We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our second stay at Elizabeth Pointe. My husband and I were there last August before the sale of the property, and just got home yesterday from a 5-night stay. We saw differences--some good and some not so good. Here's our take:

PROS: As so many others have said, the beachfront location of this Lodge is wonderful. Steps away, beautiful views, wonderful beach. I don't know how you could beat this aspect of this property.

The new furniture in the lobby is very pretty and just the perfect look / feel for a beachfront lodge.

The breakfast each morning is quite nice. I think there would be something for everyone on this buffet.

We enjoy the privacy and spaciousness of the rooms in the Ocean House. This time we stayed in "Serenity," a second floor room with a king bed, non-ocean facing. The street noise is not an issue, and the beach is visible as soon as you step out of your door. We'd like to try to get the ocean-facing room on another visit, but it is in high demand. The first night of our previous visit, we stayed in the lodge in a queen, ocean-facing room and asked to be moved because both the room and the bathroom were so small we could barely turn around.

The young woman who checked us in was very pleasant and helpful.

CONS:

Many of the previous employees have left; and while some of the new folks are nice, some are not very warm at all. I believe others have mentioned a breakfast room employee, and we concur. The vibe is distinctly "I don't like people or this job."

We had issues with the bathroom in our room. It is very spacious and could be great, but it needs work. On the upside, the owner really tried to do what he could to improve what we encountered, and he apologized sincerely. On the downside, we were perplexed that the cleaning person did not report the issues to management and address them fully before we arrived. How do you miss sinks and tubs that aren't draining? Also, we were told on check-in that the General Manager was inspecting the room before we could check in? What exactly was he / she checking? This seemed like a pretty big miss. We can see that the new owners are working to address issues, and the ocean is pretty hard on buildings and plumbing; but the guests should not have to report issues such as this and be inconvenienced while they try to fix them (without any adjustment to the bill). In the end, we just dealt with a less-than appealing situation in the bathroom; but you shouldn't have to; and certainly not at $350 per night.

We had to ask to have the bed changed after three days (by leaving a note), and one day we were left with no bath mat. Not huge deals, but really shouldn't happen.

All in all, I would say we would go back and give it a third try. Some reviewers have been really hard on the new owners and don't like the idea of change. I get that some things may not be the same, but these people have only had the lodge for half a year, and I think they need more time to iron out the wrinkles. The property is just beautiful, and given some tweaks and personnel improvements, I think it can be just as good as it has been in the past.

Room Tip: The Ocean House rooms offer more space and privacy than the rooms in the lodge itself. They are sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrgeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Elizabeth Pointe Lodge despite the inclement weather that plagued us all weekend. The Lodge sits right on the beach so it is very convenient to return to your room or to grab a glass of lemonade. The building was immaculate the entire weekend. I never saw sand in the hallways, common areas or in our bathroom. There is a lot of porch space with rocking chairs and Adirondack chairs, so whether people were escaping a downpour or enjoying cocktails before dinner, there was always a place to sit and relax. The Lodge does provide beach towels, umbrellas, and beach chairs which is a perk since we didn't have to pack any. I would say, though, that many of the umbrellas need to be replaced as they had holes. The choices at breakfast were more than adequate even if the food was average. We did have lunch one day and enjoyed it very much. The croissants were fresh and buttery. Each evening wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres are served during Happy Hour which was a nice touch. .Complimentary coffee, water and lemonade are available all day. Room service is available as well. Some of the staff was extremely helpful while others seemed distant. Historic Fernandina is a five minute drive away with lots of shopping and restaurants. All in all a lovely place to spend some downtime.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maryanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 6 day break at Elizabeth Pointe. This was our final destination of a road trip along the east coast and is the perfect place for a relaxing break on the beach. The Lodge is located directly on the beach with complimentary beach chairs and parasols. Your every need is catered for. We had a king size room with view over the ocean (Rm 308, worth requesting). Breakfast is excellent and plentiful, cold drinks, tea/coffee and cookies are available for guests 24 hours a day, and the hosts prepare wine, beer and hot/cold snacks for "happy hour" from 5.30 - 7.00 daily. This offers a relaxed opportunity to chat with other guests. There is a beach restaurant and bar very close to the Lodge, and downtown Fernandina Beach is a 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk away. Favourite moment; going onto the beach to watch the sunrise - breathtaking!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed a whole week in the Ocean House. Booking was easy and stress free. Room was lovely, décor was a perfect match to the feel of the place- we even got a few ideas for our new home from our room. My Husband and I were married outside at the Inn and were still able to find plenty of privacy. Breakfast was great, definitely not to be missed. Beach chairs and umbrellas were provided for guests, and we never had trouble finding a spot to relax. The whole trip was relaxing and quiet. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: ocean facing rooms are definitely worth the up charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We love beach vacations--mostly where we can just chill, walk the beach, and watch the ocean. And Elizabeth Pointe Lodge filled the bill completely. We were a little concerned because there was a change of ownership and a few negative reviews--but all concerns vanished. We were warmly welcomed and immediately taken to our room while someone brought our baggage to us. We had an oceanfront room--which had the most comfortable and amazing bed--slept better there than at home. Rooms are B&B sized but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was exceptional. Each evening there is a reception with hot and cold hors d'oeuvres plus beer or wine. You can relax and chat on a huge wrap around porch. We most certainly will return in the future

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoBee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I just returned from my biannual visit to the Elizabeth Point Lodge. What happened???? New ownership certainly changed the once charming Inn.The whole atmosphere is different. The employees were unfriendly and didn't follow through on the simplest requests. The help seemed distinctly scared of the owners and would not do anything without consulting them. Since the owners were not present while we were, that was a problem.
The food at brunch and tea time were ordinary. Many medium quality motels have comparable breakfasts.
But, Fernandina Beach remains a wonderful place to go. Amelia Island is well worth the visit. We will stay somewhere else next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EdNorton2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great B &B (mini hotel really) to stay we had best room- tradewinds- oceanfront deluxe suite- lovely
enjoyed happy hour got to meet loads of lovely American peeps-we r Brits!
Help yourself breakfast buffet was good and the tit bits at happy hour excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
0.1 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
677 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,443 reviews
7.7 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,525 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
899 reviews
7.7 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Pointe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Pointe Lodge

Address: 98 S Fletcher Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £207 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elizabeth Pointe Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elizabeth Pointe offers oceanfront relaxation with refined Southern hospitality. Wrap-around porches, beautifully decorated rooms, seaside dining at The Pointe Restaurant, 24/7 room service and staff to exceed your expectations will all be a part of your stay at Elizabeth Pointe. Relax in a rocking chair with a glass of sweet tea and ocean views from the broad porch and you will see why this Inn received the 2017 Conde Nast Best Service Award and is featured as one of Southern Living Magazine's Great Inns of the South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Elizabeth Pointe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Pointe Hotel Fernandina Beach
Elizabeth Pointe Amelia Island
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing