean-facing, generally, but we didn't find the road-side rooms to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have been coming to Amelia Island for the past 7 years and have always stayed at the Ritz. We have driven past the EPL many times and after a neighbor gave us a heads up decided to spend New Year's here. We are very pleased with this Lodge. The room is great, staying in a small house next to the main lodge. The staff is very helpful, breakfast this morning was fabulous. They have several selections as well as handling special requests. There is 24 hour concierge service along with coffee, tea, etc. available all the time. There are beach chairs and umbrellas down on the beach, as well as bicycles available on request. Great place for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were looking for an extended weekend getaway, and almost stayed somewhere else, but we chose Elizabeth Point Lodge instead, even though it was a little more expensive, and we're glad we did.

It was out first time in Fernandina Beach, and we arrived at night, so we couldn't really see much of what the area had to offer. When we walked in, we were greeted like long lost friends of the place, which seemed kind of odd, but in a welcomed sort or way. It was also during their "social hour" at about 6:30pm, where they put out bottles of wine, cheese and crackers, some salmon, and some wonderful little meatballs out for all the guests to have and socialize, or just pick up a book and read from their bookshelf.

We were given a short tour of the place, and were really made to feel very welcome. We knew right away this was a good choice.

We had an ocean-front room on the top floor, and it was great. Wonderful view, weather was great so we opened the windows, and the old style nautical themed hotel and rooms were a nice touch.

The front desk helped us find a great place to eat from their handpicked collection they keep in a book, then they called and made reservations for us. The first night we ate a light casual meal at the Salty Pelican, which didnt need a reservation, but the food was good, and it was right across from the marina on the river.

The next morning we woke up and went down for coffee and tea, then went our on the porch to enjoy and watch the sunrise over the ocean - wonderful views! Then we went for a short run down Atlantic avenue, then enjoyed a wonderful breakfast at the lodge. Fresh juices, coffee and teas, fresh baked breakfast breads, croissants, dill/cream eggs, pancakes with warm berry compote, assorted cereals, and fresh oatmeal was just wonderful. We then visited a farmers market downtown, as we waited for our river boat cruise (which is definitely worth going to).

The next morning the lodge breakfast (Sunday) was over the top. Amazing eggs benedict, french toast, along with some of the same basics as the previous morning was just what we were hoping for. Afterwards the lodge let us take two of their bikes for a ride through the old Fort Clinch, and half-mile pier, which was only a few minutes away from the lodge.

We got back in time to checkout and head home, and the lodge made us a great lunch all packed up for the drive - nice finishing touch!

Room Tip: We stayed in an oceanfront room on the top floor (room 416), and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
0.1 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
690 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,459 reviews
7.7 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,539 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
905 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Pointe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Pointe Lodge

Address: 98 S Fletcher Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £214 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elizabeth Pointe Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elizabeth Pointe offers oceanfront relaxation with refined Southern hospitality. Wrap-around porches, beautifully decorated rooms, seaside dining at The Pointe Restaurant, 24/7 room service and staff to exceed your expectations will all be a part of your stay at Elizabeth Pointe. Relax in a rocking chair with a glass of sweet tea and ocean views from the broad porch and you will see why this Inn received the 2017 Conde Nast Best Service Award and is featured as one of Southern Living Magazine's Great Inns of the South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Elizabeth Pointe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Pointe Hotel Fernandina Beach
Elizabeth Pointe Amelia Island
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing