We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary @ the Addison. The house is a beautiful old home but bright with current and lush decor. The breakfast was delicious and filling every morning and the owners serve a happy hour mid afternoon. It was so relaxing and joyful to visit with the owners and all the other guests staying. The owners are very attentive without being intrusive. They made our reservations for a horse drawn carriage ride which included a historical guided tour of many old homes. There's not enough room to list all our fun and adventures so I will end with saying that we named our daughter Addison who was born the next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We went on a two week road trip round Georgia, South Carolina and Florida and the Addison was our last port of call before driving back to Atlanta to fly home. Completely by accident, we'd saved the best until last.

The Addison is a truly beautiful building, and the attention to detail on every aspect of the decor is lovely. Other reviews have raved about the beds, the closeness to the centre of town whilst still being calm and quiet, and the porches that opened onto the courtyard, so I won't repeat what they said other than to agree wholeheartedly.

What really made the place our favourite though was the welcome of the hosts and the friendliness of the other guests who we met at the evening happy hours. One of our days the rain was pouring down and we spent 6 hours just chatting to a lovely couple from Petersberg who were on their honeymoon.

We really felt that there was nothing the hosts wouldn't do to make our trip special - we would definitely recommend the Addison to any of our friends who were travelling in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wildpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My spring road trip to the South has included The Addison on Amelia for the second year, I can't stay away!! During this road trip, I typically stay at both B and B's and hotels, and have stayed in some nice locations with lovely properties, but really nothing can top the Addison both in the location of historic Fernandina Beach, and the comfort and luxury of the B and B itself. The services provided are above and beyond what is provided at other inn's, for instance the daily happy hour where I have met the most fun and interesting people, the breakfasts are to die for (not just a muffin and a coffee here.....these are full, varied and scrumptious breakfasts!), and to sink into those beautiful comfy beds at the end of the day is just heaven!!

Room Tip: If you enjoy sitting out on the shady porches, a favourite is in the main house, which looks out ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JATTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Addison was the reason we decided to visit Amelia Island. My husband and I prefer to stay at B&B's and after reading the excellent reviews, we took our first trip to Amelia Island. It was perfect! Great room, wonderful breakfast and fun happy hours. The location was a short walk to shops and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again when we return for future trips!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattiD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This particular trip we traveled from Savannah to St. Augustine, staying at 3 different B & B's. Our stay here was wonderful and every morning we looked forward to being spoiled at breakfast with the wonderful meals served, they topped the other B&B's we stayed at. Everything about our stay was pleasant. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was by far the best spontaneous decision my hubby and I have ever made - well maybe the second best - since replying to his wink on Match.com will probably always be considered the first. We decided to drive to New Orleans from Miami to celebrate hubby's 45th birthday by going to Jazz Fest. Booked rooms in New Orleans, but nothing on the way there. Luckily, we decided to go to Amelia Island, checked out TripAdvisor, read all the amazing reviews and called The Addison while keeping fingers crossed something would be available. Sure enough, Bob answered our late afternoon call, and we were told that indeed both rooms 4 or 5 were available. We opted for the King Bed in Room 4. The room was perfect, cozy, elegant, and well appointed. The bed is by far the best bed we have ever slept on, and the pillows were exceptional (actually Bob, if you read these, would you please let me know where to buy them?). The food was so delicious and the presentation was always so meticulous. The entire experience is what you imagine when you imagine the perfect stay somewhere. Truth is...reviews, as amazing as they all are for this property, do nothing for the reality of this place. Everything about staying here with Bob and Shannon and the staff, and all the guests who choose to stay here is delightful. Seriously, for years my hubby and I have dreamt of retiring to Carmel by the Sea in California, but now it's Amelia Island in our home state of Florida - not only because it was so beautiful in the area, but because if everyone is like the folks we were privileged to meet and enjoy during our brief 2 days here, there really is no better place in the world. Thank you for sharing your lovely establishment with us...we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Any room here will be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Partyof07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Spent 5 days at the Addison on Amelia Island and loved it. Room 3 is terrific, comfortable bed, soaking tub and shower, and private porch on the front of the house with a table/chairs, lounge chair to enjoy the day or read a book. The Inn has a lovely front room and indoor breakfast room, but we chose to eat on the covered outdoor porch each day that borders the courtyard and fountain, very peaceful. We typically do not go to the happy hours, but did here, and had fun drinking lovely sparkling wines, appetizers, and getting tips from other guests on activities and restaurants. Bob and Shannon are wonderful hosts, serve delicious breakfasts, and are very accommodating. We used beach chairs and towels from the inn for our beach days, rode the bikes, they have a refrigerator(sodas and water) and snack bar with homemade cookies, chips, fruit available 24/7. Can't imagine staying anywhere else if you are visiting Amelia Island!

Room Tip: Room 3 is lovely, spacious, and has a seating area and gas fireplace. The bathroom has a soaking tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleNWnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
689 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,459 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,538 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast
Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £146 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing