We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Greatest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dover, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Greatest!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on a Thursday and Friday night. This is the best place we have ever stayed. Reasonably priced for a bed and breakfast. The owners were courteous, attentive, and very knowledgeable of the area. They even joked with us and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were beautiful, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The beds were great and even though I am almost eight months pregnant, I slept very nicely. The breakfast was delicious. Short walking distance to a wide variety of shopping, restaurants, bars and not far from the beach. Even enjoyed walking around and looking at all of the historic homes in the area. As you can tell I was very satisfied with our stay. Definitely planning on going back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabitha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    34
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
782
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed at the Addison shortly before Christmas last year and was very impressed. (Not easily achievable. I have a hard time choosing accommodations because one could say I'm rather picky. I'm a lover of good design, a borderline neurotic clean freak, and a sucker for a great bed and linens. : ) The hosts were gracious, the room immaculate, the grounds charming and gracious, the breakfast and snacks delicious, and the resident dog delightful! Enjoying using the bikes to explore historic Fernanadina. I cannot say enough about the cleanliness and hospitality. We stayed in room 3 in the historic house section of the inn. The bed was divine. The fire place and Christmas decor were so romatic and warm. Enjoyed the expansive balcony too. I suffer from horrid allergies to dust and mold and was concerned about the age of the original house. No worries!!! Also LOVED they are so conscious and environmentally mindful. Seriously was perfection. Felt like home. Will return!

Room Tip: Room 3! Not a bad room period, but the rooms in the original house have high ceilings. Room 3 was sp...
See more room tips
Green Features: So easy to turn a blind eye to the inconvenient truth of our fragile eco system. SO impressed that take the extra time and expense to be so mindful and partcipate in so many programs.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerntraveler3308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Wonderful breakfast, superb welcome, beautiful clean rooms, good location. No complaints at at all, just our thanks.

The drinks reception was friendly and well hosted, and the rooms private, romantic and well appointed. But what you'll remember is the breakfast which was the best we've had in two weeks travelling the East Coast from Jacksonville to the Great Smoky Mountains via Savannah and Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great inn, close to downtown Fernandina Beach. Hosts were accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was terrific.

One potential concern was the bed size (small queen), which may be typical for a bed and breakfast. For a couple with a light and "active" sleeper, this could be a problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, GA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hosts were what you hope for. They were always available. They made the Happy Hour a success every time with free wine and beer and chit chat.
The accommodations were also top-notch. Clean, comfortable, attractive. We loved the little courtyard.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the courtyard. Ours faced a roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely inn. The Inn keepers were welcoming and did everything to make our stay great. Well appointed rooms on a quiet street within walking distance of downtown. Wine and homemade snacks in the evening and an opulent breakfast the following day. The beaches clean and uncrowded. Loved the whole area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Excellent room. Cleanliness is top shelf. Shannon and Lee are the best of the best as hosts. Our room was as good as it can get, breakfast was always fantastic, happy hour was a great way to meet some nice folks.
We would highly recommend the Addison to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mchael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.7 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,436 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
656 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Property: The Addison on Amelia Island
Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing