We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, well managed and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I am not sure you could find a better BB than the Addison. Reservations are easy and the owners email guests with suggestions beforehand as to sights and restaurants or other things you might want.. I was unavoidably delayed and found the response and welcome to be exceptional, including a glass of wine when I arrived after a long day at the airport.
The original building, courtyard, and purpose built units were charming, just lit up for Christmas when I arrived but equally charming without those decorations. The original house is beautifully maintained with a living room with fire place, restaurant menues and touring suggestions, an indoor dining room and outdoor eating area overlooking a courtyard. Some rooms in the old house have fireplaces. My room one of the smaller ones overlooked the courtyard and was very quiet, withnice natural light. The room was very clean, good storage room, a large single sink bath with a very large shower. Queen size bed with pretty good reading lights, a desk and comfortable reading chair with a light. TV of course but also excellent wifi reception. The surfaces were not, as is often the case, filled with too much stuff, but only the essentials, hair dryer, moisturizer, etc, leaving plenty of room to charge phones etc. Not only was the room very comfortable but very pretty also
Breakfast was really good, interesting dishes and large portions. Ccoffee is available earlier than breakfast is available, something important to us early risers! Wine and appetizers with other guests and the host was very nice and a good beginning for the short walk to a lot of restaurants, both casual and more imaginative. There are also cookies, drinks and snacks available during the day. And a small refrigerator in the dining room you can use to store something
Location right in the historic center of Fernandino Beach can't be beat for sightseeing, strolling, etc
One of the best BBs I have found and the hosts go the extra mile for their guests , as I discovered when I accidentally left something there! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for The Addison on Amelia Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I shared a wonderful weekend in a beautiful and charming setting at the Addison. The inn's rooms are beautifully decorated and welcoming. Bob and Shannon, the innkeepers, were outstanding hosts providing humor and advice on how to enjoy our stay on Fernandina Beach. It was helpful that Bob seems to know everyone on Amelia Island. Sharing breakfasts and happy hours with the other guests was akin to a family gathering, very, very enjoyable and fun. The inn is located a short walk to main street shopping and restaurants. No need to drive. If you like you can take a romantic horse drawn carriage ride through the streets of Fernandina Beach. Great inn. Great community. Great fun. Great friends.

Room Tip: All 14 rooms are beautifully decorated. All rooms overlook a wonderful center garden patio.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWIGHT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My spouse & I recently spent a delightful weekend at the Addison On Amelia Island. We arrived after dark, & were greeted at the door by our host, Bob. He showed us around the Inn, to our rooms, & gave us the basic rundown of the Inn. We were tired & didn't think we would venture out, but after getting settled in our room, decided to go for a walk. We quickly found the main street where there were eclectic shops, bookstores (two!), nightlife & restaurants. Our room at the Inn was very clean, bed very comfortable. The bed is a little high, no step stool to climb up into bed, so if you have knee problems or are other issues it could be a problem. Linens & decor luxurious, with a "Tommy Bahama" flair. Courtyard well kept, beautiful. Of course breakfast was amazing. They made a pineapple tart that almost had my spouse in tears because it tasted like the one from his childhood. Bob & Shannon arranged for a romantic carriage ride for us for the next morning. Bob even had a bag of carrots ready for us to give to Boomer, the star horse of Amelia Island. Thanks Bob! In the main part of the Inn, we found a nice selection of dvd's & took a couple back to our room. Fresh cookies & refreshments available in evenings, as well as fresh fruit. Our hosts were contentious about the dietary needs in our party, going the extra step to ensure the diabetic in our party had an equally spectacular breakfast as the other guests, without making a big deal about it. We have gotten so used to "settling" for whatever is on the menu, that this courtesy was very much noticed. If you need anything, our hosts were available to assist. There are special events on the Island, involving the B&B's. One I wish I could attend is the Christmas Cookie Tour that stops at each B&B, with the horse drawn carriages in use. Maybe next time!

Room Tip: Ask about bed height if you have knee, back or other mobility problem. Bed in our room was high, no...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imahappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for the first time last week and it was outstanding. We arrived before the normal check in time and they made an extra effort to get us in our room early. Bob, the owner, was extremely helpful with sending emails prior our visit, recommending transportation, local restaurants and site seeing. The facility is beautiful and our room was the same. Happy hour was a great touch but was outdone by the incredible breakfast. The town is a short two blocks so no need to drive anywhere. This B&B is a must stay when you are in Fernandina Beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room over looking Ash with a private balcony and loved it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A perfect spot to stay while visiting Fernandina and Amelia Island. Within walking distance to all of downtown and just a quick drive to the beach, this B&B offers all the comforts of home along with the pampering of a 5-Star hotel. Every day was a new, creative and delicious breakfast and happy hour was an intimate gathering with guests and our hosts for good wine or beer and great conversations and even some comic relief. Our room was clean and comfortable and although part of the building, it offered it's own private sanctuary with the deck area, view of the garden and separate seating area. Bob and Shannon made us feel comfortable and welcome and the entire staff was friendly and very helpful. 5-Stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Addison. We highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast. The rooms were beautiful & comfortable. Food was delicious. There was coffee available in the early morning if you like. In good weather you can walk to Centre Street.. Bob & Shannon were helpful with restaurant recommendations & reservations if needed. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Addison for one evening to celebrate my 40th birthday before headed to the Carolinas. We checked in late as we had experienced a puncture travelling from Ft Lauderdale, however, I did call out of courtesy twice to apologise and inform the owners of our whereabouts, we arrived about 20.30. We did not find our welcome to be as friendly as to be expected at all and our breakfast experience was quite awful! Whilst the room was very nicely decorated and met all hygiene expectations my husband describes this as the worse experience we have had as an interracial couple in over 12 years of visiting America.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seas0ned13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STidball, Owner at The Addison on Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We understand that it is hard to appreciate the value of staying at our B&B when you only stay for one night and arrive after Happy Hour is already over. It doesn’t really give you a chance to appreciate the inn’s amenities and to experience our beautiful little town. I wish you would have said something at breakfast if you weren’t happy with the meal. We would have been happy to prepare something more to your liking. Your Room Tip is excellent advice for future guests. The larger rooms have much more space for people travelling with lots of luggage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
659 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,429 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,496 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4,074 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £175 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing