We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As great as everyone says”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 May 2012

All the other reviews have pretty much covered it, so I'll keep this short. My husband and I stayed for three nights in late April, and everything was perfect. The room (#10) was spotless and lovely, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and the bathtub was the biggest I've ever seen. Breakfast and happy hour are not to be missed; the food and Bob's dry wit are equally great. The Addison's location is excellent—I was amazed by the variety and caliber of restaurants within walking distance, and there's plenty of shopping and sightseeing nearby as well.

I highly recommend the Addison on Amelia Island. The owners obviously love what they do and where they do it, and their passion is evident in every detail of this charming B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobbler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Addison on Amelia for three nights at the start of March 2012, we had eloped and the owner of the B&B, Bob married us in their beautiful courtyard. The room was so comfortable, beautiful and peaceful, the food every morning for breakfast was beyond our expectations, and the ambiance of this amazing home away from home was beyond compare. The happy hour was fantastic, its like visiting your favorite uncles house that has a great bar! The other guests here were a wonderful eclectic mix of people, couples, and friends alike. our only gripe, was that we had to leave so soon. Anything we needed help with, the owners helped us, from where to have dinner and even where to file the all important paperwork! I am looking forward to our next stay, maybe for our anniversary or a romantic and relaxing weekend.. or any reason I can think of!

**Also, the restaurants that were suggested to us were gorgeous too, I think its great that they support other business and the local economy**

Room Tip: We were in room 10, and it is divine!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthieByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Addison is perfectly situated on a quiet street close to all the great shops, restaurants, and marina Fernandino Beach has to offer (5-10 min walk max!). The 3 buildings create a private courtyard in the middle. Breakfasts are at least 2 or more courses and you never leave hungry! Happy hour is every night and Bob keeps you glass full until you say stop. Coffee, cookies, soda, water, and snacks available 24/7. Bob and Shannon (innkeepers) are great- helpful and yet give you your space. About 1.5 miles to the beach- we had a car, but you can easily use their bikes to get there. Fernandino Beach is the north end of Amelia Island and is the antithesis of a Florida resort- beautiful neighborhood with most buildings from the 1870's. Great, kid-free getaway. People staying there were everyone from honeymooners to retired couples so no one felt out of place.

Room Tip: choose a room whose balcony faces inward towards the courtyard/fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pielswheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Only stay here if you want a beautiful room, terrific time and wonderful service! Bob and his wife and his daughter provide morning breakfast of sumptuous fruits and home made dishes and an afternoon happy hour mingling on their covered veranda adorned by a courtyard full of luscious foliage with complimentary wine, beer, and some "made from their kitchen" treat. They are courteous,kind and devoted to their guests. The location is superb as you walk a few blocks to all restaurants, shopping and waterfront activities Amelia has to offer. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and spotless.
Keep the humus and pita wedges warm...... we will return soon for happy hour!
Madison and Terri

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madison-Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I spent our 4 year anniversary here and it couldn't of been any better. The Addision is in a great location within walking distance to the downtown restaurant and bars. The breakfast is a reason to rise and shine, even after a few of the late nights.

Excellent service, great accomodations, friendly smiles, and Bob will steer you in the right direction. An awesome B & B, we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I wanted to take my wife to a memorable spot while I attended the Amelia Island car show and the Addison was so much more than I expected. Their hospitality, the food, the location, the rooms were so much more than I could have hoped for. The main house has older rooms and there are rooms added on that have the look of being original to the house, but they are quiet, clean and modern. No question, my wife and I will return again to The Addison. My only advice about The Addison is, book early, it will fill up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking into the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masantirq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

What a fabulous find! A truly inviting place with innkeepers that make you feel right at home. Happy hour was filled with delicious apps and drinks and lots of laughs with other guests. Breakfast was our favorite part. Gourmet all the way...a surprise we looked forward to every morning. Shannon and Bob, thanks for making our getaway absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: Choose one of the bigger rooms. We opted for a small one and would have preferred a bit more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
689 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,459 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,538 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast
Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £146 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing