We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at The Addison on Amelia Island for a 3 night stay. This was our first visit to Amelia Island and won't be our last. Bob, Shannon and Lee made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room was gorgeous and breakfast was something we looked forward to each morning. It was nice to return 'home' after a day exploring the town and enjoy Happy Hour with our fellow guests. We returned to Virginia and 13" of snow but will remember our escape to the Addison for a long time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew_W5043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have been to The Addison several times over the years and every time we are there, we are just amazed at the comfort and care that Bob, Shannon, and Lee put into their B&B. The breakfast and happy hour is just a few of the extra touches that make this place our favorite. Clean and well maintained!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettyjo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

From our warm greeting to our goodbyes, owners Bob and Shannon and daughter Lee provided a five-star experience. The breakfasts were creative, delicious and big enough to carry us through the day. Happy hour allowed us to meet the other guests and get to know Bob and Shannon better, which was a great way to start our evenings.
The B&B is short walk from the historic town center (and about five minutes from the perfect sunset), yet on a lightly-traveled side street. The owners have thought of every amenity, down to beach chairs, towels and bikes. Bob and Shannon's website accurately captures the amenities and charm of the Addison.
The Addison is a truly great value for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The pictures on the website are exactly what the property looks like. We had a room with a balcony which faced the street. The balcony had good room even with two chairs and a table on it. The street was a bit noisy at times and the noise could be heard in the room as well. The bed was very comfortable and nicely furnished, with the exception of the wardrobe that seemed a bit cheaply made. The breakfasts were very good, the pineapple tart was one of my favorites as was the fresh squeezed orange juice. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again if we return to the area.
Pros
Very clean
Comfortable and large room
Great breakfasts
Owners provide very good service

Cons
On street parking (small 2 car off street parking space)
Some street noise

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Amelia Island is beautiful and this inn is a real gem! Walking distance to the area restaurants, and attractions. Great food, service and wonderful staff. The room was always spotless as were the common areas. Afternoon happy hours is a nice touch. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed two nights and had a wonderful time. Great location close to center street restaurants and shopping. Room was very clean and private. Bob and Shannon were great and made us feel very welcome. We will be back soon!!!

Room Tip: Large Jet tub was great. Plenty of room for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My mom and I went for a 4 day getaway. The Addison was the perfect place to stay, the room was
incredible, clean and very comfortable. The service was incredible, the breakfast was amazing! And we had fun at the happy hour, all the recommendations to dinner could not have been better. The attention to detail was superb. I will highly recommend The Addison, and I can't wait to return again very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiteandjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#4 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
701 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
724 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,573 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amelia Island Williams House
Amelia Island Williams House
#4 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £139 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing